We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We returned to this hotel after 2 years”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel
Ranked #264 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 November 2011

We stayed at this hotel 2 years ago and enjoyed it, so we stayed again, we even got our same room, on a corner of the building. Very spacious and comfortable. The hotel Is close to the subway and Little Italy. The staff were friendly and helpful. The free breakfast was a little better than average. No restaurant or bar, but why would want hotel food in New York.

Room Tip: We had street noise in our corner room, so in inside room might be a little quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,302)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

650 - 656 of 1,302 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2011

I stayed here because it was near a three day meeting I was attending. Being a Best Western, and the rate, I didn't expect too much. But I was pleasantly surprised.

Check in was fast and friendly. Room was decently sized, especially by NYC standards. Bed was extremely comfortable - I slept really soundly. Bathroom is shower only, but that was fine with me. My room did not face the street, so there was little road noise. Multiple wi-fi options were available, and they password protect it so you don't have to share bandwidth with non-guests.

Location is great - right on the edge of Chinatown and Little Italy. Tons of restaurants within blocks. Complimentary breakfast is what I would expect - bagels, muffins, juice, etc. Nothing special, but was enough to fill me up.

If I was looking for a good bargain hotel in NYC, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reactor1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

My wife and I stayed in room 604. It had a large handicapped bathroom (with chair, walk-in shower). We liked the soap, shampoo, and conditioner. The room was spacious. The bed was comfortable. There was no furniture with drawers to store your clothes in. There was a wooden closet with safe. Our room faced the street, so it was noisy in the mornings with the garbage trucks and other traffic. There is not much sound proofing. We could hear people in the hallway in the morning. The room is on the edge of Chinatown and Little Italy (intersection of Grand and Bowery). The hotel is about a 3-minute walk from a Subway-J metro station, and even closer to a Grand Street-B metro station. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful.

You can pay $55 to get a private car to LaGuardia airport (JJJ Transportation); the front desk arranges it ($10 non-refundable down payment). It took about 20-25 minutes to go to LaGuardia at 7 am on a Monday morning. You can probably get a taxi for less money. We were told some people have had trouble getting a taxi to take them to the airport from Lower Manhattan. If you get a taxi, tell them to take the Williamsburg Bridge route (no tolls). If there is a problem with the taxi, tell the driver you will report him/her to 311.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jandc8491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

I stayed at the Hanbee for the second time this weekend. We had been very satisfied with our stay the first time, 18 months ago. Not this time. We had room 614, that faces Bowery Street. There's a major hole at the intersection and the city installed four or five large metal plates to cover it. Since the windows of that room are horrible - it's like there's no windows at all, soundwise -, you hear a loud "bang!" each time a truck or heavy vehicle passes over it. During the night, it's guaranteed it's going to wake you up. Now, we should have requested a change after the first night, but since we tend to really take possession of a room during a stay - our stuff was all over the place -, we just bought ear plugs. Did not work either, but my wife was feeling a bit sick, did not feel like moving and we thought maybe things would be more quiet during the weekend. They were not. New York, on the corner of Bowery and Grand really never sleeps, it seems. Up to the point that my wife could not sleep "at all" Sunday night, because of the street noise... When she got up after a night without sleep, she felt very sick and weak, so we decided to cut the trip short and go back home. When I checked out, I explained to the man at reception that we had to leave because the room was too noisy and my wife did not feel right. I thought he might ask a few questions or make a comment, like "I'm very sorry to hear that" or "The room is noisy??? What do you mean? That unacceptable, we will etc. etc."... He only said, "Everything has been prepaid with Booking.com. Do you want the receipt?" Judging by the man's insensitive reaction, I can only guess that they know the situation, that they wish that the poor people they put into rooms facing Bowery will be as stupid or lazy as we were (or that they will be deaf) and that if the client complains and leaves early, who cares, maybe he's prepaid the room and we'll rent it a second time. So the point of this story is: Maybe you should go to some other hotel that will actually care about the quality of your sleep and listen to you when you talk, but if you do go to the Hanbee, make sure you get a room facing the back of the hotel or Grand Street.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RejeanRoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We stayed 4 days at this comfy hotel on our stay in New York, and it was a great find. It might not be the trendiest or most luxurious place to stay, but it's clean, has included hot breakfast and it's a block from the subway... plus it's CHEAP for Manhattan. If you are traveling on a budget, but are set on staying on Manhattan, this is a great place. It's just blocks from Little Italy, and right in the north border of chinatown.

Plus, the staff was really friendly and was glad to assist us in everything.

If we go back to NYC we'll surely stay there again.

Room Tip: The higher floors should be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2011

This hotel is fairly new, the rooms are very comfortable, newly decorated and clean. The staff is very friendly and helpful with all your touristy questions such as where to eat, how to move around, etc... The location is very good, we walked to soho and little italy, and the train uptown is one block away... The breakfast is included and is very complete: cereal, oatmeal, fruit, eggs and a variety of breads and spreads... We are definitely coming back and we HIGHLY recommend it!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bjeannelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

I came here for a weekend with some friends and I was very happy with the hotel. The hotel's location is convenient to many things, particularly if you're staying around Little Italy, Chinatown, and SoHo. Even if you're not, we were able to walk uptown to the Empire State building and Central Park one day, and all the way down to Wall Street the next. It takes time, but to my mind the best way to see a city is by walking it. Once you get tired the hotel is less than a block from the Grand Street subway stop, adding further convenience.

The rooms themselves are fine and the beds are very comfortable. The rooms are actually larger than I expected for rooms in NYC. There is some noise that comes in from the street, I think that will be present no matter where on Manhattan you are. The bathroom is also larger than I expected, and I thought the water pressure in the shower was perfect. Most importantly everything was clean. You can certainly get more for the price in other cities, but NYC is expensive and I think that this hotel is reasonably priced for what it is.

There are not many other hotel amenities. There are a couple of computers for general use next to the lobby, which was useful for printing boarding passes. There was also a free continental breakfast, which served the standard fare. I didn't really sweat the amenities, however, as I was in NYC to see the city - not stay in the hotel.

Overall the hotel was a good pick and I'd definitely stay there again if I ever was to go back to that part of Manhattan for another trip.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank THEBafanaBafana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#411 of 469 in New York City
555 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Newton
Hotel Newton
#322 of 469 in New York City
1,580 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel Mulberry
Hotel Mulberry
#254 of 469 in New York City
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Midtown
Pod 39 Hotel
Pod 39 Hotel
#198 of 469 in New York City
3,436 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#234 of 469 in New York City
4,983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel

Address: 231 Grand Street, New York City, NY 10013-4246
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chinatown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#181 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#187 Family Hotel in New York City
#217 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £112 - £332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel is located in the heart of Chinatown. It is a modern seven story non-smoking hotel with 102 guest rooms. Many of the guest rooms overlook the streets of Chinatown. The property serves a complimentary continental breakfast daily. For the guests convenience all rooms have hairdryers, iron and ironing board, coffeemakers, clock radios, telephones with voice mail and in-room safes. The hotel offers free wireless and hardwired high speed Internet ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western New York City
New York City Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing