We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location to see Lower Manhattan”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel
Ranked #267 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Location to see Lower Manhattan”
Reviewed 1 September 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 2 days in August 2011. This hotel is situated between Little Itaty and Chinatown so restuarant selection is plentiful. The hotel lobby is located on the 2nd floor and normally you need to take an elevator. We chose this hotel to access free wireless internet along with breakfast. There are muffins, bagels, toast, fruit, DIY waffles, along with juice and coffee for breakfast near the lobby. The sitting area for breakfast is small but you could eat in the lobby sitting area too. The hotel lobby staff was friendly and helpful in providing directions to various attractions. Our room on the 8th floor had 2 double beds for 4 of us. We noted that in our research for a hotel in New York, most hotel rooms are smaller than what we expected. This was true but the room was clean and nicely appointed, meaning that furniture, beds, etc, were less than 5 years old.

From this location, you can walk to Wall Street, Soho., Brooklyn Bridge and the ferry that goes to the Statue of Liberty. If you wish to take the subway, the entrance is located close by.

I would recommend this hotel to others looking to stay in Lower Manhattan.

Room Tip: Join the hotel chain's frequent or rewards program. Upgrades are sometimes available for its me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank needmoretime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    453
    570
    163
    32
    29
See reviews for
331
456
93
119
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

Me and my partner actually booked this hotel for 20 guests for our wedding. As we had stayed here before we decided to stick with what we new especially as we were flying all our family out to stay here too, the staff were very helpful and prompt from months before we arrived to during our actual stay there, the rooms are a bit pricey, but very modern and clean. Being directly in the middle of china town it can be a bit off putting from the outside, but is actually a very good location to be in the same sort of distance to all the attractions of manhattan, there is a lovely bar just 2mins walk to your left out of the hotel called o'neils as the hotel doesn't have one. The breakfast is also great to fill you up before a day of sight seeing. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants reliability of somewhere clean, safe and friendly! But if you want somewhere cheaper then it can be found, but then there's always a risk! Usually you get what you pay for!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha9841
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

We arrived and without asking were upgraded to a bigger room. And it really was bigger even for New York standards! The bed was big and comfortable, bathroom small but very clean. We had a great view over the busy Chinatown streets and watched the hustle and bustle go by. The noice was noticeable, but hey, you're in the Big Apple! Take some earplugs and you'll be fine.
Breakfast is a bit of a letdown, but plenty of other options in the neighborhood.
Within easy walking distance to the subway and Little Italy. We will definitely come back.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dutchgirl70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

Great hotel with free wifi, nice room and warm bathroom floor, handy to everything. Nice to have free breakfast but the breakfast area is too small. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

I stayed here for a long, hot, humid mid-August weekend. It is right in the heart of Chinatown and Little Italy. There is a lot going on around, with no shortage of bars and restaurants in both of those areas, Rivington Street, Spring Street and the East Village all in walking distance. The room is clean and modern with a large safe in the bottom of the wardrobe. It is a Best Western, so don't expect lots of frills, but as a good value (for Manhattan) place to sleep, it rates highly! Beware of a $5 charge for storing your bag when you check out though.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank internetplumber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Temecula, Ca
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2011

Great location ,cost effective sandwiched between Soho, little italy,noltia,and Chinatown, small but clean rooms ,decent breakfast, good staff,close to the Manhattan & Brooklyn bridges & the Financial district!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tik15123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gent, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

very nice people at the reception, kind, friendly and helpful, giving the right information about restaurants, places to go to etc. The rooms were very nice and clean as also the bathroom. Our stay was marvellous. A place to go back to. Breakfast was not too special as all was self service and given on plastic plates, cups and knifes. It would be nice if in the future, normal plates and knifes were used.

Room Tip: use the Best Westren web site to book the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nayibe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chinatown
Hotel Mulberry
Hotel Mulberry
#208 of 466 in New York City
585 reviews
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Manhattan
Edge Hotel
Edge Hotel
#46 of 466 in New York City
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
The Leon Hotel
The Leon Hotel
#200 of 466 in New York City
388 reviews
Chinatown
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Downtown East
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#244 of 466 in New York City
357 reviews
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#395 of 466 in New York City
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel

Property: Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel
Address: 231 Grand Street, New York City, NY 10013-4246
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chinatown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#181 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#187 Family Hotel in New York City
#217 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel is located in the heart of Chinatown. It is a modern seven story non-smoking hotel with 102 guest rooms. Many of the guest rooms overlook the streets of Chinatown. The property serves a complimentary continental breakfast daily. For the guests convenience all rooms have hairdryers, iron and ironing board, coffeemakers, clock radios, telephones with voice mail and in-room safes. The hotel offers free wireless and hardwired high speed Internet ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western New York City
New York City Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing