We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, wine & service.”
Review of The Capital Grille

The Capital Grille
Reserve a table
2
Wed, 7/6
20:00
Ranked #92 of 13,775 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: US$21 - US$80
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighbourhood: Midtown East
Cross street: Between Lexington & Third Avenues
Transit: Grand Central Terminal: 4, 5, 6, 7 & S subways. Metro-North Railroad. Buses: M1, M2, M3, M4, M42, M98, M101, M 102, M104.
Description: Make it a day to remember. From birthdays and anniversaries to professional milestones, we aim to make every gathering special at The Capital Grille. Open seven days a week, The Capital Grille is best known for its expertly prepared steaks, which are dry-aged in house for 18 to 24 days and then hand-cut by our restaurant's on-premise butcher. The Capital Grille's wine list features more than 350 selections, and its floor-to-ceiling wine kiosk regularly houses 3,500 - 5,000 bottles. Reservations are recommended but not required. For more information, please visit our website. See you soon.
Reviewed 20 March 2019 via mobile

We ate here to celebrate a 25th Wedding Anniversary & a special birthday and we were all so pleased we did. The food was to die for - steaks that melted in your mouth, perfectly cooked veal chop and vegetables to match. The French Onion Soup was the best any of us had ever had. All in all a perfect meal, easily the best we had in New York, served by professional, friendly, knowledgeable people. Thanks all. 100% recommended. Enjoy.

Date of visit: March 2019
1  Thank dawncM6210GG
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (945)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

54 - 58 of 945 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2019 via mobile

We both opted for the steaks 1 fillet and 1 porterhouse , cooked to perfection and the sides were great also , my jumbo cocktail was tasty and we always visit CG when we come to New York and it didn’t disappoint

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank 81sarahh81
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 March 2019

Not overwhelmed! Quite loud. Service was excellent, food was not. Calamari too many peppers; bread basket very nice; ribeye too vinegary and very tough. Complimentary after dinner drink and desserts a nice touch.

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank volgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 March 2019 via mobile

It was the first time any of us had been there and it was a special occasion. We went at 1pm and it was a little loud it was still the lunch crowd. We had a perfect table in the corner for our group. Natalie was our server and she took special care of our co-worker who retired at the end of 2018. The food was great. If you are looking for the cheaper side to spend this is not it. If you are looking for great service and great food it is worth every penny! Go and Enjoy!!!

Date of visit: March 2019
1  Thank cmd0herty
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 February 2019 via mobile

It can carry the stigma of a chain restaurant and get lost in traffic with other big names in the steak business, but don’t let that steer you wrong because Capital Grille is the real deal.

I’ve visited a variety of locations, most recently for a business lunch at midtown east, and each time it has delivered.

For this latest lunch trip, our group of three ordered oysters, mushroom bisque and clam chowder to start. All excellent.

We followed that with two porter house steaks to share cooked medium rare. They were cooked and seasoned perfectly. Could not have been more pleased. My favorite part is always the filet. Each bite is just delectable.

For sides, we had yummy Brussels sprouts and mash potatoes. Perfect compliments.

And we finished off with some tea and coffee.

The ambience and service took the experience to the next level. The space and decor are upscale and charming. Our server was a gentleman and even inquired as to any time constraints. We were served our meals like special guests. And the courses arrived in reasonable times and we were in and out seamlessly.

I think Capital Grille is particularly great for business lunches. It certainly is on my short list.

Date of visit: February 2019
3  Thank Younggeezy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed The Capital Grille also viewed

 

Been to The Capital Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.