We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Taking Mom to New York” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of FAO Schwarz - CLOSED

FAO Schwarz
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This world-famous toy store is a great place for kids to browse, play - and of course, shop.
Dalhart, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Taking Mom to New York”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Loved visiting FAO Schwarz, my older sister and I played chopsticks on the "big piano" it was a blast. A great memory for always. Had fun picking out things to bring home for my daughters.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank RWJ_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

1,429 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    820
    424
    131
    35
    19
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Macon, Georgia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“LOVE this store!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

This store is truly AMAZING!!! It is huge and has soooo many items you can purchase, not just toys. I felt like a kid in a candy store!! Would recommend visiting if you have the time!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Arose531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poway, CA
Level Contributor
107 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Worth a stop, even for adults”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

My kids didn't go in thinking they were going to get much or even anything (and they didn't), but the whole family enjoyed about 40 minutes looking through all the unique toys and candy. Honestly, they'd rather have spent my money at the iconic Apple Store next door, but that' stir another trip!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank craiginsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sugar Land
Level Contributor
384 reviews
125 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 314 helpful votes
“fun for kids of all ages”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

What kid can resist a visit to FAO Schwartz? My teen loved exploring the beautiful stuffed animals and imaginative toys. And yes, she'd seen Big, so had to tap along on the Big piano. This is right by Central park and a short walk to the Rockerfeller center and MoMA, so worth a visit.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank sugarlandmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Brilliant toy store”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

This was an amazing find in a great location next to Central Park. Initially the building is deceptive and it's not until you get to the first floor that you are aware of the size and choices available. There is every toy imaginable and the opportunity to pose with the piano from Big!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sibylvanity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed FAO Schwarz also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing