We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, personnel is very helpful”

General Grant National Memorial
Book In Advance
More Info
US$38.35*
and up
New York City All Around Town Hop-on Hop-off Tour
More Info
US$92.65*
and up
Full Day Ultimate Manhattan Guided Sightseeing Tour
More Info
US$389.00*
and up
New York Helicopter Tour: Manhattan, Brooklyn and Staten Island
Ranked #155 of 1,101 things to do in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The final resting place of President Ulysses Simpson Grant and his wife, Julia, is the largest mausoleum in North America. It testifies to a people's gratitude for the man who ended the bloodiest conflict in American history as Commanding General of the Union Army and then, as President of the United States, strove to heal a nation after a civil war and make rights for all citizens a reality.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Montevideo
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Nice place, personnel is very helpful”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

The place is nice, right by the Hudson river and not crowded at all. There are 2 small rooms on each side to see the different flags and maps of the wars in which Gral. Grant fought, and stairs to access the lower level in order to see the tombs.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Maria Lucia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    102
    34
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Albany, MS
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Beautiful Monument”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Located in a pretty area by the Hudson River. Beautiful on the outside. Has strange hours. When we first came up it was closed at 345p but opened back up at 4p. We just walked over to Riverside Church until it reopened. The employee there was nice but besides him we were the only 2 people there. It is beautiful and a mausoleum but it was too dark for me. Could not wait to get out.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank wpdaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Beautiful building”
Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

This is a lovely spot and the burial
Site of one of our Presidents. The location is wonderful and worth a look. The visitor center is a bit lacking but this is a place worthy of a visit.

Helpful?
Thank Natsfan24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dardenne Prairie, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A surprising oasis in Manhattan”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

The monument itself is a quick stop - take a few minutes to absorb the peace and quiet inside the massive marble building, then a few more to stroll around the outside and take some pictures. We didn't get to see the visitor center, but Grant is an important and controversial figure in our history, so if you're not already familiar with him, I would allow time for that.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank phelsuma90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 320 helpful votes
“Beautiful Memorial”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We hopped off of the tour bus at this stop as a spur of the moment visit and were glad we did. The memorial and grounds are beautiful, and the building is opened to visitors every couple of hours. Although not a large building, the architecture is impressive and the area that houses the tombs of General Grant and his wife is beautiful. There are some historic flags and limited memorabilia there as well. The area around the monument is beautiful as well. This is free and only takes 15-30 minutes to see. Don't forget to walk across the street to Riverside Church. It is open for viewing, and the architecture in there is stunning.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank deskclerk102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed General Grant National Memorial also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to General Grant National Memorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing