We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I can't wait to return!”
Review of Greenwich Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Greenwich Hotel
Ranked #176 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I am a big fan of luxury chain hotels, so I thought twice about booking. However, my friends reassured me that this hotel was really one of a kind. Everything from the staff, decor (understated elegance), amenities and rooms really blew me away. Plus the location was perfect, nothing beats a run along the Hudson River on a gorgeous sunny day. The food at the hotel was fantastic and you can arrange to have your meal in the beautiful outdoor courtyard, really a beautiful setting! The only minor glitch was the bed, the mattresses are very firm. The staff at the hotel assured me on my next visit they would make it more comfortable. I would advise if you prefer a softer mattress to let the staff know prior to your arrival so they can accommodate your preference.

Room Tip: Room overlooking courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelingwkids08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (540)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

181 - 187 of 540 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

My wife and I felt instantly at home when we arrived at this upscale, yet unpretentious, hotel in Tribeca. With 88 rooms, the hotel is big enough that you don't feel the staff cramping your style, but it's still small enough that they can offer plenty of personalized service. Everyone from the desk staff, to the valet and the wait staff was very friendly and helpful - genuine smiles and that certain knowledge of when to appear and, more importantly, when to disappear that marks a true professional. We dined at the hotel's excellent restaurant, Locanda Verde, twice - once for dinner and once for breakfast. Both times we dined in the private courtyard which is available only to guests of the hotel. The food was excellent, the portions were just right, and the setting was relaxed, casual and romantic at the same time. Our room was spacious and comfortable; somewhat bohemian in decor (we happened to like it, but some might find it rather casual for such a high price). The bathroom was very nice, with a great shower featuring both a rain shower head and a regular shower head... both of which you could have on at the same time to really immerse yourself. My wife is already talking about going back - always a key sign of approval!

Room Tip: Our room faced the courtyard and was very quiet and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank LPavarotti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

this is something different from the usual five star hotels in nyc. it gives the feeling of being in a nice house . it is relaxing and friendly. the internal courtyard is a plus and it is good to have breakfast and drinks there. the staff is very friendly and casual but always paying attention to whatever you need. locanda verde their restaurant is worth a visit. the location is strategic. in the same block you can find two nobu restaurant and it is a stone away from wall street. two stones away from greenwhich village and not far from the west village and meatpack district. so it is a good diversification from the madison avenue usual hotels. also battery park is beautiful when it is the right season. rooms are ok and full of charm but do not expect a four season or mandarin oriental kind of room. they are cosy though. pure tribeca style. ps. also great location to explore Brooklyn which is 15 minutes by car away.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Dede F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I finally got my wife to agree to stay somewhere else in New York other than the St Regis and we are both glad. Unfortunately we wont be getting any more star points on our New York trips. On the brighter side, this hotel is fabulous, everything about it.
This hotel is like staying at your long lost (rich) uncles slightly faded country estate or in-town palazzo. It is quietly elegant, luxurious and comfortable in every way. The bathrooms are out of this world. The staff is indulgent, always there when you need them but never apparent. We asked for several items and the people were there immediately to address the items.
The private lobby and courtyard are an oasis in the city and an incredible amenity.
They don't nickel and dime you for all sorts of services and items that should be included in room rates such as these.
The best in the City.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank fmsarchitect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Stayed here a couple of nights alone. Was upgraded to the next category - nice surprise. I loved everything about the place. The room is as you would want your own NY loft apartment to look like. So stylish, so comfortable. Loved the complimentary giant tub of snacks and sweets that you could dive into, and was replenished every day. The bathroom is huge and gorgeous. The bed extremely comfortable. Service was pleasant. The underground pool is quite breathtaking. I'd have to say the only downside is the location - as I am a fan of local public transport it was a bit of a trek to the nearest subway or bus - but other than that I have nothing but praise for this beautiful hotel. And compared with other big name luxury hotels, this one provides excellent value.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank FivestarExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The Greenwich Hotel is Robert Deniro's 88 room Boutique hotel located in Tribeca. Our family stayed there for several days this past July and had the best time ever. The staff is all very friendly and attentive. The hotel is beautifully designed. We were told that it is only 8 years old, but it's as if it's been there since the turn of the century with it's high ceilings, beautiful molding and windows, flooring and doors. The architects and designers really got this one right. The rooms are all decorated differently and I am told they have a really great penthouse. It also has a pool, spa, lounge and health club. We were all really happy!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Terri R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I've stayed at The Greenwich on three different occasions. It is a high end boutique hotel, but it feels very comfortable. Some boutique hotels feel stuffy or uptight. Kudos to the interior designer of this very comfy hotel. The bar/lounge is overstuffed sofas and chairs, multiple beautiful rugs. The staff is attentive, but not high strung attentive. The rooms are beautiful. I could live in the bathroom. Gorgeous teal tile work and cream walls. It feels slightly Moroccan. Love it. Books on bookshelves in each room are different and varied. Overstuffed sofas in the rooms and books on Duchamp with complimentary snacks from the snack bar? Really nice details.

Room Tip: If you want a bathtub, request one. Otherwise you may have just showers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
TriBeCa
Four Seasons Hotel New York Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel New York Down...
#16 of 473 in New York City
408 reviews
SoHo
Crosby Street Hotel
Crosby Street Hotel
#5 of 473 in New York City
806 reviews
TriBeCa
Smyth, a Thompson Hotel
Smyth, a Thompson Hotel
#67 of 473 in New York City
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper East Side
Lowell Hotel
Lowell Hotel
#159 of 473 in New York City
337 reviews
Midtown
Baccarat Hotel & Residences New York
Baccarat Hotel & Residences New ...
#32 of 473 in New York City
455 reviews
Gramercy Park
Gramercy Park Hotel
Gramercy Park Hotel
#98 of 473 in New York City
1,500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenwich Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenwich Hotel

Address: 377 Greenwich St, New York City, NY 10013-2338
Region: United States > New York > New York City > TriBeCa , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#27 Spa Hotel in New York City
#38 Family Hotel in New York City
#118 Business Hotel in New York City
#128 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £510 - £651 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Greenwich Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Greenwich Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greenwich Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing