We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the one look no further!!!!!!”
Review of Greenwich Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Greenwich Hotel
Ranked #94 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“This is the one look no further!!!!!!”
Reviewed 20 April 2011

Well, I cannot fault this slice of HEVEN!
Five Nights of Tranquil Luxury, and Oh my god the beds - Hugh! Comfortable! Fantastic Linen! I am trying to source this as I have to have some. This is not an inexpensive hotel and it was a special occasion for my wife and I, we were not disappointed. Best service I have ever had in a hotel and all unobtrusive and professional. Rooms are great value in a city that puts a premium on space. The Japanese Spa is sublime. Every morning up early down to the pool swim fifty or so lengths have a steam, shower then back up to the room to have breakfast. There is a full gym if you are so inclined. Great start to each day before enjoying the delights of NYC. I even had a massage by one of the Japanese Masseuses, I felt like I had been origami’d ……Wonderful. My wife tried other spa delights and was impressed and that is saying a lot!!! Fabulous location. Great Italian restaurant/bar. as only NYC seems to do. By now you must think I’m Robert de Niro (Owner) yes that Robert, but I ask you if I was, would I not have better thing to do!!! It’s all in the details Robert, Good work! you can give up the day job - we will be back…..

Room Tip: Book with Amex and you might get an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CL50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    421
    54
    26
    7
    8
See reviews for
61
265
42
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Providence RI
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2011

What a lovely hotel. Everything about this hotel is quietly understated and absolutely wonderful. There are many wonderful hotels in NY but for me this is the one.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tripp21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2011

This is one of the best hotels I've ever stayed in - if not the best!

Service was top-notch right from my late post-midnight arrival. Decor is fantastic. Remarkably quiet. Great bed.

You really get the sense that they want to go the extra mile here. The complimentary minibar and (loads of) snacks is a brilliant detail that means more than you'd think.

The rooms are "rustic" with part wooden floor and part old furniture, but it's all been refurbished as e.g. the beautiful old closet had lights installed.

Bathroom was just a work of art!

And don't even get me started on the restaurant. Best. Pasta. Ever!

Definitely coming back as soon as I can defend the slightly elevated price on my expenses.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BusinessJumper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2011

My wife and I wanted to get away for a day and chose to stay at the Greenwich. It's not cheap, but if that's not your governing factor, then I can recommend it unconditionally. The people at the hotel were casual but extremely friendly. All we cared about was the quality of the room and it didn't disappoint. The aesthetic is an interesting blend of tribeca zen rustic chic (if that makes any sense at all) with some buddha statues, wide plank wood floors and funky light fixtures. The bed is super comfortable, the bathroom was cool and the room hit all the right notes. We had a superb dinner at locanda verde which the hotel kindly made a reservation at for us and we blissed out for a night of great sleep. We will return.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jumpset45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2011

Stayed for a weekend and found the location of the hotel was not as convient as those in SoHo. I was shown a nice sized room with a balcony. Unfortuately was awakend by horrible cigeratte smoke coming from under the door. I was moved to a much smaller room the next night. Had brunch in the drawing room. Had horrible service. Had to ask for my coctail 3 times. The bathrooms are so dark, could not put on makeup. They really need lighted mirrors.
I must say the doormen that hailed my cabs were great.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Garrents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2011

As a frequent traveler to NYC, I am always looking for new, comfortable places to stay. The Greenwich fits the bill and more. The hotel is quiet, intimate....and hip.

My budget does not allow me to stay in a larger room but have frequently gotten upgraded. I love the cozy room that face the courtyard with small balconies. Makes me feel as if I am in a little apartment.

The living room area that is open only to guests, as well as the outdoors garden, are perfect spots to meet with others or work. Service is great....and you can order from the attached restaurant Locande Verde.

Lots of great dining options within a few blocks and Soho shopping is not too far.

As a business traveler I find this place to be a great getaway. If you are working in mid-town you will need to give yourself time to travel but it is worth it.

Lastly - the fitness center and spa are top notch for a boutique hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PhenomDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Greenwich Hotel over Thanksgiving. Previously we have stayed at Soho Grand, The Essex House and Hilton and we have had great experiences at all of the hotels. But the Greenwich Hotel is just out of this world! Everything was so great!!! Beautiful hotel, amazing spa, super-nice staff and I could go on. The only bad thing about the hotel is that we didn't want to leave it... I am already planning another trip to New York just to stay at the hotel.

I would sincerely recommend it to everyone!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MissMette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
Lowell Hotel
Lowell Hotel
#229 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
SoHo
Crosby Street Hotel
Crosby Street Hotel
#4 of 467 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
TriBeCa
Smyth, a Thompson Hotel
Smyth, a Thompson Hotel
#66 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
The NoMad Hotel
The NoMad Hotel
#55 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
Midtown
Four Seasons Hotel New York
Four Seasons Hotel New York
#279 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Upper East Side
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
#236 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenwich Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenwich Hotel

Property: Greenwich Hotel
Address: 377 Greenwich St, New York City, NY 10013-2338
Region: United States > New York > New York City > TriBeCa , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#20 Spa Hotel in New York City
#57 Family Hotel in New York City
#76 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#122 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Greenwich Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Greenwich Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greenwich Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing