We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Trains trains!!!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Hotel 91

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Hotel 91
Ranked #340 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Trains trains!!!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

The service was good, the hotel is clean and very good service for the price, but it is located next to the bridge that takes the trains from Manhattan to Brooklyn and you can hear the trains passing every few minutes all night...

I would still suggest this place for anyone travelling on a budget

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Safaneh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    336
    181
    59
    37
See reviews for
169
246
51
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed in this hotel and were quite pleased with it. It was in the heart of Chinatown and close to little Italy. There was a train close to the hotel which was noisy at night, but we were prepared for it and brought earplugs.
Hotel was clean and the staff were very friendly!
The subway was about a 10 min walk away.
Well worth the price!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kbon1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canaan, Connecticut
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

Clean, very friendly, helpful, met a lot of travelers, we all were very happy and surprised with hotel.
Did not like their instant coffee, so across the street in bakery got great coffee. 3 blocks away a great neighborhood diner that took great care of us. Enjoyed this hotel very much, will stay again. A little bit of a train ride to get there, but not bad. You must realize that you ARE in China town and we loved it!

Room Tip: Get a room away from subway over pass!e
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Delores5738
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A small town in Northwest Washington
Level Contributor
247 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

Positives- two blocks to the F line of the subway. Very friendly and helpful staff. They have a lounge with WiFi, coffee etc.
It is about a twenty minute walk to Ground Zero Memorial, and then another few to the Bull at Wall Street and then Battery Park for Statue of Liberty (or free on the Staton Island Ferry).
The rooms are small, but for under a $100 on Manhatten- no worries. It is clean, but it is a partial room service by the maids. We were close to the lounge, so we had Wi-Fi in the room. We had TV troubles, but they fixed it when asked. We saw on Reviews about the train. There is an elevated one that runs by the hotel. We heard it, but it wasn't loud enough to bother us. Easy quick check in. Would stay in again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank chumsockeyesalmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
190 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

I chose the Hotel 91 in New York's Chinatown for 2 main reasons; 1) it would be fun to stay in Chinatown, and 2) the nightly price was very nice. On either side of the entry are Chinese food stall style stores selling everything from fruits and vegetables to things that shouldn't be for human consumption. And knowing how filthy and foul-smelling Chinatown can be, I expected the worst from the Hotel 91. Upon opening the entry doors, you kind of step into a different world than the one you left on the sidewalk. Bright lights, new tiling, new paint...cleanliness! The lobby is actually on the 2nd floor. Check-in was super fast and the hostess was very friendly. Going up to my room on the 5th floor took a little while because the elevators are very slow. Upon opening the room door, I was very pleasantly surprised by how clean and put together the room was. The bathroom was recently renovated entirely in floor to ceiling tile, a new vanity, gleaming white tub with a curtain that was clean and does not get drawn in on you when taking a shower. The room is somewhat small, but this is New York. The bed was very comfortable. Free WiFi internet is available as is wired internet in each room. My view was of the Manhattan Bridge, which was so close, it seemed like you could touch it. There are several subway lines that run along the Manhattan Bridge 24 hours a day (it slows down noticeably after 9PM.) Being a New Yorker, the noise and the rumble didn't bother me. In fact, it brought back memories of the B train on 86th street and how it would make the entire block rumble when it went by. Those not used to this type of noise may find it difficult to sleep. However, the window had 2 panes of thick glass with an 18 inch airspace plus a noise reducing drape to help absorb a lot of the noise and rumble. The subway (F line) is about 4 blocks away. You are within walking distance of Mott Street (the traditional hub of Chinatown), Little Italy, and Soho. There are plenty of restaurants in the vicinity. The problem is that most DO NOT speak English. I found a wonderful restaurant 2 blocks away (Yung Sun) but couldn't pre-order my pick-up because nobody there spoke a word of English. This is a wonderful, wonderful hotel that has everything I look for in a hotel; clean bed, clean bathroom, nice linens, good location, friendly staff, and a competitive price.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on a low floor because the elevator is quite slow. Also, try to get a room NOT on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roccoz18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comfort, Texas
Level Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

I travel to NYC several times a year on business, and always choose one of several less-expensive hotels, of which there are several very good ones. This time, I decided to try Hotel 91 to see if I might want to add it to the roster. Sadly, I will not be coming back.

If there is one great review I can give it, it's the very friendly staff. Close on their heels are the beds - I had a great night's sleep. (Of course, one person's great bed is another's backache.) They have free wireless that's supposedly in the lobby, but I had no problem getting it in my room. Where this hotel fell short was on location and maintenance.

Unless you are willing to walk a long way, particularly in a New York winter, there is only one nearby line (F). It's not a bad one, but it's not always a quick jaunt to a connection with more options. There aren't a lot of good food choices in the immediate vicinity, either, particularly late-night. But the worst thing about this hotel, the deal killer for me, is the stench. Whether you're in the elevator or in a room, you're in a constant nose-curdling stink like someone dumped a bottle of cheap men's cologne on the rug to cover other smells. Those other smells are the usual musty sort you get in older New York hotels - mildly unpleasant, but not stinky like whatever they're using to try to cover it up. I also had a lot of trouble with the electrical plugs in the room, half of which didn't work.

By the way, you may see photos of the rooms or lobby on some travel sites. They are not accurate to what you're getting. The rooms are quite small and (except for the beds) much dimmer and more run down. I would not call the lobby welcoming.

It's probably a much nicer hotel in the summer, when you can open the window to air a room out and it's no big deal to walk to another neighborhood or subway line. But given that there are better options you can get for a similar price most of the time, I just don't see a reason to give this one a second shot.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not near the above-ground train. It didn't bother me, but light sleepers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Daemonaquila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Naples, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

Very nice and clean.
Kind staff.
Confortable and very well located for bus and subway.
Staff can give you informations about everything.
I suggest this hotel who wants a cheap and clean hotel in manhattan

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Volagratis

Helpful?
1 Thank agostino c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#228 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,510 reviews
Flatiron District
Chelsea Inn - 17th Street
Chelsea Inn - 17th Street
#426 of 467 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#387 of 467 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Riff Chelsea
Riff Chelsea
#434 of 467 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Gramercy Park
Hotel 17
Hotel 17
#268 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,346 reviews
Upper West Side
Belnord Hotel
Belnord Hotel
#302 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel 91? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel 91

Property: The Hotel 91
Address: 91 E Broadway, New York City, NY 10002-7014
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chinatown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hotel 91 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new 70 room smoke free hotel in Manhattan’s vibrant Lower East Side. Chinatown, Little Italy, SoHo, Wall Street, and other major NYC attractions are only steps away. The Hotel is easily accessible by car, taxi, and public transportation. Hotel 91 is the perfect synergy between luxurious downtown boutique and outstanding value; offering reasonably sized guest rooms and room accommodations in a bargain for business and leisure travelers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Hotel 91 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
91 Hotel New York City
Hotel 91

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing