We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Meal”
Review of The Capital Grille

The Capital Grille
Reserve a table
2
Wed, 7/6
20:00
Ranked #92 of 13,775 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: US$21 - US$80
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighbourhood: Midtown East
Cross street: Between Lexington & Third Avenues
Transit: Grand Central Terminal: 4, 5, 6, 7 & S subways. Metro-North Railroad. Buses: M1, M2, M3, M4, M42, M98, M101, M 102, M104.
Description: Make it a day to remember. From birthdays and anniversaries to professional milestones, we aim to make every gathering special at The Capital Grille. Open seven days a week, The Capital Grille is best known for its expertly prepared steaks, which are dry-aged in house for 18 to 24 days and then hand-cut by our restaurant's on-premise butcher. The Capital Grille's wine list features more than 350 selections, and its floor-to-ceiling wine kiosk regularly houses 3,500 - 5,000 bottles. Reservations are recommended but not required. For more information, please visit our website. See you soon.
Reviewed 12 January 2019 via mobile

Excellent meal! You have to have a steak when in NYC and this really is up there with the best. Highly recommend the tenderloin with lobster tails...simply gorgeous. Our waiter Barry was also superb! Thanks for a great meal.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (945)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

71 - 75 of 945 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2019

We ate at this restaurant on New Year’s Eve and what a good choice we made. From the moment we sat down we were thoroughly looked after by our lovely waiter Miquel. He was so friendly, and very professional. A great employee for this restaurant. We decided not to have starters and just ordered main courses and thank goodness we did as the portions are very big but the food is outstanding! The steaks are amazing and cooked to perfection. We did mange a few desserts too which were also delicious. Thank you Capital Grille and special thanks to Miguel for looking after us. Definitely recommend this restaurant!!

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SANDRA T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 January 2019 via mobile

The ambience is lovely, low lit and lots of candles, pristine white tablecloths and on arrival our table was scattered with party confetti and a birthday card for my husband. We got a brief history of the restaurant and as I wasn’t drinking alcohol they offered to make me a mocktail based on my fruit preferences.
We were advised that the food portions were big and therefore not to order too much. It was true! All courses were exquisite and cooked to perfection. We got a lovely birthday dessert for free with a candle and two free glasses of champagne-mine was non alcoholic but served in the same champagne flute.
From start to finish the service was amazing and good value given the high quality of food. Highly recommended.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Pam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 January 2019

Have gone 2 times recently
Went with Mike for his birthday dinner and ranger game.
We had a great meal with great service
Last night I went with chris and brian
Steven the waiter was excellent and the meal which was Caesar salad ,tuna new england clam chowder
All were fair
For dinner Chris had a filet that came out very undercooked
I had a porterhouse which came out to well done.
Brian had a perfect strip
Go figure
Would come back.

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Summersnuggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 January 2019

We have dined at the Capital Grill in a number of cities. This one is just down the street from the Grand Hyatt where we were staying. We split a DRY AGED NY STRIP AU POIVRE WITH COURVOISIER CREAM - 14 OZ This is one of our "go to" steaks and plenty large enough to share. We also split a caesar salad which was huge and very tasty. The potatoes were enough for 2-3 people to share. We also had glazed brussel sprouts which were delicious but more than we could eat. The real point of this review is the consistency of the food. Always exceptional.

I can't say the service was up to par. Our steak was delivered and the potatoes, perhaps 5 minutes later. We had to remind our waiter that we ordered the brussel sprouts. We were half way through our meal before they arrived. Not your typical Capital Grill service.

You can't go wrong dining at The Capital Grill but this visit had a glitch in the service. Hopefully it was an aberration. I am sure we will return at some future date. I will update my review at that time.

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed The Capital Grille also viewed

 

Been to The Capital Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.