We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere, great food, great staff”
Review of The Capital Grille

The Capital Grille
Reserve a table
2
Wed, 7/6
20:00
Ranked #92 of 13,775 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: US$21 - US$80
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighbourhood: Midtown East
Cross street: Between Lexington & Third Avenues
Transit: Grand Central Terminal: 4, 5, 6, 7 & S subways. Metro-North Railroad. Buses: M1, M2, M3, M4, M42, M98, M101, M 102, M104.
Description: Make it a day to remember. From birthdays and anniversaries to professional milestones, we aim to make every gathering special at The Capital Grille. Open seven days a week, The Capital Grille is best known for its expertly prepared steaks, which are dry-aged in house for 18 to 24 days and then hand-cut by our restaurant's on-premise butcher. The Capital Grille's wine list features more than 350 selections, and its floor-to-ceiling wine kiosk regularly houses 3,500 - 5,000 bottles. Reservations are recommended but not required. For more information, please visit our website. See you soon.
Reviewed 19 August 2019

This restaurant was just along from the Grand Hyatt & we nipped in for an early dinner. From the moment we arrived it was a great experience. the wait staff were attentive without rushing you. The food was superb ( although beware of the specials - ask the price as we ended up paying $292 for two of us! That aside it was an outstanding meal in a lovely environment just near the Chrysler building

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Carol R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (945)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

32 - 36 of 945 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2019

We had the pleasure of dining at this restaurant tonight and were very well looked after by James and Fredrick. The meal was excellent, my husbands steak cooked perfectly and was huge. Great wine list to choose from also a full bar. Thanks for the dessert surprise it was very thoughtful and very delicious especially the chocolate portion. If we do have a chance to visit NYC again we will certainly return to this restaurant for dinner.

Date of visit: August 2019
2  Thank Rayner4
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 August 2019 via mobile

We went for dinner tonight after seeing a Broadway matinee. We each shared the steak tartare, which had just enough chopped egg, capers and onion. We each had the filet which, as a previous poster noted, melts in your mouth. We also had the creamed spinach and mashed potatoes and shared a coconut cream pie serving. The bartender made the BEST Cosmopolitan I ever had. Steve Kotatis took excellent care of us and is to be commended for his outstanding service. A terrific dining experience all the way around.

Date of visit: August 2019
1  Thank voyager81
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 August 2019

We go to the bar almost every week for an early dinner at this Capital Grill Location.
The bar team especially Dan, Scott & Johnny recognize their regulars and see to it that they are seated and treated as honored guests -no matter how busy they are.
It’s a great thing when the service matches the food because let’s face it, the Steak and well prepared sides at Capital are hard to match!

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank 555b2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 August 2019

Wanted to go to steakhouse for my birthday and there are many here in NYC but so expensive. We chose CG on a recommendation from close friends and we loved it. the service was a great balance of attention with our being in our faces. The NY strip was perfectly medium rare and we split one of the salads to start. We highly recommend this chain. Oh, we advised them it was my birthday and we received a comp treat to finish.

Date of visit: August 2019
1  Thank Jester70
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed The Capital Grille also viewed

 

Been to The Capital Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.