We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Smokin Good Time” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Smoke Jazz Club

Smoke Jazz Club
Reserve with OpenTable
Smoke Jazz Club is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #559 of 13,481 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$25
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Upper West Side
Cross street: 106th Street
Transit: 1 train to 103rd Street and M104 bus
San Mateo CA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A Smokin Good Time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

For jazz lovers this is a departure from the grittier LES joints. Classy sums it up fine. On the UWS Smoke has a solid house band to chill to. The service is what you expect for that part of town too. However the real attraction is the food and drinks. A very nice wine selection with NY pricing and great house cocktails. Southern cooking defined!!! We had the fried chicken Brussel sprouts Mac and cheese and jambalaya. Nothing disappointed.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MrGeckoSays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    130
    42
    19
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
93 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“The real deal...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

Now that's what I call jamming and real Jazz...Love going to Smoke...not only is the music quality outstanding, the vibe is real. Lots of musicians stop by after their own gigs other places and start jamming...the service is great and the atmosphere worth the trip, wherever you are!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank danicg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good jazz brunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

The food is pretty good, the drinks are very good, but what you are really going for is the live jazz. Annette St. John and her Trio are the brunch show offering, and they are WONDERFUL!!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank PhilineV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
120 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Every Jazz lover would enjoy this place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

This place should be definitely added to the bucket list when jazz spots of NYC are concerned.
3 sets pear night of great jazz ( first starts at 8:00 PM- last at 10:45).
2 drinks minimum ( about $20 per person) end up being a cover charge. Great music - but you have to quiet while the sets are on.
There is usually a bend that plays after main jazz sets -in late hours - that doesn't require cover charge and usually provide great vibe and music.
The only reason why there is no 5 stars from me - the service is often very slow and inefficient.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank danolear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“My first Jazz club experience in NYC”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

My wife and I were in NYC in March (2014) and I chose SJC because Harold Maeburn was playing piano on the night we went to the club. The performance was average but the food experience was terrible

First, the table we were seated at was too small to handle the two meals we chose. Second, I wanted iced tea with my meal and the waiter brought me a six ounce glass of tea so with the ice I had about three ounces of tea. When I quickly drank the tea and I asked for a refill and we were informed by the waiter refills were not free??? ($3.50 for approximately three ounces of tea). So, I chose to drink tap water with my meal because the meal hadn't arrived yet.

I really don't think the size of the club warrants serving a full-course meal but, I understand bills have to be paid and the artist(s) don't work for free. I expected more from the song selection based on the billing so that's why the group only gets an average rating.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank willis h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Smoke Jazz Club also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Smoke Jazz Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing