We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really plan your trip”

The Metropolitan Museum of Art
Experience for Yourself
More Info
US$39.00*
and up
Metropolitan Museum of Art Tour with Skip-the-line Access
Ranked #3 of 1,098 things to do in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: At New York City's most visited museum and attraction, you will experience over 5,000 years of art from around the world. The Met is for anyone as a source of inspiration, insight and understanding. You can learn, escape, play, dream, discover, connect.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Baby buggy parking, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Really plan your trip”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

The collection and the special works up for that month were really good which made it pretty enjoyable. I probably had more fun MoMa though. It was quite a lot of fun and i stress again that you really must figure out what you really want to see. if you wing it then be prepared to spend a fair amount of time there.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank varun22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42,891 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34,427
    6,955
    1,230
    201
    78
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Art, Art and more Art”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I am a museum lover so I was thrilled to be able to spend over five hours with the likes of Van Gogh, Renoir, Armor from the 1500's, etc. I could spend days in this place. It is a must see in my opinion.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This was immense. The Egyptian collection is amazing. You could probably spend a few days here and still not see everything. I was very, very impressed with the Met. Much more so than AMNH.

More details on my travel blog: http://www.travelswithstinky.com/

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dagony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jarrow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Modern Art”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Worth seeing for the Andy Worhol and Monet sections. The rest consists of bizarre images which claim to be art. To be fair , I cannot see how a 60 min video of a guy sinking in to a pavement is art , but "HEY" I must be either uneducated or realistict.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank geoffrey c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
432 reviews
126 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Was not as good as I expected”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Saw some paintings I recognized as well as artists works, however, I have seen more in local galleries for a lot less money. I was impressed with the children's 'Hands On' activities but since I had no children with me it was a mute observation. If you want my advice ... Make sure you review all of the many museum venues in the city and be sure that the MOMA will be exactly your cup of tea.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Storyteller-N03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Metropolitan Museum of Art also viewed

 

Been to The Metropolitan Museum of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing