We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in NYC”
Review of Greenwich Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Greenwich Hotel
Ranked #110 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best hotel in NYC”
Reviewed 2 September 2014

The Greenwich Hotel is truly a gem in Greenwich Village. Exclusive feel with a private drawing room only available to the hotel guests. Their top notch concierge team is excellent at catering to the individual needs of the guest. Complimentary snacks and bottled water in the room are wonderful. Doormen care enough to remember your face, and welcome you back to their hotel with a big smile (and mean it!). The showers are the best, and the neighborhood is understated, safe, and very quiet in the evening. I will go here again, and again, and again...

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    424
    54
    26
    7
    8
See reviews for
61
265
43
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2014

Once again, this hotel exceeds expectations. I think I've narrowed down its reason for success: the staff. This hotel has employed the kindest, most congenial folks around. We were always met with a smile and a genuine interest in our well being. Those at the front desk to those in the courtyard are charming, well mannered individuals. Quite a change from the usual "new yorker" archetype. When we decided to take a walk after dinner and find a place nearby for a late night sweet treat we were suggested at least 6 options, none of this "um, well, i don't know" stuff. As always, the room was immaculate, the rain shower a complete dream. The burger for room service was cooked to perfection. (special shout-out to the french fries...YUM).This time I had the pleasure of using the pool and steam shower at the spa...an absolute must for any stressed out, weary traveller. It was incredibly calming. This unique hotel should be at the top of your list.

Room Tip: Facing the courtyard ensures a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank millicent d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
91 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

My Wife and I stayed at the Greenwich for 3 nights and wished we could have stayed longer. This is a special property that reminds me of staying at your own private club. Service & quality are more important than loud dance/hip hop music and flash. They don't try to nickel and dime you for bottled water, free snacks in the room etc. I want to share my dinning experience at the property and one of the reasons I feel it is so special. The Greenwich has a private hotel guest only lounge and courtyard area, in the courtyard guest can have a semi-private dinning experience with food from Locanda Verde the restaurant that is on the property. We waited till noon that day to make reservations and most of the local restaurants in the area were booked for 8pm, the front desk staff suggested that we have dinner in the courtyard and order food from Locande Verde. I had the impression that the courtyard couldn't be as good as being in the restaurant, that it was a secondary sitting area, basically less special that sitting in the main restaurant, so I accepted a later reservation time at 9pm. Prior to the dinner we decided to visit the courtyard and have a couple drinks, the courtyard at night was amazing, candles everywhere, very tropical/Mediterranean feel and the ratio of staff to guest extremely high. When it came time for dinner we moved into the restaurant and after being spoiled by the courtyard, couldn't stay in the restaurant and asked moved back...guess we were high maintenance but they made us feel special and we moved back....seriously no comparison when it comes to luxury, service and ambiance. Of course the food from Locande Verde was excellent and we spent a ton of time at the courtyard those three nights whether it was for a late night or before dinner drink. The Courtyard is a special perk for hotel guest only. The staff at the hotel found out that we were in NY celebrating my Wife's birthday and we arrived back to the hotel after shopping the day of her birthday to find a bottle champagne (it was Grand Cru too) waiting for us. Too bad we couldn't stay a couple more nights to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary but could only get a long-weekend break. The hotel has a pool on the bottom floor and we waited till our last day to try it, shame because we thoroughly enjoyed it and would have went everyday if possible. The pool is heated and the roof painted in light blues with reclaimed timbers giving the impression that you are swimming at an old villa covered by an ancient pergola surrounded by lounge beds. It must be great in the winter returning back to the hotel cold and wet, going to the pool room and warming up in the sauna or heated pool. With showers and change rooms, his and her steam rooms and staff to provide you warm towels, fresh fruits and beverages....all at no extra charge think this hotel has to be one of the best values in the city. This was our 2nd stay at the hotel but the first time it was one night and less than 24 hrs, never getting the chance to appreciate all that the hotel offered. It took us 3 years to return, it will be a much shorter time to our next visit.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GoldCoastFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenwich, CT
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I am a big fan of luxury chain hotels, so I thought twice about booking. However, my friends reassured me that this hotel was really one of a kind. Everything from the staff, decor (understated elegance), amenities and rooms really blew me away. Plus the location was perfect, nothing beats a run along the Hudson River on a gorgeous sunny day. The food at the hotel was fantastic and you can arrange to have your meal in the beautiful outdoor courtyard, really a beautiful setting! The only minor glitch was the bed, the mattresses are very firm. The staff at the hotel assured me on my next visit they would make it more comfortable. I would advise if you prefer a softer mattress to let the staff know prior to your arrival so they can accommodate your preference.

Room Tip: Room overlooking courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingwkids08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenwich, CT
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My wife and I felt instantly at home when we arrived at this upscale, yet unpretentious, hotel in Tribeca. With 88 rooms, the hotel is big enough that you don't feel the staff cramping your style, but it's still small enough that they can offer plenty of personalized service. Everyone from the desk staff, to the valet and the wait staff was very friendly and helpful - genuine smiles and that certain knowledge of when to appear and, more importantly, when to disappear that marks a true professional. We dined at the hotel's excellent restaurant, Locanda Verde, twice - once for dinner and once for breakfast. Both times we dined in the private courtyard which is available only to guests of the hotel. The food was excellent, the portions were just right, and the setting was relaxed, casual and romantic at the same time. Our room was spacious and comfortable; somewhat bohemian in decor (we happened to like it, but some might find it rather casual for such a high price). The bathroom was very nice, with a great shower featuring both a rain shower head and a regular shower head... both of which you could have on at the same time to really immerse yourself. My wife is already talking about going back - always a key sign of approval!

Room Tip: Our room faced the courtyard and was very quiet and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LPavarotti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

this is something different from the usual five star hotels in nyc. it gives the feeling of being in a nice house . it is relaxing and friendly. the internal courtyard is a plus and it is good to have breakfast and drinks there. the staff is very friendly and casual but always paying attention to whatever you need. locanda verde their restaurant is worth a visit. the location is strategic. in the same block you can find two nobu restaurant and it is a stone away from wall street. two stones away from greenwhich village and not far from the west village and meatpack district. so it is a good diversification from the madison avenue usual hotels. also battery park is beautiful when it is the right season. rooms are ok and full of charm but do not expect a four season or mandarin oriental kind of room. they are cosy though. pure tribeca style. ps. also great location to explore Brooklyn which is 15 minutes by car away.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dede F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coral Gables, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I finally got my wife to agree to stay somewhere else in New York other than the St Regis and we are both glad. Unfortunately we wont be getting any more star points on our New York trips. On the brighter side, this hotel is fabulous, everything about it.
This hotel is like staying at your long lost (rich) uncles slightly faded country estate or in-town palazzo. It is quietly elegant, luxurious and comfortable in every way. The bathrooms are out of this world. The staff is indulgent, always there when you need them but never apparent. We asked for several items and the people were there immediately to address the items.
The private lobby and courtyard are an oasis in the city and an incredible amenity.
They don't nickel and dime you for all sorts of services and items that should be included in room rates such as these.
The best in the City.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fmsarchitect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
Lowell Hotel
Lowell Hotel
#223 of 468 in New York City
289 reviews
SoHo
Crosby Street Hotel
Crosby Street Hotel
#5 of 468 in New York City
761 reviews
TriBeCa
Smyth, a Thompson Hotel
Smyth, a Thompson Hotel
#61 of 468 in New York City
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Four Seasons Hotel New York
Four Seasons Hotel New York
#221 of 468 in New York City
110 reviews
Midtown
The St. Regis New York
The St. Regis New York
#34 of 468 in New York City
680 reviews
Upper East Side
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
#243 of 468 in New York City
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenwich Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenwich Hotel

Property: Greenwich Hotel
Address: 377 Greenwich St, New York City, NY 10013-2338
Region: United States > New York > New York City > TriBeCa , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#23 Spa Hotel in New York City
#57 Family Hotel in New York City
#90 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#122 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Greenwich Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Greenwich Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greenwich Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing