We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Truly Awful” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square
Ranked #209 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
104 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Truly Awful”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

This is the worst Hotel experience I have ever been subjected to. Dirty rooms, no service, single tiny lift, bad street, room with the bed up against the wall making it prretty difficult to get in and out of bed. This Hotel has no redeeming features at all. I marked it 1 out of 5 as it is not possible to give zero. Never ever again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AnneNap33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonicaNarvaez, Front Office Supervisor at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Greetings from NYC,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback with us. Please accept my sincerest apologies for all inconveniences and for not meeting or exceed your expectations. I would greatly like an opportunity to discuss your experience further, please feel free to contact myself or a manager on duty at any time. I hope we can hear from you soon.

Warmest Regards,

Monica Narvaez
Front Office Supervisor
P. 212-967-2254
F. 212-967-4110
monica.narvaez@hhmlp.com
339 West 39th Street
New York | NY | 10018
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,803 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    810
    750
    169
    34
    40
See reviews for
255
873
151
209
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Markham, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Great location to access Times Square (10 minute walk) at a lower price point. Close to the 42nd St bus terminal (5 minute walk). Give yourself more time to get to some of the more north-situated theatres on Broadway as of course there are tons of people everywhere.

Queen Studio is a comfortable size for two people. Upon walking into our room (every time), we noted that our room and bedding had an unpleasant musty smell, though everything appeared clean. The mattress was soft but not extremely so.

Kitchenette is equipped with a decently sized sink, large microwave, dishwasher, and stove with two burners. Surfaces, cookware, dishes, and cutlery appeared to be clean, but there was a food smell coming from some of the cabinets. Large table/workspace good for business travellers. The safe in the closet is big enough for a 15.6" laptop. Would have appreciated more counter space in the bathroom. (The countertop was a prebuilt unit rather than a custom fit, so there was some wasted space.) Hot water readily available and good water pressure in the shower.

One of the two elevators was out of service for over two full days during our stay, making the wait times a bit frustrating during peak hours.

Wifi connectivity was excellent. Staff were friendly. Note that housekeeping will only come once per week, but you can request fresh towels as needed. Complimentary coffee in the lobby and a small tuck shop (self-serve, honour system). Free use of laundry machines in basement. Hotel provides car service to LGA at $52 flat (toll, tax, and tip included).

Overall decent value at $613 USD for 3 nights in July (Travelzoo offer).

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side have little natural light. We couldn't tell that it was actually very s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonicaNarvaez, Front Office Supervisor at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Hello and thank you very much for taking the opportunity to share your experience with us. I am so sorry to read we ran short of meeting your expectations. I hope that you can give us another opportunity to “wow” you on your next trip to the big city. Please feel free to contact a manager on duty in advance.

Warmest Regards,

Monica Narvaez
Front Office Supervisor
P. 212-967-2254
F. 212-967-4110
monica.narvaez@hhmlp.com
339 West 39th Street
New York | NY | 10018
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
429 reviews
158 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Seriously?! This is my new find for staying in Manhattan! The price was excellent, the room was very clean and spacious for the price point, and the kitchen (a full-size refrigerator!) was wonderful! The staff was helpful and the stay was nearly perfect. The valet parking can be skipped since you will pass a parking garage before you get to the hotel and their rates are about $15.00/night less than what you would pay for the hotel valet. I used the hotel valet and my car came back damaged. Stay tuned for how this ends since it was a rental. The hotel ended up taking the valet charge off my bill but the damage to my passenger side door was still there. The valet told me the damage was there but I am very suspicious since I was not notified but they all of a sudden produced a card the valet had completed showing the damage was there when I dropped off the car. Odd since the damage documented at the rental company did not make the same report! Again, I’ll have to wait and see how this ends. Still, without that, I would stay at this property again. Access to the Port Authority Bus Terminal (long trip busses and subway access) and the short walk to Times Square makes this a wonderful option.

Room Tip: Staying on an upper floor, I heard very little noise. Simply run the fan on the air conditioner and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EnjoyTravelAlways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonicaNarvaez, Front Office Supervisor at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Greetings from NYC and thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am so happy we were able to become you NEW find in the city. Please accept my sincerest apologies for any inconveniences and I am glad we were able to assist you when you brought your concerns to our attention. If you should require any further assistance please do not hesitate in contacting us directly.
Warmest Regards,

Monica Narvaez
Front Office Supervisor
P. 212-967-2254
F. 212-967-4110
monica.narvaez@hhmlp.com
339 West 39th Street
New York | NY | 10018
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Framingham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

we chose this hotel on a Travel Zoo special; paid just over $400 incl tax for a 2 night stay. Not bad for a property in any area of town! Staff was very nice, very accommodating. Lobby and rooms were immaculate. Coffee in lobby, we bought breakfast at a nearby bakery. Room is not huge but included a full kitchen with full size refrigerator, oven, microwave, and drip coffeemaker with coffee pods. All were spotless. It's not the most glamorous place but very nice, looked to be recently renovated. The property is a bit off the main street, but took only about 5 min to walk to the nearest subway stop. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: we paid a bit extra for a higher floor in order to have a view. many of the surrounding buildings a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonicaNarvaez, Front Office Supervisor at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Greetings from the big apple!
Thank you very much for taking the opportunity to write to us on trip advisor. I am so happy your expectations were met and you enjoyed the beautiful views of our suites on a higher floor. The low additional cost for our view rooms is definitely worth it! Thank you again for your time and please visit us soon.

Warmest Regards,

Monica Narvaez
Front Office Supervisor
P. 212-967-2254
F. 212-967-4110
monica.narvaez@hhmlp.com
339 West 39th Street
New York | NY | 10018
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
182 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

We chose this room after leaving the more expensive Westin after our conference ended. Easy access to all transportation and easy walk to practically all restaurants. Comfortable room. The front desk was so helpful in book a car to the airport - a nice sedan for a change. They were very informative on making that happen.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JenEricTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonicaNarvaez, Front Office Supervisor at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Greetings from your home away from home,

Thank you for your kind words and for taking the opportunity to share your positive feedback with our traveler community. I am glad our staff impacted your stay in a positive way and we look forward to your future stays with us.

Warmest Regards,

Monica Narvaez
Front Office Supervisor
P. 212-967-2254
F. 212-967-4110
monica.narvaez@hhmlp.com
339 West 39th Street
New York | NY | 10018
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

The Hotel was very clean and the staff was super friendly!!! A great little oasis for the price in the Times Square area! The only negative comment is that the street it is on leads directly to the Lincoln tunnel and was always very congested making it impossible to take (or get) a taxi at the door of the hotel. It was pouring rain one evening and the amazing bell hop actually stood in the rain trying to get us a taxi but it didn't happen! The walk is a short one however from 8th avenue where the cabs are plentiful! The room was quiet and clean! Valet parking was also a plus!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lori S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonicaNarvaez, Front Office Supervisor at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank You, Thank You, Thank You for your wonderful feedback! I am so happy you felt our hotel was a little oasis in Times Square. In the city that never sleeps it’s good to be considered a safe haven for our travelers. It can be very challenging to get taxi during those rainy days, I am sorry we could not get during this busy time. I hope that you come and visit us soon!

Warmest Regards,

Monica Narvaez
Front Office Supervisor
P. 212-967-2254
F. 212-967-4110
monica.narvaez@hhmlp.com
339 West 39th Street
New York | NY | 10018
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed three nights based on Trip Advisor recommendations. Our experience was also positive. Staff are very accommodating and friendly. We were traveling with two dogs and the hotel initially double charged us for them. When I pointed out this error, the staff graciously corrected the error. Guests with 1-2 dogs should expect to pay $75/stay. Valet parking is a hefty $55/nt but garage parking is about the same so we opted for the convenience of valet. Rooms are smaller than a typical Candlewood Suite, but have same amenities. Convenient to everything. We enjoyed our stay and will return. Suggestion to management...consider joining the dog park located two blocks west of the hotel for $25/yr and distributing keys to hotel guests. Most pups appreciate doing their "business" on grass.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Gloria K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonicaNarvaez, Front Office Supervisor at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Greetings from your home away from home,

Thank you for your generous feedback. I am so glad you choose to stay with us based on our great guest feedback and reputation on Trip Advisor! I am so sorry about any misunderstandings but I am glad we were able to clear things up and charge you accordingly. We will definitely consider your suggestion and thank you again for your feedback. Please visit us soon and don’t forget to contact us in advance.

Warmest Regards,

Monica Narvaez
Front Office Supervisor
P. 212-967-2254
F. 212-967-4110
monica.narvaez@hhmlp.com
339 West 39th Street
New York | NY | 10018
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Staybridge Suites Times Square -...
#134 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,396 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#266 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,017 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Squa...
#234 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel
Distrikt Hotel
#55 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,773 reviews
Midtown
Element New York Times Square West
Element New York Times Square We...
#251 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,853 reviews
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square

Property: Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square
Address: 339 W. 39th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1401
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#112 Family Hotel in New York City
#122 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#170 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square 3*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let our Times Square Hotel be your Home Away From Home Located at the 'Crossroads of America', the new, all suites Candlewood Suites Hotel at Times Square has the perfect location for extended stay business and leisure travelers. We are convenient to the major businesses in Times Square, as well as the attractions of New York City. If you are traveling to 'the Big Apple' for just an overnight stay or for an extended stay, our NYC hotel's studio suites, with full kitchen facilities, will make your trip a smashing success. Our hotel's Times Square address places us within walking distance of the Jacob Javitz Convention Center,Legg Mason, Ernst & Young and Merrill Lynch among others. Our suites offer extended stay guests a comfortable workspace, free high-speed,wireless Internet access and we are pet friendly. Leisure guests know that our hotel in NYC's Times Square is centrally located so it is easy to visit the best of the city; the electricity of Times Square, the majesty of the Empire State Building and the excitement of Broadway Theater are at our doorstep. All modes of transportation, from trains, buses and cabs, are nearby. Our extended stay Midtown Manhattan hotel offers deluxe amenities including a DVD lending library and a free 24-hour Fitness Center. There is the Candlewood Cupboard, located in the main lobby, for food and sundries. We also offer free laundry facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing