We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for exploring LES”
Review of The Ridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ridge Hotel
Ranked #351 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Agree the rooms are small and AC noisy but it's great location for exploring. Great Latino tapas bar almost next door, metro round the corner, whole foods shop nearby, mercury lounge, Katz's where Harry met Sally, great bakery for breakfast on Clinton. Rooftop terrace has superb views as stated by others and there's little room for luggage but it wasn't an issue for us. Just slept there and the bed was comfy.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Goldielookinghair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (400)
There are newer reviews for The Ridge Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 400 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014

Great location as there's a metro station just behind the corner and lot of good restaurants and a great grocery store within 10-15 mins walk. Hotel itself is nothing fancy, but still a good value for money I believe. Small, but pretty quiet room. I didn't get the idea behind the glass wall between the room and bathroom. Recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Antti L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Location:
- Literally a minute away from 2nd Ave subway stop
- Walking distance from Washington Sq Park and NYU
- Compared to other hotels in this area, this was by far very good value for money
- Road works happening right outside hotel but I didn't hear anything (room was on 6th floor)

Room and en suite:
- Very clean, wooden floors, looked newly refurbished
- Clean bathroom, good shower pressure
- The room is on the small-ish side. There was 2 of us with one suitcase in the room and it wasn't too bad but any more luggage and it would have felt cramped.
- No fridge in room but you can get food put into a fridge and it's meant to be accessible 24hrs but never needed to do this.

Extras:
- rooftop area is very chilled out (tables and sofas), always accessible (I went at 3am) and the view is great (can see empire state building, Chrysler building and one world trade centre). Real bonus to chill out after walking around the city all day.
- Free tea and coffee in the basement (set hours).

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ad_wayfarer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I really liked this hotel. I didn't give it 5 starts because I reserve that for really, really special places but it absolutely was a good experience. I picked it because of the price and location. Hard to find an option in NYC for less than $300. The rooftop terrace was amazing - comfortable chairs, quiet and beautiful views around the city - my only request would be they ban smoking up there. The staff was very nice, helpful with restaurant recommendations and bags. My only complaint (if you could even call it that) was the size of the room. I just wish I had been prepared for how small it would be. It had everything we needed - bed, TV, nice bathroom (well equipped and pretty big) but it was barely bigger than the queen size bed. We didn't plan to do anything except sleep there so it was fine but I was surprised. If I knew what to expect in advance, I would have been ok with it. Some of the reviews mentioned the small size but just know it's REALLY small and you'll be ok with it! For the price, the location and the quality, I woudl definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMWW8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Stayed here for 16 nights. The room is small, I had a queen size bed. Wish though that there were a small refrigerator in the room. An extra lamp over the desk would have been wonderful.
One day the air-condtioning did not work but they cleaned the filters. The overall cleaning is okay. No breakfast but free coffee, tea and chocolate to drink during the day. 24 hours hot water and cold water and access to a microwave in the "breakfast" room. A rooftop (7. floor) where you can enjoy the view and sit there and eat and drink if you bring something. There is an elevator and 6 floors. The room had a nice bathroom with a bathtub.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan-Tuyet T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Have stayed at this hotel at least half a dozen times over the last few years, as their prices invariably beat anything comparable. As others have noted, the location is extremely convenient for downtown, and the subway is just around the corner. And the rooftop deck offers spectacular views of the city to the north (Empire State Building, Chrysler Building) and south (Ground Zero buildings). The hotel and the area are completely suitable for single travellers.

What really makes a difference for the often weary traveller are the very friendly and helpful staff. This is not a large impersonal hotel -- there are just 6 floors (the 7th floor is the rooftop deck). Staff are genuinely helpful, and are very understanding and accommodating about reservations when flights are cancelled or delayed.

Yes, the rooms are very small, but there is plenty of space to relax on the rooftop or in the common room in the basement, or the lobby lounge. Just don't bring a big suitcase, or be prepared to only open it on the bed. Note that the room windows open, which many of us appreciate.

A great choice in downtown NYC.

Room Tip: Rooms on the Eldridge Street side are a bit quieter than on the East Houston Street side, but the wi...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 83Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We spent 2 nights in this hotel for a short visit in NY.

Nice hotel in a perfect location for visiting NY, very close to the F subway and in nice area for pubs and restaurants but at the same time quiet during the night.

The room was nicely furnished and clean, but VERY SMALL. It was ok for us for 2 days, but pay attention to this detail if you want to spend some time in the room, because it was difficult also to open the luggages, there was literally only 30-40cm around the bed and nothing more... Bathroom ok, nice shower and clean.

The staff was helpful, and the hotel has a common area with free coffee and tea. No breakfast is served but you can bring your own. Anyway the area is full of lovely place for breakfast, so it wasn't a problem at all.

Overall a good hotel, just bear in mind the room dimension if you need space, otherwise strongly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicola N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
East Village
The Gatsby Hotel
The Gatsby Hotel
#375 of 468 in New York City
53 reviews
Lower East Side
Orchard Street Hotel
Orchard Street Hotel
#312 of 468 in New York City
149 reviews
Manhattan
Off Soho Suites
Off Soho Suites
#378 of 468 in New York City
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lower East Side
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New York
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New...
#82 of 468 in New York City
666 reviews
Lower East Side
SIXTY LES
SIXTY LES
#155 of 468 in New York City
1,188 reviews
Lower East Side
Redford Hotel
Redford Hotel
#401 of 468 in New York City
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ridge Hotel

Address: 151 E Houston St, New York City, NY 10002-1004 (Formerly Hotel East Houston)
Region: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #351 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £101 - £282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Ridge Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Ridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Houston Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing