We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Stay In A Hotel Ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel
Ranked #275 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Selbyville, Delaware
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Worst Stay In A Hotel Ever!”
Reviewed 24 September 2011

My friends and I spent two nights in this hotel Christmas weekend 2010. The morning after the first night's stay my friend was getting dressed after her shower and an average sized bottle of perfume that she had resting on the shelf above the sink fell about a foot into the sink below knocking a pretty large hole in it. Immediately after getting dressed we informed the staff of the situation expecting a bit of understanding since it was a freak accident. Instead the manager informed my friend that she would have to immediately pay $600 for the cost of hiring a plummer and replacing the entire sink. That was ridiculous since in reality only the bowl of the sink was damaged, AND it ended up being replaced by a hotel employee that we had already seen around working. That aside, my friend explained that she didn't have that kind of money on hand so could they work out some kind of payment plan. They refused stating hotel policy preventing them from doing that and when my friend told them she couldn't pay them right away they threatened to lock us out of our room so we couldn't get our things until she did. As the conversation continued they threatened to call the police unless she handed over her card for payment. That was absurd since were not disturbing their flow of business in any way and, despite the unfair way we were being treated, we were still speaking calmly and reasonably. Incidentally they did not call the police. Eventually she handed over her card and they generously (sarcasm) only charged her $500.

We stayed another night only because it would've been impossible to find another hotel in the area on Christmas and we were far away from home but our trip had definitely been soured. Coincidentally despite all the trouble that the management claimed it would take to get the sink fixed it was repaired within the hour.

I feel as though they took advantage of my friends and I only because of our age (mid-twenties) and inexperience of how to deal with the situation. They treated us as if we had intentionally damaged hotel property and were trying to get away with it. No understanding whatsoever. After our trip my friend was able to renegotiate a bill of $300 which is still very steep. I would never ever stay in that hotel again and I'm even put off by the entire Best Western chain. Throughout my life I've stayed in many hotels but this was by far the worst experience. I'm writing this nearly 10 months after the fact and i'm still incensed.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Leerah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    446
    547
    159
    30
    29
See reviews for
316
447
92
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Our stay was a very pleasant experience thanks to the services, location and especially the staff. Everyone working there went above and beyond making our stay pleasant!! We will be planning another trip soon and we will defiantly want to stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maxie_j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2011

The reception service was probably the best we have experienced.We were particularly taken by the call from reception some minutes after check in to ensure that the room was as we expected and enquiring if we required anything extra.Throughout our stay help was provided immediatly and cheerfully with directions and bookings of taxis etc.
The room was clean and well equipped in all aspects.All staff appeared to have been imbued with a philosophy of customer service above all.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mjobriencork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2011

This was our second stay here and again it met our expectations. Large, clean rooms that were cleaned well even with limited staff due to the hurricane. Front desk and security (Jeff) were extremely helpful and kind.

Suggestions: Ask for a room on the higher floor for quiet. The coffee is really bad, but there is a great cafe around the corner called Oro. Continental breakfast is well stocked and fresh but not the greatest. Free unlimited Internet and local calls. They do charge $5 a bag for storage after you check out.

Room Tip: Higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nlgladstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 2 days in August 2011. This hotel is situated between Little Itaty and Chinatown so restuarant selection is plentiful. The hotel lobby is located on the 2nd floor and normally you need to take an elevator. We chose this hotel to access free wireless internet along with breakfast. There are muffins, bagels, toast, fruit, DIY waffles, along with juice and coffee for breakfast near the lobby. The sitting area for breakfast is small but you could eat in the lobby sitting area too. The hotel lobby staff was friendly and helpful in providing directions to various attractions. Our room on the 8th floor had 2 double beds for 4 of us. We noted that in our research for a hotel in New York, most hotel rooms are smaller than what we expected. This was true but the room was clean and nicely appointed, meaning that furniture, beds, etc, were less than 5 years old.

From this location, you can walk to Wall Street, Soho., Brooklyn Bridge and the ferry that goes to the Statue of Liberty. If you wish to take the subway, the entrance is located close by.

I would recommend this hotel to others looking to stay in Lower Manhattan.

Room Tip: Join the hotel chain's frequent or rewards program. Upgrades are sometimes available for its me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank needmoretime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

Me and my partner actually booked this hotel for 20 guests for our wedding. As we had stayed here before we decided to stick with what we new especially as we were flying all our family out to stay here too, the staff were very helpful and prompt from months before we arrived to during our actual stay there, the rooms are a bit pricey, but very modern and clean. Being directly in the middle of china town it can be a bit off putting from the outside, but is actually a very good location to be in the same sort of distance to all the attractions of manhattan, there is a lovely bar just 2mins walk to your left out of the hotel called o'neils as the hotel doesn't have one. The breakfast is also great to fill you up before a day of sight seeing. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants reliability of somewhere clean, safe and friendly! But if you want somewhere cheaper then it can be found, but then there's always a risk! Usually you get what you pay for!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha9841
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

We arrived and without asking were upgraded to a bigger room. And it really was bigger even for New York standards! The bed was big and comfortable, bathroom small but very clean. We had a great view over the busy Chinatown streets and watched the hustle and bustle go by. The noice was noticeable, but hey, you're in the Big Apple! Take some earplugs and you'll be fine.
Breakfast is a bit of a letdown, but plenty of other options in the neighborhood.
Within easy walking distance to the subway and Little Italy. We will definitely come back.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dutchgirl70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chinatown
Hotel Mulberry
Hotel Mulberry
#192 of 468 in New York City
572 reviews
Chinatown
The Leon Hotel
The Leon Hotel
#188 of 468 in New York City
379 reviews
Chinatown
Sohotel
Sohotel
#291 of 468 in New York City
1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Downtown East
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#213 of 468 in New York City
341 reviews
Chinatown
Comfort Inn Manhattan Bridge
Comfort Inn Manhattan Bridge
#328 of 468 in New York City
563 reviews
Little Italy
NobleDEN Hotel
NobleDEN Hotel
#21 of 468 in New York City
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel

Property: Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel
Address: 231 Grand Street, New York City, NY 10013-4246
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chinatown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#185 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#191 Family Hotel in New York City
#222 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel is located in the heart of Chinatown. It is a modern seven story non-smoking hotel with 102 guest rooms. Many of the guest rooms overlook the streets of Chinatown. The property serves a complimentary continental breakfast daily. For the guests convenience all rooms have hairdryers, iron and ironing board, coffeemakers, clock radios, telephones with voice mail and in-room safes. The hotel offers free wireless and hardwired high speed Internet ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western New York City
New York City Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing