We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Steak Ever”
Review of The Capital Grille

The Capital Grille
Reserve a table
2
Wed, 7/6
20:00
Ranked #92 of 13,775 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: US$21 - US$80
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighbourhood: Midtown East
Cross street: Between Lexington & Third Avenues
Transit: Grand Central Terminal: 4, 5, 6, 7 & S subways. Metro-North Railroad. Buses: M1, M2, M3, M4, M42, M98, M101, M 102, M104.
Description: Make it a day to remember. From birthdays and anniversaries to professional milestones, we aim to make every gathering special at The Capital Grille. Open seven days a week, The Capital Grille is best known for its expertly prepared steaks, which are dry-aged in house for 18 to 24 days and then hand-cut by our restaurant's on-premise butcher. The Capital Grille's wine list features more than 350 selections, and its floor-to-ceiling wine kiosk regularly houses 3,500 - 5,000 bottles. Reservations are recommended but not required. For more information, please visit our website. See you soon.
Reviewed 26 January 2019

Wow, booked this restaurant though New York’s restaurant weeks promotions and so glad we did.
Awsome bread basket to start followed by fantastic starters and the most perfectly cooked thick cut steak I’ve ever had.

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tomberry01
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (945)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

66 - 70 of 945 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2019

You won't be disappointed. Barry took great care of us, our favorite steak house in Arizona as well.

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 January 2019 via mobile

My son and I had a fabulous meal Friday evening. Started out with some great cocktails and a bread basket that has an array of wonderful options. We both had filet mignon but I had it sliced with mushrooms, cippollini onions and a red wine sauce with fig essence. The meat was cooked to perfection, medium with a nice crust. The creamed spinach and mashed potatoes were delicious sides. The creme brûlée with assorted berries rounded out a perfect meal. The night was made more special because our server Michael was accommodating, friendly and just made our experience so much better!!!

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank JandJMiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 January 2019 via mobile

The staff is very friendly and the place is great with premium food. People like to have a drink at the bar. Very good location at the 42nd street Chrysler Building.

Date of visit: January 2019
2  Thank PETERMEX
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 January 2019

Visited Capital Grill with three colleagues for drinks and apps. Our server was great. Helpful, friendly, responsive and open to us just having APPs and drinks. It helped make it an enjoyable evening.

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank djh5723
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed The Capital Grille also viewed

 

Been to The Capital Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.