We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A basic hotel in Manhattan”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel
Ranked #264 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 October 2011

I stayed at this hotel for one weekend night. Being busy in the city during the day, I was unable to check in until about 11 pm. The front door was locked, but luckily another person with a key card was entering at the same time. One reason I chose this hotel was that the TV Japan website listed this hotel as having their programming. Unfortunately this was not the case, although I saw a Chinese program on the TV.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Onna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,301)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

660 - 666 of 1,301 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2011

You really can't beat this location. You are right in the middle of Little Italy and Chinatown and within easy walking distance to SOHO, East Village, TriBeCa, etc. For the price, the room and amenities exceeded my expectations. Everything has been recently updated and has been very tastefully done. My wife and I really enjoyed staying here. FYI: There is no onsite parking but the staff will tell you where available parking can be found and it is within walking distance. This hotel is also within walking distance to public transportation.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sgpostle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2011

I stayed a week there and thought it was worth the money. The staff is excellent, knowledgable, and friendly. The staff provided me with everything from maps and detailed directions to where I wanted to go, suggestions and even an umbrella one day when it was raining and I did not have one of my one. The building is very secure as you must have a room key to get past the second floor lobby. In the heart of Chinatown, near Little Italy this hotel is perfectly situated to explore all the great areas of Manhatten. It is near subway lines, excellent restaurants in Little Italy and Chinatown. Brooklyn Bridge is in walking distance. I would definitely stay there again and I highly recommend it to travelers headed there. While there, check out the Tenement Museum that is within walking distance. Worth the money and very interesting!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2011

Very chic rooms, reminds me of Europe. Small but efficient rooms, very clean in hallways, secured, great eating and waiting area in lobby which is on the 2nd floor.

Location is perfect for Chinatown, Little Italy and Soho. Close to subway, bus. Enjoy fresh produce outside the door, early opening bakery across the street, grocery stores only doors away. Famed Ferrara down the block.

Only wish there was a fan and counter in the bathroom (literally brought in the ironing board). The modern cool sinks are not practical.

Free internet but had problems due to city construction outside.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2011

I have visited NYC many times over my career. My hotel selections across all those visits have provided a range of experiences across the City.

This week I had a last-minute trip and found all of my tried and true options unavailable or even more ridiculously priced than normal. The need for a couple of nights sleep led me to the Best Western Bowery located in the Little Italy/Chinatown are of lower Manhattan.

The experience was surprising and pleasant. I read many positive reviews here on TA and they were quite accurate. The hotel is in a convenient part of the City with lots of great restaurants and interesting experiences. There are multiple subway options close at hand. I was able to get to Columbus Circle in much less time than I expected.

The room was very acceptable -- decent size, very clean, quiet, and functional. Free wi-fi and breakfast were included at a very good rate about 50% of what I was being asked to pay elsewhere. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

Given the price-point of the hotel I understood basically where my expectations should fall for the visit. You are not staying at one of the expensive uptown hotels or any of the boutique options throughout the City. However, you will get a good value and service for the money you spend.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charlierdu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2011

Overall, very pricy for the quality it offers. Hotel reception is on the second floor, so the lobby is not really what you would define as 'grand'. Not that this matters much if the rooms are fine. I got a room facing the main street, which I can safely say is very NOISY. Of course this is New York, so you know that you can expect street noise, but a better acoustic isolation would already make a world of difference.
When I wanted to go to sleep and turned open the bed, I noticed that the sheets of the bed had clearly been slept upon already. At my request, clean sheets were given but i had to insist to change also the pillow sheets (had also been slept upon because there were hairs on it which clearly weren't mine).
As compensation, I was given free use of luggage storage. However, I sleep in hotels two months per year and I have NEVER before needed to pay to store my lugage for half a day after checking out. So this was clearly a way to send me to take a walk.
The mere fact that the hotel makes you pay heavily to store your suitcases for a few hours is actually outrageous.
Breakfast is included in the -hefty- price, but rather poor in choice and quality. Also everything is served in plastic (hello Kyoto...)
On the positive side: the hotel is conveniently located if you want to go to Little Italy or Chinatown.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GypsyKingBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2011

My friends and I spent two nights in this hotel Christmas weekend 2010. The morning after the first night's stay my friend was getting dressed after her shower and an average sized bottle of perfume that she had resting on the shelf above the sink fell about a foot into the sink below knocking a pretty large hole in it. Immediately after getting dressed we informed the staff of the situation expecting a bit of understanding since it was a freak accident. Instead the manager informed my friend that she would have to immediately pay $600 for the cost of hiring a plummer and replacing the entire sink. That was ridiculous since in reality only the bowl of the sink was damaged, AND it ended up being replaced by a hotel employee that we had already seen around working. That aside, my friend explained that she didn't have that kind of money on hand so could they work out some kind of payment plan. They refused stating hotel policy preventing them from doing that and when my friend told them she couldn't pay them right away they threatened to lock us out of our room so we couldn't get our things until she did. As the conversation continued they threatened to call the police unless she handed over her card for payment. That was absurd since were not disturbing their flow of business in any way and, despite the unfair way we were being treated, we were still speaking calmly and reasonably. Incidentally they did not call the police. Eventually she handed over her card and they generously (sarcasm) only charged her $500.

We stayed another night only because it would've been impossible to find another hotel in the area on Christmas and we were far away from home but our trip had definitely been soured. Coincidentally despite all the trouble that the management claimed it would take to get the sink fixed it was repaired within the hour.

I feel as though they took advantage of my friends and I only because of our age (mid-twenties) and inexperience of how to deal with the situation. They treated us as if we had intentionally damaged hotel property and were trying to get away with it. No understanding whatsoever. After our trip my friend was able to renegotiate a bill of $300 which is still very steep. I would never ever stay in that hotel again and I'm even put off by the entire Best Western chain. Throughout my life I've stayed in many hotels but this was by far the worst experience. I'm writing this nearly 10 months after the fact and i'm still incensed.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Service
5  Thank LeerahS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#411 of 469 in New York City
555 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Newton
Hotel Newton
#323 of 469 in New York City
1,580 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel Mulberry
Hotel Mulberry
#265 of 469 in New York City
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Midtown
Pod 39 Hotel
Pod 39 Hotel
#200 of 469 in New York City
3,435 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#235 of 469 in New York City
4,981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel

Address: 231 Grand Street, New York City, NY 10013-4246
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chinatown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#181 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#187 Family Hotel in New York City
#217 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £104 - £324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel is located in the heart of Chinatown. It is a modern seven story non-smoking hotel with 102 guest rooms. Many of the guest rooms overlook the streets of Chinatown. The property serves a complimentary continental breakfast daily. For the guests convenience all rooms have hairdryers, iron and ironing board, coffeemakers, clock radios, telephones with voice mail and in-room safes. The hotel offers free wireless and hardwired high speed Internet ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Splitty, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western New York City
New York City Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing