We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Jasmine green bubble tea delicious!! :)” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Xe Lua

Xe Lua
Ranked #3,957 of 13,481 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighbourhood: Chinatown
Cross street: Between Canal St. and Bayard St.
Transit: Canal St (J, N, Q, Z) Canal St (4, 6, 6X) Canal St (N, R)
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Jasmine green bubble tea delicious!! :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed down the road at the Mulberry hotel so we couldn't resist visiting this place every day! Food is tasty, plentiful and huge variety. Cheap meals and friendly people! Im going to miss the green jasmine bubble tea for sure!! This place is a must!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    26
    7
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Forget hi priced food in little italy...U SHOULD GO HERE!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

$6 PHO, $3.50 BUBBLE TEAS, etc.....Try something new if u dont know what Im talking about! The super nice owner made great recommendations. They have fish, frog legs, beef, chicken, tofu & so on...and provide a plate of fresh herbs, peppers & vegetables to season it a little more if u want. The price is right, the food is delicious & they give u big portions! I always base that on if there's enuf to test taste everyones food & still have leftovers lol....5 of us adults ate for $66, no appetizer because the meals looked really large. With food & service that good, I left a huge tip, but even then our bill was under $80!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank M1ndy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spencer, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

Went here on a Saturday night. The food was fantastic, but what made this place special was the service. Everyone there was friendly and accommodating. The food was delicious and the portions were more than ample. I went here based solely on the reviews on this site and I was not disappointed. I definitely plan to eat here again in the future.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Valve9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
101 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Nice food, clean, friendly, overal slightly above average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

Xe Lua is the type of restaurant you go to when other things don't feel right. The food is definately OK. The service if friendly. The restaurant is clean. Pricing is very reasonable (paid $60 including tip for 4 persons which was 1 plate and a drink each). Why not a higher rating. The taste was just not as flavoursome as I know it to be (being married into a Vietnamese family). However let me be clear the food in not bad at all. Maybe I am spoiled in this respect. Would recommend it if you look for a restaurant to go to with kids and want to have it reasonably priced.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Marten162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Etten-Leur, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Suprised by very good quality food Xe Lua Chinatown NY”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

We had two times diner in Xe Lua, very good and fresh food. The restaurant interior is simple, but clean. Excellent appetizers and very good main dishes. Above all the restaurantowner is a very friendly man who gave us a very warm welcome feeling. We stayed in another part of NY but we returned for a second time to Chinatown to eat in Xe Lua.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank H D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Xe Lua also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Xe Lua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing