We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware of your bill!!!”

Amazing 66 Restaurant
Ranked #7,797 of 13,820 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: US$25 - US$100
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighbourhood: Chinatown
Description: Amazing 66 is a very populare Chinese restaurant located in Chinatown. Excellent and innovative dishes.
Vineland, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Beware of your bill!!!”
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Calculate your bill carefully. As the food was average and the server’s border lined rude, the really bad taste was in the billing. The food items charged seemed fine, however the total bill was not and reflected a 17% additional charge to the final total. Note: this was not a merchant imposed gratuity; we were only a party of 4 dining. It was simply added/incorporated with no justification. An additional tip was expected and I added 15% to the total bill. I normally tip at least 20% but somehow felt there was something wrong with the bill. I was tight for time and didn't revise the bill properly. I've called the restaurant several times on several occasions requesting to speak to a manager and have been hung up on. Requesting my credit card to retrieve the unauthorized tip is my only recourse.
Fool me once shame on you! You won't fool me twice as I will never visit this restaurant again!! There are many, many much better restaurants in the area.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ray G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    30
    31
    6
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marlboro, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good fried flounder”
Reviewed 28 December 2013

With so many places to choose from to eat in Chinatown, we stopped at Amazing 66, due to the Zagat reviews. I have 2 people in my family who love to order several meals to try. The fried flounder turned out to be the best item ordered. The other items ordered were, sesame chicken, 1/2 a duck, a noodle dish, and a dumpling soup, were average in terms of taste. We did not feel rushed and we were able to sit and relax and take our time.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alison K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level 6 Contributor
1,100 reviews
660 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 288 helpful votes
“Everyone was in Chinatown tonight”
Reviewed 25 December 2013

We could not get into our first choice, Greater NY Noodletown. We walked here and they managed crowd quickly. Good service. chow fun was goofy. Prawns with ginger and scallion was good and expensive. Do not tip on top of gratuity they added to our check anyway.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nycmom22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Go somewhere else”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

I'm not normally negative but just give this restaurant a wide berth. We had travelled to New York with our three teenagers. I had been there the previous year and the food was totally underwhelming. When I came with my family I played safe and brought them here. The wait staff were sullen and couldnt wait till we left. Food was 'meh'

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GerMat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
353 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
“Great group restaurant”
Reviewed 25 September 2013 via mobile

Fourteen of us wandered in without a reservation and had a great meal. First off, no problem with a table for 14! The take of nine next to ours, filled with regulars, had lots of suggestions. We enjoyed the half duck, the Chinese fried chicken, braised chicken, broccoli, bok choi, a beef dish. Something for everyone. They have a few beers and a reasonable wine selection. If you are looking for a group experience in Chinatown, this is a decent choice.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LeeMTucson_Arizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Amazing 66 Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Amazing 66 Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing