We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellently located accomodation in New York”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square
Ranked #233 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 17 September 2010

Just five minutes away from Manhattan's Time Square, the "Candlewood Suites New York City" is an excellent choice for tourists who visit New York just for a short trip.
The hotel itself is not too large, and leaves it up to the guest to care for everything but the room itself, what is quite nice on a weekend trip.
I had a room on the 24th floor with a very nice view over Manhattan.
The rooms are spacious enough for two persons. They were clean and well maintained.
We were welcomed by very friendly staff, there was no problem over all the three days of our visit.
When coming back to Manhattan I will definitely consider taking again the "Candlewood Suites".

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fgp-01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CW339, Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2010

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are happy to hear that our property was able to offer the accommodations you were seeking during your weekend trip to New York. We look forward to having you stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,873)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,247 - 1,253 of 1,873 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2010

I consider myself a pretty good traveler and do my homework looking for rates and reviews from the hotels I am considering. When booking Candlewood I was amazed by the reviews and can say the expectation was met. Whilst it is not located in the heart of times square, you can literally walk there in 10 minutes. At first you may think otherwise but the hotel is great. So here are the pros and cons:
PRO:
- somewhat quiet street in the crazyness of Manhattan
- clean rooms, new and well furnished
- FREE INTERNET - a must have to me
- convenient 24 hour shop for things you may need as well as snacks
- very good location - next door to bus station and subway (at 42nd st), very close to Empire State building, Madison Square and 42nd st where you have many shopping, dining & attractions
- weekly room service so you are sure things will be the way you left them
- Laundry in the building ( I have not used myself ) - but it's good to have one
- small kitchen in the room with utensils if you want to cook yourself

Things to consider (if you mind them):
- Weekly room service - if you run out of soap or shampoo, you'd have to ask
- If you like new washed towels every day, then maybe you'd give this hotel a pass as they change it weekly
- No room service of any kind (breakfast/lunch/dinner) - you can order pizza/food though
- although it's close from many things, you'd have to walk 5 to 10 min everywhere
- taxi from here to times square cost you about US$ 8 - difference in price from Candlewood to most Times Square hotels varies from 40 to 100 USD so that pays for the taxi and still have some bucks left daily ;) - in my case, a 8-day stay saved me $500

So, in summary, I'd strongly recommend and will possibly stay here again

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank arbonfieti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walkidia, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2010

We are delight to hear you enjoy your stay with us. Thank you for sharing such good information about our service and location. We are always working on improving our service and making sure everyone of our guest feels like in a "home away from home". Looking forward to hear from you again.

Best wishes,
Candlewood Suites Family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2010

I really liked this hotel - the refrigerator, stove top, microwave, dishes, location, etc. make this hotel, in my opinion, a great place for a stay in NYC. The staff were very friendly to us. We were only there one night for a concert, but found getting around quite easy. We like to walk, so that's basically what we did - didn't seem that far to Times Square if you're into that, Broadway - all the touristy places. There are a few deli-type stores on 9th (make a right out the door, left at the light) to buy sandwiches, drinks, etc. If we go back again, will definitely try to get this hotel again. There are laundry facilities and a small gym in the basement & sitting area/internet in the lobby, but we weren't there long enough to make use of any of this stuff. I would recommend this hotel to anyone - just not sure if there are bigger rooms to accommodate more than 2 people.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TZMOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CW339, Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2010

On behalf of the Candlewood Suites Times Square team, we would like to thank you for sharing your recent stay with us. We enjoyed reading your review and we hope that others will benefit from reading about your experience. We pride ourselves in offering the best service throughout all departments of our hotel and we are pleased that we were able to satisfy your accommodation needs. We hope to have you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2010

My father and I just returned from a trip to NYC and were very pleased with our stay. The room was clean, nicely furnished and had all the aminities advertiesed. If I ever go on vacation in nyc this is the hotel for me! I would however not recommend this hotel for a family: however it is a great place for 2 people or a couple! I was very satisfied

Thanks Candlewood!

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tekkie38115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CW339, Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2010

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are delighted to hear that we were able to accommodate your needs during your visit to New York. We definitely hope you choose our hotel again for your next vacation in New York.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2010

My wife and I stayed for four nights in August. We checked in just before 3pm on Monday and checked out around 9am on Friday. We loved that the hotel had a full sized fridge, microwave, toaster, and mini-stove. The dishwasher we didn't really use. We purchased drinks from the mini-store. Pop was $1 and bottled water $1.50. Coffee for the in room coffee maker was $1.00. We thought the prices were quite fair. We didn't miss the lack of housekeeping; in fact we liked the fact that no one was going into our room. The towels were a good size and thickness and we chose not to change them for the four nights we were there.

The air conditioning worked and we liked the fact that we could change the temperature to Celsius. The only odd thing was when you increased the thermostat by a degree or two it turned the heat on to get the temp to the new setting. Any other air conditioner I've seen would just let the temp rise on it's own.

Lots of folks commented on the small bathroom and the lack of counter space and lid on the toilet. We, too, found that irritating, but hardly enough to not come back.

The hotel is really close to the Port Authority Bus Terminal and that is how we chose to get back to the Newark Airport. To get there we took the train in to Penn Station and walked to the hotel. We walked to Times Square, to the theatres as well as to Macy's and the Empire State Building. For all other things we used our Gray Line hop on hop off pass or the subway.

It would seem that the hotel has some kind of a business relationship with the Holiday Inn Express because when we ordered some more tea bags for our room or asked them to look at a concern, the folks that arrived at our door had Holiday Inn Express name tags.

The Wifi in the room worked well. The strength was 4/5 bars. We paid $171 a night which seemed to be a good deal for that time of year and class / location of hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CW339, Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2010

We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your most recent stay with us. We value your opinion of our hotel and we would like to thank you for sharing your experience with other travelers. We sincerely look forward to having you stay with us again for any future visits to New York.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2010

The location was very good, with a 10 min walk to Time Square. The street the hotel was on was fine (as compared to what other people say). Its a typical new york side street.

The hotel is close to the subway.

The hotel itself is clean and basic. Free coffee in the lobby, little store to buy basics at (but we mostly bought our stuff in small stores along 9th).

Staff was great, very helpful and friendly.

For the price, you cant get much better than this.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigtwinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walkidia, Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2010

Dear Guest,

Thanks for choosing Candlewood Suites Times Square. We are glad you enjoy your stay with us. We always want our guest to feel like home away from home. Looking forward to your next visit to the BIG APPLE!!!!

Warm Regards,

Walkidia Reyes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2010

Can't believe how good the location is for the price. Within 10mins walking distance of Times Square, Rockefeller & Macy's & loads more.
Room was perfect & very clean. Individual AC was excellent & we were so glad to have it.
Couldn't have asked for better & will definitely stay again.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarahe89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CW339, Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2010

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write about our hotel. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we appreciate the kind review. We look forward to having you stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#294 of 469 in New York City
2,170 reviews
Midtown
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Staybridge Suites Times Square -...
#150 of 469 in New York City
5,712 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Squa...
#248 of 469 in New York City
2,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Element New York Times Square West
Element New York Times Square We...
#300 of 469 in New York City
4,157 reviews
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel
Distrikt Hotel
#70 of 469 in New York City
5,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square

Address: 339 W. 39th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1401
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#109 Family Hotel in New York City
#119 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#165 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £120 - £344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square 3*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let our Times Square Hotel be your Home Away From Home Located at the 'Crossroads of America', the newly renovated, all suites Candlewood Suites hotel at Times Square has the perfect location for extended stay business and leisure travelers. We are convenient to the major businesses in Times Square, as well as the attractions of New York City. If you are traveling to 'the Big Apple' for just an overnight stay or for an extended stay, our NYC hotel's studio suites, with full kitchen facilities, will make your trip a smashing success. Our hotel's Times Square address places us within walking distance of the Jacob Javitz Convention Center, Legg Mason, Ernst & Young and Merrill Lynch among others. Our suites offer extended stay guests a comfortable workspace, free high-speed,wireless Internet access and we are pet friendly. Leisure guests know that our hotel in NYC's Times Square is centrally located so it is easy to visit the best of the city; the electricity of Times Square, the majesty of the Empire State Building and the excitement of Broadway Theater are at our doorstep. All modes of transportation, from trains, buses and cabs, are nearby. Our extended stay Midtown Manhattan hotel offers deluxe amenities including a DVD lending library and a free 24-hour Fitness Center. There is the Candlewood Cupboard, located in the main lobby, for food and sundries. We also offer free laundry facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing