We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel with great staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Greenwich Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Greenwich Hotel
Ranked #123 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Providenciales
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel with great staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2013

We had a great long weekend at the Greenwich. The only reason it is not five stars is that the bed was not great and the price is a little high, but they really take good care of their guests.

The guest only lounge is great as is the spa.

The water pressure in the shower and soaking tub were amazing.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NEG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    411
    54
    26
    7
    8
See reviews for
59
261
42
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2013

I am new to tripadvisor reviews, but I have used it a lot in my travels...so I thought I should start sharing the amazing places I find... This one was definitely one of them.

I have stayed in New York many times, and normally in Mid Town area...even the nice hotels are nondescript and you are just a number. At the Greenwich instead, in Tribeca, you are a person, and the doorman (who is always very well dressed and polite) even remembers your name. It is the first time I have stayed in a hotel in New York where I thought that I felt "at home away from home"...pretty amazing.

The decor was fabulous, and the room very spacious. They have lots of little snacks and N/A beverages which are included in the rate (which is nice), and the beds are very comfortable.

Above all i thought the staff was amazing. Very friendly and helpful yet professional.

If you are planning a trip to NY, I highly recommend this hotel... oh, and the restaurant is truly authentic italian cuisine!

Room Tip: all the rooms are different. I was in 306 and it was very nice, with a big shower. A colleague of mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank passionfortravel24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2013

This is one of the nicest hotels I have ever stayed in (and one of the more expensive ones) I went with girlfriends and we had two adjoining rooms that were really beautiful. Easch room was large with a good sized bathroom, and one even had a soaking tub that fills with water in 60 seconds. One of my biggest regrets of the trip was that we didn't have time for a bath! But the shower was equally luxurious, with both a regular shower head and a rainwater shower head in a separate shower stall. The room itself was very large by NY standards with a sitting area that felt separate simply because the room was designed with wood on the alls and ceiling where the small sofa and chairs were while the rest of the room had high ceilings. Each room is decorated differently, but both our rooms had this wood sectioned sitting area that was cosy and nice to sit in. All the items in the mini bar -- Cracker Jack, chocolate chip cookies, and other treats, are complimentary -- you only pay for liquor and since our rooms looked out on the hotel's beautiful courtyard we never heard any kind of city noise ever. It was quite possibly the quietest night I have ever spent in New York. The doors to all the rooms are made of solid antique oak and are beautiful and also great at keeping out any noise. You need a key to get to the upper floors in the hotel which is nice from a security point of view...The courtyard would be a lovely place to enjoy drinks in the summer, but it was a bit too cold when we were there, so we instead spent one evening drinking in The Drawing Room, a lovely sitting room/bar where you can have morning coffee, afternoon cocktails, or be served food from the hotel's outstanding restaurant Locanda Verde which is literally right next to this room. We drank delicious Cosmopolitans, ate terrific appetizers from the restaurant next door, and spotted two Hollywood stars while we were there. It was the prefect New York experience! The room has a giant fireplace and lots of low lying couches and easy chairs and service is friendly but professional. The hotel also has a beautiful spa with a gorgeous indoor pool that is kept at 85 degrees and was an oasis of calm. There is free internet at the hotel but it didn't work very well for us, but everything else was pretty much perfect. There are lots of great restaurants in the neighbourhood, and we particularly enjoyed Bouley and Bubby's...but there is not a ton of shopping nearby so if that is your focus you will need to cab it or take the subway our of the neighbourhood. If you are looking to splurge, I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in Rooms 302 and 303 and they both overlook the courtyard and are beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank quinngeoffrey6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2013

This hotel is an unforgettable oasis in a busy city and during a hectic holiday. Our large room was decoarated well, with fabulous big sofa to sink into, a huge bed and so much space, makes the room much more comfortable for longer stays. The double shower with dark blue tiles felt like a mini spa and the complimentary mini bar was great for water and midnight snacks!
Hotel was quietly gentile with staff helpful but not intrusive. The outdoor courtyard was lovely and the basement pool was great to return to after a long hours of walking. The peacefulness of the hotel made you forget you were in the middle of busy New York and was an ideal place to relax and recharge before our next days adventures. We didn't see Robert (de Niro) unfortunately. I will be staying again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013

Had a fantastic stay at the Greenwich Inn in Tribeca - NYC. What an awesome hotel. It was almost like staying at your cool friend's house - if your friend is totally connected to NY scene ! First day ran into Christie Turlington, 2nd day - Girard Depardieu; pretty cool folks. The rooms are lovely - frette linens; carrera marble; hardwood floors; high ceilings; Bose speakers; fully stocked mini bar :) The gym and spa are awesome - just what you need to work off the fantastic food at the Locanda Verde restaurant and the in house lounge, which is only open to hotel guests. We had 2 great meals at Locanda Verde and the Ily coffee in the morning was delicious. (Thank you Brandon - you make a mean Americano Misto, my friend). Our only complaint (and I am stretching to find one - really) is that we had communicated to the hotel that I was gluten free and asked them to update our in room mini bar and snack basket with g-free treats, and that wasn't done; BUT... they did create a special gluten free menu and gave to us when we checked in for the lounge. That was above and beyond! Our thanks to the team on the front desk for taking such good care of us, their recommendations and their directions! We will be back and we thank you for your help to make our stay memorable. (also - thanks to our lovely housekeeper - she was super friendly and our room was sparkly and clean each day!)

Room Tip: We stayed in room 502 - very quiet and at the end of the hall. Loved the location - couldn't hea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ElaineRunsWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

From the minute you walk in you sense this is a special place. The staff is very friendly and welcoming doing everything in person from escorting you to their lunch area to touring you in your room. Comfy beds, included mini bar and snacks, lovely rooms BUT.....the wireless didn't work and even after 15 minutes on the phone with an IT person no wireless our entire stay. No one even called back to see if it was now working. In addition, the attached restaurant with excellent food, would not seat me for breakfast to have coffee until my wife was present. Sorry, at almost 1k per night this is absolutely ridiculous. Add that to a 10 minute wait for the elevator (on my watch) Sunday am at 1030 and you have a 2-3 Star! (Yes, their wonderful manager, she was very attentive, did send the obligatory bottle of wine as an apology but frankly, we had great wines at dinner and when we travel we want it right the first time)

Would I go back....yes BUT now I, and you, know what to look for. Many options out there at this price but perhaps the celeb trade is more important to them.

Room Tip: They have rooms with separate showers and bath tubs but if you choose the room with a deep tub, it s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank atltraveler52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

I read about the Greenwich Hotel in a blog sometime last year and made a mental note to check it out sometime. After a recent home burglary, my husband and I decided a 4 day getaway to New York was in order and I quickly booked what appeared to be the only available room left, a basic queen bed room overlooking the courtyard. We only travel a few times a year, but since we don't have children, we usually splurge for the best. For comparison purposes, we have been lucky enough to stay at some fabulous resorts/hotels such as FS Hualalai, Parrot Cay, Cap Juluca, Viceroy Anguilla, Maroma Resort and Spa, and Caneel and Little Dix Bays. This may have been our best hotel experience to date. I can confidently say, the hotel and service are what I consider to be true, exceptional 5 star quality.
The room: Eclectic, serene but interesting. Comfortable. Great bed, linens. Smallish bathroom was designed to seem much larger. And Finally! A 5 star hotel that does not nickle and dime you to death. The free mini bar and snack bin and delicious homemade treats! Seriously? Di Nero finally got it right.
The Drawing Room: such a beautiful space! Hanging out there with a glass of wine, some olives, the fireplace kicking. So cozy and relaxing. A true oasis in the city. The courtyard off the room is lovely as well and we enjoyed cocktails out there during a warmish afternoon the first day of April (or was it the second?).
The Service: This is where I gush. We interacted with every aspect of service possible, from the cleaning staff, to room service, the spa, the drawing room bartenders and servers, Locanda Verde, the doormen, and the outstanding front desk. We kept remarking how we have never had such impeccable service. Anywhere. Ever. Call for coffee to be delivered to your room? No problem. It arrived all three times in under 5 minutes. Last minute reservations to Locanda Verde? No problem. When is it good for you? When would you like US to fit YOU in? Amazing spa service. Doormen who were always, always kind and happy and helpful. One night we asked if they could help us with a cab and they gave us their in house driver....no charge. I think his name was Smalls and he was the most professional and genuinely kind/easy going man. Additonally, there are special props I'd like to give in two areas. #1. The bartenders/servers in the drawing room. This is a place where many celebrities come to hang out, smoke cigarettes, hide out. Several were present during our stay. Not once were we ever treated any differently than those celebrities. The same amazing service and attention were given to us, every time. And this is what made US feel like celebrities. And that's what you call outstanding service. At Parrot Cay, the minute someone famous appeared, you can be certain your server would disappear. And so would you in their eyes. #2. The front desk staff is majorly awesome. Especially Travis. I think he must have a natural gift for hospitality or he was trained very, very well. He was eager to help us with anything: directions, tips, advice, reservations. He seemed genuinely interested when he would comment on where we were going/what we were doing. He made our stay so much easier, smoother. Boy needs a raise. Or a bit part in Di Niro's next movie. We gave him a thank you note. He gave us a thank you note for the thank you note. And late night treats. Love him.
Other 5 star hotels, take note. This is how it's done.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the courtyard. It's pretty and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kirstin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
SoHo
Crosby Street Hotel
Crosby Street Hotel
#4 of 467 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
Upper East Side
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
#256 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
Midtown
The St. Regis New York
The St. Regis New York
#29 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
The NoMad Hotel
The NoMad Hotel
#47 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
Midtown
Four Seasons Hotel New York
Four Seasons Hotel New York
#322 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Manhattan
Trump SoHo New York
Trump SoHo New York
#119 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenwich Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenwich Hotel

Property: Greenwich Hotel
Address: 377 Greenwich St, New York City, NY 10013-2338
Region: United States > New York > New York City > TriBeCa , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#24 Spa Hotel in New York City
#58 Family Hotel in New York City
#96 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#123 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Greenwich Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, MrandMrsSmith, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ and Odigeo so you can book your Greenwich Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greenwich Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing