We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent and functional”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel
Ranked #272 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Decent and functional”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

This is a servicable hotel that gets you a night's sleep and a place to call your hub, but certainly wont go down in history as the epic luxury plaza. It's just fine. Nothing fancy, but decent.

Front desk staff was extremely helpful and friendly. Check in was quick and efficient. The room was clean but small. We were located literally right next to the ice machine which was unbelievably noisy.

The neighborhood is Chinatown so be prepared. It's not mid- or uptown manhattan, so this part of town is cramped, busy, and dirty. Lots of construction tightens up the sidewalk and the smell of cigarette smoke and open-air fish markets is fairly inescapable.

The housekeeping service was great.

Only complaint was the general maintenance level. An elevator went down on day one making it really difficult to catch an elevator, the vending machine on my floor did not work, and the post-breakfast garbage cans in the eating area were literally overflowing. Not attractive.

Otherwise, you need a place to crash, it's affordable and fine.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcpilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwen L, General Manager at Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
We are sincerely appreciative of your candid comments about our hotel, so we can celebrate what we do well an improve where we can. I am glad that the staff took good care of you. My sincere apologies about the elevator. It has been problematic and the quick fixes were not working. The elevator company has assured us that they have found the cause and repaired it. We are changing vending companies that will provide a high level of quality and service to our guests. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to surpass your needs and wishes the next time you are in NYC.

Sincerely,
Gwen Lytle
General Manager
212-925-1177
Gwen.Lytle@InterstateHotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    449
    563
    161
    31
    29
See reviews for
326
455
92
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Make no mistake, this hotel is in Chinatown. There are fish, food, and flower stands up and down both sides of the street. The nights I was there, there were more French-speaking folks there than any other language. Staff was stellar, room was great, shower head was fabulous, free breakfast was generous, and it's two blocks from Little Italy. For the money, I was ecstatic about my decision to stay here. Be sure to stop at Ferrara's just up the street!

Room Tip: Costs extra to have them watch your luggage if you need to hang around after check-out time, which i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TNmilt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwen L, General Manager at Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Love your headline! I am so glad that you enjoyed the hotel. I will certainly share your comments with the staff to keep doing the great job they are doing. Thank you for selecting our hotel for your NYC trip and taking the time to share your experience. We look forward to your next stay with us.

All the best!
Gwen Lytle
General Manager
212-925-1177
Gwen.Lytle@InterstateHotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

we turned up unexpectedly early at 9-ish morning instead of what we had previously advised eta @6pm. only having the thought to store our luggages but was offered a room to check in.... first good news
Mr Hugh who attended us even offered us to consume the bfast which will be closing in 10min time.... second good news
a ring call to the front desk for an additional towel was immediately being delivered to our room.
i have all praises to the services in this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smyap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwen L, General Manager at Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
I am so pleased to hear about the excellent service Hugh and the team provided to you you during your stay with us at the Best Western Bowery. Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to review our hotel. We look forward to your next stay with us.

All the best!
Gwen Lytle
General Manager
212-925-1177
Gwen.Lytle@InterstateHotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 May 2014

When our senior class was staying in the Best Western hotel, we were ready to leave the moment we walked in . There wasn't any hot water in the hotel, there was mildew on the floors, and some of the rooms only had one bed for four people. It was the worst hotel I've ever been in my whole life. I will never attend a Best Western hotel again.

Room Tip: Just don't check in you will be disappointed
See more room tips
Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Brittany T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwen L, General Manager at Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
I appreciate you taking the time to review the hotel. I sincerely apologize that you did not have a pleasant or acceptable stay with us. I do not remember ever not having hot water. We did have two days in the past year that the city shut down the water for 2-6 hours and certainly tried to communicate that to our guests. Please contact me below if you feel there was an error in your bed type and I am happy to research it. Ensuring guests receive the room type they booked is very important to us.

Sincerely,
Gwen Lytle
General Manager
212-925-1177
Gwen.Lytle@InterstateHotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Right in the Heart of Chinatown, near the Grand St. subway...very busy, even for New York. Might be a turn off to some people, but this is a little gem of a hotel. Friendly staff, clean & nicely decorated rooms. Rates were on the reasonable side for New York, but the hotel is a little off the beaten track, but the subway proximity makes up for it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Kalia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwen L, General Manager at Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to review the hotel. I am glad to hear you enjoyed the hotel and the staff. The subway makes it easy to get to anywhere in NYC you would like to go. We hope you will stay with us again soon.

Best Wishes,
Gwen Lytle
General Manager
212-925-1177
Gwen.Lytle@InterstateHotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torrance, California
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Hotel right in the middle of Chinatown - walking around the area was already interesting and provided new impressions. A few subway stations a couple of blocks away in three different directions - so good connections available. Lots of Italian restaurant choices in nearby Little Italy. Hotel itself very friendly, helpful staff. I arrived in the morning hours and was given a room right away- how nice of them. Room interior was modern, bathroom fresh and clean. Bed was ok. My only negative: this was late April and one night was so cold, I was shivering in the room. After experimenting with the Heating/ AC unit, I asked the front desk to help me figure out how to warm up the room and even they could not get Heating to work. Result: the manager told the front desk guy the heat was already TURNED OFF for the Spring and Summer. I got extra blankets and wore my sweater and scarf in bed. Brrrrr - cold room. Overall, a nice hotel with a good breakfast spread.

Room Tip: My room was on the 2nd floor (corridor right behind the lobby) and faced the courtyard. VERY quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MBatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwen L, General Manager at Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
We appreciate your feedback so we can celebrate what we do well and improve where can. My sincere apologies about the heat. Spring and Fall are challenging to have the correct system on. During those times, it is best to completely turn off the unit. The heated bathroom floors are also nice when it is chilly. There is an extra blanket in the Armoire and we are happy to provide more upon request. We hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you when you return to NYC.

Best Wishes,
Gwen Lytle
General Manager
212-925-1177
Gwen.Lytle@InterstateHotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queens, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Staff is always extremely courteous, pleasant and helpful. It's why my family and I have stayed at this hotel for the past few family reunions. The breakfast is plentiful, beds very comfortable and the king suite very spacious!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Vivian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwen L, General Manager at Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thanks so much for returning to stay at Best Western Bowery. We appreciate your business. Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. I will certainly celebrate your comments with my staff. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Best Wishes,
Gwen Lytle
General Manager
212-925-1177
Gwen.Lytle@InterstateHotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chinatown
Hotel Mulberry
Hotel Mulberry
#209 of 467 in New York City
577 reviews
Chinatown
The Leon Hotel
The Leon Hotel
#194 of 467 in New York City
385 reviews
Chinatown
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Downtown East
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#231 of 467 in New York City
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
Edge Hotel
Edge Hotel
#67 of 467 in New York City
246 reviews
Chinatown
Sohotel
Sohotel
#280 of 467 in New York City
1,235 reviews
Chinatown
Comfort Inn Manhattan Bridge
Comfort Inn Manhattan Bridge
#329 of 467 in New York City
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel

Property: Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel
Address: 231 Grand Street, New York City, NY 10013-4246
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chinatown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#184 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#190 Family Hotel in New York City
#220 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel is located in the heart of Chinatown. It is a modern seven story non-smoking hotel with 102 guest rooms. Many of the guest rooms overlook the streets of Chinatown. The property serves a complimentary continental breakfast daily. For the guests convenience all rooms have hairdryers, iron and ironing board, coffeemakers, clock radios, telephones with voice mail and in-room safes. The hotel offers free wireless and hardwired high speed Internet ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western New York City
New York City Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing