We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very, very good hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel
Ranked #244 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Gent, Belgium
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very, very good hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

very nice people at the reception, kind, friendly and helpful, giving the right information about restaurants, places to go to etc. The rooms were very nice and clean as also the bathroom. Our stay was marvellous. A place to go back to. Breakfast was not too special as all was self service and given on plastic plates, cups and knifes. It would be nice if in the future, normal plates and knifes were used.

Room Tip: use the Best Westren web site to book the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nayibe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    432
    527
    148
    25
    23
See reviews for
295
429
89
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2011

We had our room flood in the middle of the night from a broken valve in the bathroom. We couldn't use our bathroom for about four to five hours not to mention our belonging where soaked. The night staff lacked any empathy for the situation. Management was very unhelpful and treated us poorly since we booked with expedia rather then with them directly. We will be staying elsewhere on our next trip to NYC.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cadreaminginfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWBOWERY, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2011
Good Day Mr. Cadreaminginfl,

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Our goal is to provide excellent service to our guest's. I would like for you to please contact me via email pachecombwny@gmail.com or directly at (212)925-1177, so that we can discuss this matter.

Again, pease accept my sincere apologies and hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Best Regards,

Melissa Pacheco
Front Desk Supervisor
Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Ontario
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

My husband and I have stayed at this hotel several times and alway return here whenever we are in Manhattan. We tend to spend most of our time while in New York in the SOHO/Greenwich/NoLita area and find this hotel to be in a perfect location.

Lots of amenities within steps from the hotel - restaurants, shopping, subway, drug store, liquor store etc. The hotel has always been clean, the staff always friendly.

We are returning to this hotel next month and this will be our 5th stay here.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank warmst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2011

My sisters and I went to NYC for a few days and I booked this hotel by naming mybown price. Although the website clearly states that all rooms are based upon double occupancy, I figured we would be able to get a cot for the nights we were there. When we arrived the very friendly and helpful staff informed us that they didn't have any available cots, but they offered us the opportunity to upgrade to a King suite, which had a King bed, a pull-out couch, a dining area with fridge and microwave, as well as two flat screen televisions. While the upgrade was not free, it was very reasonable for the additional space and amenities. This room was huge and clean! The staff was exceptionally friendly and informative. The location of the hotel was fantastic. My sisters and I all agreed that should any of us return to NYC in the future, this hotel would be our first choice.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KMet_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enterprise, Alabama
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

We had an great stay at Bowery Hanbee Hotel. The room was very clean and bed was fine. The airco in the room was pretty noisy so we had to turn it off through the night. The location of the hotel is excellent. Just a couple of minutes walk to the subway which brings you easy to the another parts of NY. What we didn't like is that the hotel charge for storage of the bags. We went just for 2 ours to the city after we checked out and they charged us $5 for each bag. It's a pity, because normally every hotel provide this complimentary.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sl249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2011

I always try and get a room here whenever I am in NYC. In a great vibrant neighborhood. Comfy rooms, big compared to the rest of NYC and usually under $150. I like the hardwood floors and flat screen TV's. Big bathrooms too. Very clean. Nice people work here too. Free breakfast. Convenient to the subway, Chinatown, and Little Italy.

Room Tip: The prices usually drop on the BW website - make an early reservation and then check back a few time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Moondoggie61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2011

After spending a short time in NYC and a 6-day-east coast tour with an American Touragency we (4 adoults) staied 1 night in this Hotel. I booked it on the booking.com.
The Hotel has a good area at the board of Chinatown and Little Italy. You can reach easily every corner of New York City with the subway from there. The staff is very polite, helpful and nice. Our room was a quite small, but very clean with comfortable beds and it is worth its prise.
I am looking forward to going back!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BudapestTunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chinatown
Comfort Inn Manhattan Bridge
Comfort Inn Manhattan Bridge
#320 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel Mulberry
Hotel Mulberry
#182 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
Chinatown
The Leon Hotel
The Leon Hotel
#144 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Sohotel
Sohotel
#283 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,197 reviews
Chinatown
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Downtown East
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#206 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Midtown
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Squa...
#104 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel
Address: 231 Grand Street, New York City, NY 10013-4246
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chinatown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#186 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#192 Family Hotel in New York City
#223 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel is located in the heart of Chinatown. It is a modern seven story non-smoking hotel with 102 guest rooms. Many of the guest rooms overlook the streets of Chinatown. The property serves a complimentary continental breakfast daily. For the guests convenience all rooms have hairdryers, iron and ironing board, coffeemakers, clock radios, telephones with voice mail and in-room safes. The hotel offers free wireless and hardwired high speed Internet ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western New York City
New York City Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing