We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top in world.”

The Metropolitan Museum of Art
Book In Advance
More Info
US$39.00*
and up
Metropolitan Museum of Art Tour with Skip-the-line Access
More Info
US$59.00*
and up
Renegade Metropolitan Museum of Art Tour with Skip-the-line Access
More Info
US$79.00*
and up
Private Family Tour at Metropolitan Museum of Art
Ranked #3 of 1,103 things to do in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: At New York City's most visited museum and attraction, you will experience over 5,000 years of art from around the world. The Met is for anyone as a source of inspiration, insight and understanding. You can learn, escape, play, dream, discover, connect.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Baby buggy parking, Food available for purchase
Jefferson
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Top in world.”
Reviewed 20 September 2012

This is one of the best museums in the world. I could spend days here but unfortunately had only hours. This collection is wonderful and the exhibits make them even better. This is a must see while visiting NYC.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank sistravel557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43,487 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34,925
    7,031
    1,247
    203
    81
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Absolutely Breathtaking !!”
Reviewed 20 September 2012

My spouse and I visited the museum starting at opening on Sunday morning and we left at closing. We had planned to stay a couple of hours and ended up spending the day, it was that captivating. We also took a lunch break at the restaurant and it serves excellent food, well portioned, excellent service, and a good wine list. The restaurant is bright and airy, comfortable and elegant. We both enjoyed it.

As for the museum itself, how can I begin to describe the pleasure of spending the day within its walls?

The front gallery is Egypt and it is Egypt including reconstructed rooms, etc. The European gallery has a wealth of great displays, and many items are in-situ in rebuilt rooms using all the original wallpaper, etc. It was exactly like visiting the actual villas and palaces of Europe. The armours gallery was breathtaking. The art collections, the paintings, the statues, the rugs, everything was stunning even more that everything you see in genuine; reproductions used to complete an armour for example are labeled as such so there is nothing deceiving in the museum. Unlike too many museums, there is not that much religious art in this one.

They allow flash-less photography, many artists are there sketching the artwork, the security is very present and they do inspect purses, backpacks. They will instruct people not to touch, not to use a flash, to remove and leave behind a large backpack, on how to carry a small backpack when around the exhibits. They are also very knowledgeable and will guide you correctly.

We will return to the Metropolitan Museum as we would like to revisit many collections and view the ones we did not; also visit The Cloisters museum and gardens.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank LikeABigPizzaPie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“MoMA”
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Wonderful museum - lots to see. Too many rooms to count. You need to be specific about choosing what you want to see as there is so much. A treasure trove.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mudge2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“always great”
Reviewed 20 September 2012

My husband and I live in NY so we go every few months and there is always something great to see. TIP: the entry fee is a "suggestion" so whenever we go, we pay what we feel like but not ever the full astronomical fee :)

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank indiegirl25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“The best part of my NY trip!!”
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Is Fascinating! If you have to choose a major museum to visit while in NY, you can't go wrong with the MET. A great collection of "encyclopedic art" as they call it. I liked the Ancient Egypt part, the Middle ages armors and of course the Rembrants Van Goghs all around the museum. Museum is so big that is hard to see all of it, so I did the "director's tour" and worked really cool because we managed to admire only the most represantive pieces of the collection.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank J-L-1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Metropolitan Museum of Art also viewed

 

Been to The Metropolitan Museum of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing