We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
U.S. Pacific Hotel(New York City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
World Hotel(New York City)
View Hotel
  • Free Internet
Sohotel(New York City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
NobleDEN Hotel(New York City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Windsor Hotel(New York City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Nolitan Hotel(New York City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Leon Hotel(New York City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (1,370)
Filter reviews
1,370 results
Traveller rating
499
625
181
35
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
499
625
181
35
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgrand streetlittle italynew yorkbagelsmake your own waffleslower east sidefree breakfasteast villagehard boiled eggsthe breakfast areasubway stationwithin walking distancebrooklyn bridgefront desk staffking suitehotel is locatedtwo blocks
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
453 - 458 of 1,370 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Me and my husband went to visit New York in August 2013,and we staid one week at this superb hotel.

The Hotel is amazingly clean, The breakfast was super delicious and a great variety, each morning served different food.

The staff very friendly, very helpful with information about trips and busses.

They have computers in the lobby that you can use for free.

The hotel is placed in China Town but 2 minutes away is Little Italy, and 5 minutes walk is The Broadway with loads of shops. You can stroll on a nice walk for 30 minutes to the ferry port where you can take the ferry to Statue of Liberty.

You don't hear any noises from the others rooms or from outside, there is air con. in the rooms.



I would definitely recommend this hotel because its really clean, the staff is very helpful and friendly, and the food amazing!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CameliaCostin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwen L, General Manager at Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

What a nice review of our Best Western Bowery Hanbee! Thank you so much for staying with us and reviewing our hotel. It sounds like you had an amazing time while in NYC. It is so wonderful to hear you had such a great time. Please come back and stay with us again soon.

Best Wishes,
Gwen D Lytle
General Manager
212-925-1177
Gwen.Lytle@InterstateHotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

Clean. Functional. Good carb based breakfast. Friendly staff. Good WiFi. Small rooms. Very well placed for China town. Great base for lower Manhattan. Would use again. Quiet for Manhattan. Reception on second floor.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank TomZunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwen L, General Manager at Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Thank you for your very concise review. It is a great way to share your experience with future visitors to NYC. We appreciate you selecting our hotel and hope you will stay with us again the next time you are in NYC.

Best Wishes,
Gwen D Lytle
General Manager
212-925-1177
Gwen.Lytle@InterstateHotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

This hotel was good value for money, located a block from the subway and around 25mins in total from midtown. It is close to the East Village and within walking distance of the Brooklyn Bridge and the financial district. The room was an okay size, although a second chair would have been nice. The bed was comfortable and a fair size and the street noise wasn't too loud considering how busy the area is. A free breakfast helped us save money and included a waffle maker. However, the breakfast room was very small and crowded. We had to queue for a table a number of times. The staff were helpful and friendly, and allowed us to move away from the noisy vending machine on our second night. (Sean in particular was great arranging taxis to the airport etc). The layout of the rooms is a little odd, with the bathroom by the window, the bed next to the corridor and poor internal sound-proofing. This meant that we were frequently disturbed by noise from the corridor. Especially when we were put next to the vending machine which people used throughout the night, although we were allowed to change floor away from this machine when we asked. Also, there was no way to prevent light coming through the large window in the bathroom and into the bedroom through the frosted internal window - fine for us in winter, but it could be awful in summer. There also were lots of large groups of young people staying there, although these seemed well behaved.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are probably a bit quieter. Avoid a floor with a vending machine in the corridor.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwen L, General Manager at Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Thank you for staying with us and posting your experiences, so we can improve. I will certainly celebrate with Sean and my staff your comments. We apologize that the noise detracted from your stay. When we are notified of a guest sensitivity to noise, we certainly try to accommodate them in one of our quieter rooms. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to service you the next time you at in NYC.

Best Wishes,
Gwen D Lytle
General Manager
212-925-1177
Gwen.Lytle@InterstateHotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We brought a group of 18 students to New York, and arranged to stay here. The rooms were nice, and spacious. The bathroom floors were heated, and the shower was huge, and had a very strong stream of hot water. Everyone raved about how much they enjoyed the showers.

The location worked well for us. We were in the heart of Chinatown. It's not always a quiet area, but I did feel safe there, as there was always activity. The nearest subway station was one block away. Little Italy was just a couple of blocks away, and was a nice area to eat and look around. The breakfast was adequate, and a good start for each of our mornings before going out on the town. We ended up needing to add an extra room for a couple of nights (as one of our students came down ill, and we didn't want them sharing a bed). The front desk quickly got us another room, and even reduced the cost for the second night when we explained the situation to management. The rooms were clean and comfortable.

The only complaint I had was that they didn't pre-book our actual rooms. We were told that our students' would be on the same floor with a chaperone, but one of our student rooms was not. At check in, the front desk said that they didn't have anything available on the same floor for one of our student rooms, so those teenaged boys ended up on their own floor without supervision. Luckily our students were trustworthy, and it wasn't an issue - but next time I would insist on them pre-booking the rooms so that it wouldn't be an issue. We would have liked to of had all of our students near a chaperone.

Room Tip: Higher floors are probably best, as there is definitely street noise
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DEBRA L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwen L, General Manager at Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

We really appreciate you bringing your group to stay with us while you were in NYC. Your group was very well behaved and great to work with. I hope your student is feeling better - what a terrible way to feel when away from home. We certainly do our best to pre-book groups, especially youth groups. It can be challenging, since only a quarter of our hotel had rooms with two beds and they are on seven floors. We hope that you will stay with us the next time you are in NYC.

Best Wishes,
Gwen D Lytle
General Manager
212-925-1177
Gwen.Lytle@InterstateHotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Lovely staff & service (frontdesk, cleaners, breakfast lady), the staff was very accomodating during our stay! We loved everything about the hotel. Great location in Chinatown, delicous breakfast buffet, bathroom floorheating, organic complimentary toiletries & good price for nyc. We would def stay again whenever they have a promotion!

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the street and on the upperfloors.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hellokitty84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwen L, General Manager at Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

We are so pleased to hear that the Best Western Bowery Hanbee and our staff contributed to your great visit to NYC. I will certainly share your comments with my staff, so they continue doing what they are doing well. Please stay with us again the next time you are in NYC.

Best Wishes,
Gwen D Lytle
General Manager
212-925-1177
Gwen.Lytle@InterstateHotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews