We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel, reasonably priced”
Review of The Ridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Ridge Hotel
Ranked #350 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
North Andover, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Decent hotel, reasonably priced”
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

Not the best location, but it is accessible to subway, east village, soho, etc. and easy spot to get a cab. Great lobby, rooftop deck, and breakfast/computer lounge in basement. Rooms were basic and small - European sized. Platform bed was adequate, but not plush comfy. Good for the price, as NYC hotels go.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mws80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    187
    65
    12
    15
See reviews for
24
202
74
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ozone Park NY
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Loved staying at Hotel East Houston. The rooms are cozy and clean. The staff are very courteous. The rooftop offers excellent views of the city skyline. Location is great to travel anywhere in NYC! I highly recommend the Hotel East Houston!!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Walking distance to East Village. Hotel staff friendly and eager to assist. Three night stay, the smallest hotel room we've had in NYC. Coffee, tea and hot chocolate are the only beverages available for guest and a trip to lower level to get.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

This is a very simple, affordable hotel conveniently located in Soho. This hotel is located close enough to Soho shops you can easily walk and drop bags within 10 minutes.

Additional benefits of the location – it’s a block away from a Whole Foods, which saved me money on food, across the street from a subway stop, and a couple of blocks from Katz Deli (which is fantastic).

This is a well located, clean, no frills hotel. I’d stay here again.

Room Tip: Elevator is maybe the slowest in any hotel I've stayed in. Lower floors may be better since if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christopher C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 6 Contributor
272 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

This was a great little hotel right on Houston street. The bus was right outside and metro was 4-6 blocks away. January was low season so the price was right. It can get very price in the Summer months since you can walk to so many great areas. Very nice roof top patio to relax and check out the skyline. Friendly front desk staff. Rooms are very small with no side chair or desk. Closet is very small for 2-3 items only. Stay here for the location, not the room.

Room Tip: The rooms higher up and not on Houston street are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladyomaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

If you want a great, basic hotel that's close to NY's coolest bars and restaurants, look no further than Hotel East Houston. My husband and I have just got back from a four-night stay there and loved it - the hotel was clean, had good, hot showers, was perfectly located for the nightlife and practically next to a subway stop (2 Ave). We could walk to most of the places we wanted to visit - including Williamsburg - and were just a stone's throw away from Bowery, Little Italy and Broadway. Our room was spotless and the staff were always friendly (although we only really spoke to them to check in and check out). During our stay, there was a lot of work taking place on the main road outside but it didn't disturb our sleep and we didn't hear a peep out of the other guests so the soundproofing must be good. There's also a really cute little roof terrace on the 7th floor where you can enjoy the views with your own food and drink - we've promised ourselves we'll go back to experience it in the summer next time :)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brogmalog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

This is a very good place for a short stay. The hotel is situated near subway (2 Avenue), all kind of restaurants are close to the hotel (Katz Delicatessen is round the corner). My room was small but cozy, warm and it had everything you need. And the most important - the hotel has a wonderful terrace on the 7th floor with a fantastic view on skyscrapers - you can have your own breakfast/lunch enjoying the view and life in NYC.

One problem is that the water in shower was hardly hot during my stay

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizaveta_1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
East Village
The Gatsby Hotel
The Gatsby Hotel
#375 of 467 in New York City
50 reviews
Lower East Side
Orchard Street Hotel
Orchard Street Hotel
#312 of 467 in New York City
144 reviews
Lower East Side
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New York
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New...
#89 of 467 in New York City
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lower East Side
Redford Hotel
Redford Hotel
#399 of 467 in New York City
26 reviews
Manhattan
Off Soho Suites
Off Soho Suites
#369 of 467 in New York City
269 reviews
Chinatown
SoHo Garden Hotel
SoHo Garden Hotel
#368 of 467 in New York City
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ridge Hotel

Property: The Ridge Hotel
Address: 151 E Houston St, New York City, NY 10002-1004 (Formerly Hotel East Houston)
Region: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #350 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Ridge Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Ridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Houston Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing