We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Greenwich Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Greenwich Hotel
Ranked #88 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Just perfect”
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We had a wonderful three night weekend stay at the Greenwich and it really couldn't have been better. The room "Greenwich" was spacious and comfortable and very quiet despite being near the lift and street facing. The bathroom was large and spotless, with a fantastic bath and powerful shower.

The spa was beautiful and relaxing and the drawing room lovely with the Christmas tree. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and though attentive were not over bearing.

We had breakfast in the room everyday which was always hot and delicious.

All in all it was a fantastically relaxing stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clarinda_Vine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    418
    54
    26
    7
    8
See reviews for
61
263
42
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

I loved everything about the hotel. It's in a quiet area of Tribeca. Wonderful restaurant attached to the hotel (Locanda Verde) and, in my opinion, the best spa in all of NYC. The rooms are gorgeous. Amazing attention to detail, complimentary minibar... Even the hallways on each floor are luxurious. The gym is small but nice, with everything you would need. The pool is amazing, and run... don't walk... to the Shibui spa!!! :)

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank talula77London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

My daughter and I spent five days in this lovely hotel over Thanksgiving. Everything about the hotel is perfect. Gracious and friendly staff, gorgeous rooms, a beautiful drawing room with burning logs and flickering candles and, the biggest treat of all, a beautiful and peaceful pool in the basement. Food from the restaurant is lovely - the garlic chicken was our favourite.

I take my daughters to New York for their sixteenth birthdays - I have two more to go and I will most definitely be returning to The Greenwich.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LilyR06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 November 2013

I can't recommend the Greenwich Hotel enough as it is an oasis of understated luxury in the most bustling city in the world. Service has always been impeccable; the receptionists remember my name many months after visits and see to every request being fulfilled in the most gracious manner. I especially recommend this hotel for the most discerning of travelers who are tired of the commodification of luxury large scale hotels - which, in my opinion, often feel like the "high-end" section of shopping malls. The Greenwich Hotel, on the other hand, is the urban retreat that you retire to after braving those outside elements.

Guest rooms are well appointed and feature fantastic amenities. Complimentary mini bar (not including alcoholic beverages) and snacks.

Bathrooms are luxurious, beautifully designed and are stocked with amazing emollients and soaps.

The private Drawing Room is a fantastic place to relax and have a few drinks by the fireplace. Adjacent to the Drawing Room is the terrace, which further heightens the ambiance of the hotel.

Delicious food prepared by the kitchen at Locanda Verde is served throughout the day.

The Spa is restorative and beautifully designed.

I've stayed in many of the finest hotels in NYC, the Greenwich, in my opinion, is by far the best.

Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank MDO213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

The Greenwich is an expensive, lovely hotel, and many of the staff are cool.

But a fish rots from the head, and today, covering a mistake, the manager of the hotel decided to charge me an extra $700 for a 24 hour stay. Having just come off a redeye and hoped for a little rest, and spent the morning being continually awakened by fire alarm tests and then been aggressively and impolitely treated by the manager Ky, I am simply paying and walking away from this dark place.. I spent 100 nights a year in hotels and have never been been so treated. I strongly suggest you skip the Greenwich. The Crosby is run in a far more gracious way

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGreenwich, General Manager at Greenwich Hotel, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
We welcome free speech but your accusations are completely untrue and aboslutely unacceptable.

I will say that Kai is an extremely polite and considerate person, both gentle in his dealings with our guests and fair in his handling of difficult situations.

Two reservations were made on your behalf on the 18th Nov - one for yourself, for arrival on the 19 Nov , and one for your daughter to arrive on the 20 Nov, both to depart on the 21 Nov. These reservations were confirmed by email to the adress given. Detailed notes were made in both reservations requesting the rooms to be allocated near to each other, the name of your daughter and her age were noted in the comment field of her reservation, and your arrival time of 7am on the 20 Nov was recorded as well.

At noon on the 20 Nov. you requested an extra bed be put in your room for your daughter's arrival that day and you were informed that a second room had been reserved and was being held for your daughter. You said that a mistake had been made and that you wanted to cancel the room and have an upgrade to a larger room to accommodate the two of you.

It was explained that at this late stage we were unable to amend the reservations as the hotel,was competely fully booked. It was suggested that you release the room and we would do our best to resell it and thus avoid having to charge you. You chose not to take this option and hung up the phone saying how appalled you were at the way you were treated.

It is correct the alarms were being tested that morning - a mandatory test beyond our control. No other guest voiced a problem and it was by no means evident to us that you had a problem at the time.

Your only problem was being charged for the room which was correctly reserved for you, confirmed, and occupied by your daughter that night.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

My wife, young daughter and I just returned from a four day visit to NY where we had the privilege of staying in this amazing hotel.

We have had the good fortune of staying at some outstanding hotels around the world and this one stands out for its understated elegance.

The things we really liked:
- The lighting and decor: The dim lighting is calming and complements the old-style, club feel to the hotel
- The attention to detail in the room: an iPad for checking what's on in the city, a Jambox to connect your music collection to, a proper charging station (!), a nice variety of high quality drinks in the mini bar, oragami book and paper for the kids
- A sauna in the bathroom! Nice to bask in the heat after a chilly fall day of walking on the High Line
- The adjacent restaurant (Locanda Verde) is amazing. Try their take on Eggs Benedict (Uova Modenese) for breakfast
- Their staff: sincerely pleasant and helpful
- Sitting with a drink, playing cards by the fireplace in the Drawing Room

The room (we stayed in 515) was also extremely quiet for sleeping. No street noise. No loud HVAC system. Just the sound of my wife's gentle snoring to keep me awake.

I highly recommend this hotel.

A very minor quibble was the lack of an espresso machine in the room. Not really a hardship though to head down to the Drawing Room or the espresso bar at the Locanda Verde.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 515 which was a courtyard-facing room. Very, very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wanta_great_spot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
83 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

The best comparison for me is with the Milestone Hotel in London. The rooms are enormous for NYC, the shower spectacular, the spa is deeply relaxing, the hotel restaurant is currently the number one restaurant on Eater.com, the amenities are amazing. I suspect it is the finest hotel experience in NYC currently, but don't have enough comparisons---just can't imagine the larger hotels can compete with the service for an "ordinary" room.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EWWarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
Lowell Hotel
Lowell Hotel
#240 of 467 in New York City
270 reviews
SoHo
Crosby Street Hotel
Crosby Street Hotel
#4 of 467 in New York City
743 reviews
TriBeCa
Smyth, a Thompson Hotel
Smyth, a Thompson Hotel
#61 of 467 in New York City
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
The NoMad Hotel
The NoMad Hotel
#62 of 467 in New York City
797 reviews
Midtown
Four Seasons Hotel New York
Four Seasons Hotel New York
#259 of 467 in New York City
61 reviews
Upper East Side
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
#236 of 467 in New York City
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenwich Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenwich Hotel

Property: Greenwich Hotel
Address: 377 Greenwich St, New York City, NY 10013-2338
Region: United States > New York > New York City > TriBeCa , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#19 Spa Hotel in New York City
#57 Family Hotel in New York City
#70 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#122 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Greenwich Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Greenwich Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greenwich Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing