We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not just for kids!”
Review of FAO Schwarz - CLOSED

FAO Schwarz
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This world-famous toy store is a great place for kids to browse, play - and of course, shop.
Denver, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
138 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Not just for kids!”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Spend a couple of hours in FAO Schwarz and you will wish you were a kid again. Sweets shoppe is great fun for all. We toured all of the floors and had a lot of fun. If you saw the movie "BIG" with Tom Hanks you will recognize the BIG piano and the fortune teller machine ZOLTAR. Remember if you are Grandparents what you buy you have to carry the rest of the day while visiting the city-LOL! I highly recommend a visit to FAO Schwarz if you are in New York City.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Randy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

1,429 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    820
    424
    131
    35
    19
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Didn't live up to expectation”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I prefer Hamley's in London which is a far better toy store. FAO has lost a lot of its character by moving and the over size piano is disappointing. I won't go again.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin2206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
115 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great way to spend kids energy!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My toddler didn't really know what to do with so many toys! She had a blast picking them and sitting them together, looking for more, she was just amazed by it, as was I. It is very nice, friendly place, close to everything!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank samizuqu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
103 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Take a Tour of the Store”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

for a small fee you can tour the store before it opens and have breakfast with a Toy Soldier. The family can fill up a treat bag in the sweets shoppe and dance on the big piano.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Melissa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas TX
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pool Lego Display but otherwise very dissapointing”
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Sadly this store didn't live up to my high expectations! I was expecting a Santos's workshop old world charm dream toy store and what we found was a mediocre toys r us with a fancy name on it. The ornaments which I always buy during travels were almost triple what the cost was at Macy's. The layout was pretty good- and I loved the cool Lego display but I was bummed that it don't have more cool hands on areas and more charm. The bathroom was gross and every surface in the store was sticky! They need someone to go around wiping things down on an hourly basis to make sure the sticky residue of little ones doesn't go home with you on a overpriced toy or stuffed animal.


They really need to add some charm and cooler inventory to live up to the name of this historic shop!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Susan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed FAO Schwarz also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing