We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location and friendly, knowledgable staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel
Ranked #264 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 November 2013

The location of this hotel is perfect for exploring Little Italy and Chinatown. It's at the corner of Grand and Bowery so it's pretty easy to hail a cab.
Enter through the elevator bay and take the elevator to the 2nd floor to Reception. The door is locked at night so have your key ready if you enter late at night. You also need your key to take the elevator to the rooms.
The room we had was on the 7th floor and was spacious and clean. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom larger than in most NY City hotels.
The shower is great - speedy hot water and a great shower head.
Our TV remote didn't work and it was quickly fixed without question. The staff greeted us each time they saw us in the hall.
We were at the front of the hotel and did hear some street noise (you are in a huge city after all) and heard some construction noise but that should abate when the improvements to the roads are completed. The location is great because it's right in the middle of Chinatown so if the noise of a thriving and "happening" neighborhood would ruin your visit, stay elsewhere.
I recommend this hotel for location, room quality and hospitable staff. They made some super restaurant recommendations for us.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwen L, General Manager at Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

We appreciate you taking the time to provide the very detailed review of the Best Western Bowery Hotel. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed the many great things our hotel and location has to offer when staying in NYC. THank you for your kind words about the staff. I will certainly share your comments with them.

Please come stay with us again the next time you are in NYC.

Best Wishes,

Gwen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,302)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

441 - 447 of 1,302 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2013

Located within 2 blocks of Mulberry street the heart of Little Italy and great restaurants. Also surrounded by China Town so lots of shopping, restaurants and to go places for Chinese food. Hotel is clean and modern. Lobby is on 2nd floor, which was a bit of a surprise when I first arrived. Free breakfast is convenient. Service is very friendly and willing to assist in directions or recommend a good restaurant.

Room Tip: Rooms on the street side can be noisy, but you are in NYC.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ladyomaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwen L, General Manager at Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

We appreciate you choosing to stay at our Best Western Bowery and reviewing the hotel. I am so glad you enjoyed all that the diverse neighborhood surrounding the hotel have to offer. The food is truly exceptional at reasonable prices. Thank you for your kind words about the staff. I will share them with my team.

We look forward to your next stay with us in NYC!

Best Wishes,

Gwen Lytle
General Manager
212-925-1177
Gwen.Lytle@InterstateHotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We stayed for 5 nights towards end of October, if you have read other reviews you will know about the roadworks (water main replacement). I can confirm they are loud, but they wouldn't put me off returning to this excellent hotel. The hotel can't be held responsible for these and they didn't keep us awake, in a road facing room on 8th floor!
Hotel: the hotel was excellent, all areas of it immaculately clean. The superior bedroom we had was spacious, again spotless and more than adequate for a couple. Coffee maker, hair dryer (powerful enough to keep my better half happy), iron and board all supplied. The included breakfast was excellent, in 5 days we had something different every day, including cereals, hot buffet and pastries. The only downside to this excellent freebie - the breakfast room was always busy unless you got there very early.
Staff: each and every one of the staff went out of their way to make sure we were happy. Normally you can name the odd individual if you get great service, but here there wasn't one you wouldn't thank.
Location: absolutely fantastic location for foodies! Chinatown, Little Italy and Soho all on your doorstep. Two subway stations within minutes walk, you are ideally situated for transport into the rest of NY. There is a bus stop outside but we never used the bus getting uptown. Canal street subway is the better of the two for hitting the bright lights if you are heading into Manhattan.
Bargain hunting: don't buy your souvenirs and gifts in uptown, spend a few hours in the local area as there are some fantastic bargains to be had here.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim9582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwen L, General Manager at Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

We appreciate your very detailed review of our hotel and we are so pleased you enjoyed staying with us at the Best Western Bowery. Thank you for the kind words about the staff. I will certainly share your praises with them. The rooms on the street side do have double paned windows to cut down on street noise. I am so glad to hear you were able to get a good night sleep. I love the tip about souvenir shopping in our area. The pricing is so much better than midtown.

Please stay with us again the next time you are in NYC.

Best Wishes,

Gwen Lytle
General Manager
212-925-1177
Gwen.Lytle@InterstateHotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Ideally situated, 500 yards from the subway at Canal Street, this hotel offers an ideal base to stay when visiting New York. The freindliness of each and every member of staff, no need to give individual mentions here, they all excelled! Breakfast was included and provided a good start to get your day going. The only downside here, as it was so good the breakfast room was always full, unless you got down very early.The bedroom was spacious and met with all our demands, although we did have the bigger room. We will definitely stay at this hotel again when returning to NY. One area of concern, but the hotel has no control over this - there is water main replacement being carried out in the area and as NY is the city that never sleeps, work went on through the night! This was rather loud, but not enough to disturb us once we were settled. Well done Best Western, great hotel and fantastic staff.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Jim9582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwen L, General Manager at Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Thank you for staying at the Best Western Bowery and reviewing our hotel. We appreciate your observations of our hotel and the area, I am so pleased to hear the staff took such great care of you and will share your kind comments with them. Breakfast seating is a challege in the compact size of our Manhattan lobby. We have really enjoyed the outdoor patio seating Spring through Fall and look forward to being able to use it again in 2014.

Please come stay with us the next time you are in NYC.

Best Wishes,
Gwen Lytle
General Manager
212-925-1177
Gwen.Lytle@InterstateHotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Overall was a very good value hotel with breakfast included. Location was great for subway and local italian and chinese/malaysian restaurants. the only downer was the overnight very noisy roadworks outside the hotel from 10pm to 5am. Hope this will be finished soon but did make it difficult to sleep, we were on 7th floor. There is always noise in a city location but not this loud..

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank 504Neil1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwen L, General Manager at Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

We appreciate you staying with us and reviewing our hotel. We are so pleased you enjoyed the area and tried the amazing food in our neighborhood. We apologize that the construction interrupted your sleep. We have added sound proof window to the street side of out building and have white noise machines and ear plugs available. Still we understand the importance of a good night sleep. The overnight underground work is anticipated to be complete in March 2014. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Best Wishes,
Gwen Lytle
General Manager
212-925-1177
Gwen.Lytle@InterstateHotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

I was a little concerned about the location, but it proved to be convenient to getting midtown via the subway. The room was very clean, not large, but more than adequate. There was construction in the street, but I had a room facing the rear and heard no noise. The staff was cordial. The breakfast was surprisingly good. Will definitely stay again when in NYC.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwen L, General Manager at Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

We are so pleased to hear that you were pleasantly surprised with our hotel. The location is great to experience the diverse neighborhoods of NYC and still be a quick subway trip on the B or D to midtown. I will certainly celebrate your kind words to the staff. Thank you for staying with us and writing your review of our hotel. We look forward to your next stay at our hotel.

Best Wishes,

Gwen Lytle
General Manager
212-925-1177
Gwen.Lytle@InterstateHotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Bus stop on the front door (bus leading all the way through Manhatten to Harlem), 200 steps to the nearest Underground Station, on the edge of Little Italy, surrounded by lively Chinatown - what else could you possibly want?
The Hotel itself offers nicely decorated and clean rooms, good breakfast, tables in- and outdoors, and the staff is happy to help you to plan your New York Sightseeing and visiting trip.

Room Tip: Choose room at the end of corridors, so you have sight to both Bowery and Grand Street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwen L, General Manager at Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

We are so happy to hear you enjoyed all the Best Western Bowery had to offer. We appreciate you staying with us and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We look forward to your next stay!

Best Wishes,
Gwen D Lytle
General Manager
212-925-1177
Gwen.Lytle@InterstateHotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#411 of 469 in New York City
555 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Newton
Hotel Newton
#322 of 469 in New York City
1,580 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel Mulberry
Hotel Mulberry
#254 of 469 in New York City
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Midtown
Pod 39 Hotel
Pod 39 Hotel
#198 of 469 in New York City
3,436 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#234 of 469 in New York City
4,982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel

Address: 231 Grand Street, New York City, NY 10013-4246
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chinatown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#181 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#187 Family Hotel in New York City
#217 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £112 - £332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel is located in the heart of Chinatown. It is a modern seven story non-smoking hotel with 102 guest rooms. Many of the guest rooms overlook the streets of Chinatown. The property serves a complimentary continental breakfast daily. For the guests convenience all rooms have hairdryers, iron and ironing board, coffeemakers, clock radios, telephones with voice mail and in-room safes. The hotel offers free wireless and hardwired high speed Internet ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western New York City
New York City Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing