We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“hotel 91” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hotel 91

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Hotel 91
Ranked #341 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Naples, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“hotel 91”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

Very nice and clean.
Kind staff.
Confortable and very well located for bus and subway.
Staff can give you informations about everything.
I suggest this hotel who wants a cheap and clean hotel in manhattan

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Volagratis

Helpful?
1 Thank agostino c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    327
    180
    58
    37
See reviews for
166
242
51
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

I stayed here October 2012 with my husband, 2 kids and friend. We were stranded by Hurricane Sandy, so our stay was extended by 5 days whilst waiting for new flights home. The hotel extended the stay free of charge. Due to no electricity because of the storms the security doors couldn't be locked. Staff took it in turns to sit in the downstairs corridor to keep everyone and everything safe. They spent 12 hour shifts keeping look out. They opened their linen cupboards to us, as well as their vending machines - again no charge. The team that were there during the storm stayed there for the next week. I cannot fault any member of the team looking after us. The two rooms we occupied were spotless, the staff friendly and helpful. This is a budget hotel with a heart. I will stay here again without question. We would also like to thank the team here (and by god they are a team) for all their help during our 10 day stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

I have to say that I was quite surpreised to find out that this hotel was really not bad at all!!
I was skeptical at the beginning because it is located in Chinatown and because I read some reviews talking about the noise of tge railway.
The hotel is clean and simple, close to subway, 5 minute walk from Little Italy and even if my room was ob the side of the building close to railway it was still very silent because there are double windows in the rooms!
I definitely recommend this place!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vero87nica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

Having read the reviews of this hotel and taken some comments with a pinch if salt we decided to give it a go. On arrival the desk staff were impolite and disinterested in their customers, but okay you don't stay for the staff.

We eventually located our room which was neat and clean but very tiny with only one dim light bulb in the hall way. So I opened the curtains to try to get some day light in, only to find that the railway track was right outside the window. The noise from the train was deafening as it went by ever 5 minutes. I saw the reviews about the train line from a previous visitor but I did not heed then, please be aware that is really is bad if you are unlucky enough to be assigned a room on that side of the hotel.

We did not stay, so cannot comment further about the hotel, but when we checked out within half an hour of arriving the reception staff did not seem at all surprised and did not even ask why we were leaving, I guess that tells you a lot about the numbers of people who will have done the same thing before.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruthierue75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

I stayed at this hotel along with some friends. When we got there, our expectations were ruined because the lobby of this hotel were under construction. The lift could not carry more than three persons with big luggage. The staffs were not friendly and the rooms were creepy somehow.

What I loved about this hotel, even a bit creepy, the rooms were nice and big for NYC hotel. Basically the beds were comfortable and very clean.
But the worst part was when we opened the window I got the bridge and the noise. It was very disturbing. The bathroom was average and could be counted as clean.

If you try to find a basic hotel with cheap price then this hotel is recommended. As long as you do not travel with older persons because they may have problems to use the stair instead.

Room Tip: Room beside the lobby hotel, the one who faces the street, is so big and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Astary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeland, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

We stayed there in September, 2013. This was our 2nd. time. The first time in 2012 was okay. This stay the Front door lock to our room was broken. The toilet didn't work. The Air Conditioning didn't work. Cound'nt close a window. Smelled exhause fuels from cars on Manhattan bridge in our room. They couldn't fix it. We asked for another room. Front dest lady said no rooms available. Service repairman came, couldn't fix most problems. He spoke to the front desk. A room NEXT door to this room magically was available. Front desk Lady 'Lier, lier, pants on fire.
No closet in this room. Put your underware and such on a self. We will never stay at this hotel again. Don't take a chance on this Hotel from hell.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
147 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

We do I must say book this hotel purely on price..
Nothing is ever too much trouble.. It really is worth every dollar .. Towels are luvly.. Staff are really friendly & can't do eno..
As an avid runner .. Running over manhattan bridge & back to the hotel via Brooklyn bridge is an experience I will never forget..
Subway two blocks away.. The F line.. 3 blocks away a bar 169 was amazing .. $4 a drink & the food.. Unreal❤️

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nailparlour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#230 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,504 reviews
Flatiron District
Chelsea Inn - 17th Street
Chelsea Inn - 17th Street
#428 of 467 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Chelsea
Riff Chelsea
Riff Chelsea
#434 of 467 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#400 of 467 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
Gramercy Park
Hotel 17
Hotel 17
#264 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,336 reviews
Upper West Side
Morningside Inn
Morningside Inn
#435 of 467 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel 91? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel 91

Property: The Hotel 91
Address: 91 E Broadway, New York City, NY 10002-7014
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chinatown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hotel 91 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new 70 room smoke free hotel in Manhattan’s vibrant Lower East Side. Chinatown, Little Italy, SoHo, Wall Street, and other major NYC attractions are only steps away. The Hotel is easily accessible by car, taxi, and public transportation. Hotel 91 is the perfect synergy between luxurious downtown boutique and outstanding value; offering reasonably sized guest rooms and room accommodations in a bargain for business and leisure travelers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Hotel 91 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
91 Hotel New York City
Hotel 91

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing