We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT PLACE AND PEOPLE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel
Ranked #255 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This was my first visit for us as a family with a 5 year old. The rooms were clean, spacious and comfortable. The front desk and all staff were very bright eyed and very helpful no matter what time of day!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Belinda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwen L, General Manager at Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

It is so great to hear that our hotel worked so perfectly for your first family trip to NYC. I am glad the staff took good care of you while you were with us. I will certainly share your comments with them. We hope you will return to visit us again soon.

All the best.

Gwen Lytle
General Manager
212-925-1177
Gwen.Lytle@InterstateHotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,316)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

393 - 399 of 1,316 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

Large clean room, wooden floors, modern bathroom, great overall experience, The staff was very helpful and pleasant. Great location if you want to be close to LES and Chinatown. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Elizabeth N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwen L, General Manager at Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

We love to hear that our hotel was a good fit for your travel needs while in NYC and that you want to return. Thank you for staying with us and writing the review about your stay to share with other. We look forward to serving you the next time you are in NYC.

All the Best!
Gwen Lytle
General Manager
212-925-1177
Gwen.Lytle@InterstateHotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I wrote to the manager, Gwen Lydle, beforehand and explained that I was bringing my wife to NY for a very special occasion and requested a quieter room away from the ice machine. We arrived and the reception awaiting us exceeded every expectation.
Without going into details this is a very well appointed hotel in lower Manhattan. It is in the middle of Chinatown (I know, I know, it's not Fifth Ave) but once you're on the second floor Lobby you feel completely at home. The staff was attentive, efficient, and top-notch. Check-in and out was a breeze. And when they told us to just ask if we had any questions or needed anything, it felt like they meant it! That alone was refreshing among NY hotels.
Our room was large and airy and best of all...quiet. Those double paned windows really did the trick. Our room had been upgraded and it was lovely. Bed was very comfy. Room very clean. Breakfast was fine and just the thing if you wanted to get an early start.
The location is excellent. You're in Chinatown. A few blocks to the west and north is Little Italy. To the east is the Lower East Side. And there's a subway a block away which, along with walking, was our favorite mode of transportation.
The Bowery Hanbee was everything we could have asked for in a NYC hotel. Actually it was more!
Highly Recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank travelling_with_kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwen L, General Manager at Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

I am so thrilled to hear that your stay went so perfectly! I am so glad my staff and I could be a part of your special trip. We do appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel and staying with us. We are really proud of our hotel and love how your review points out so many great things about our hotel. Please come stay with us again soon!

Best Wishes,
Gwen Lytle
General Manager
212-925-1177
Gwen.Lytle@Interstatehotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I stayed at the Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel for one night. Its location is great: about one block from the subway, in the middle of Chinatown and walking distance to Little Italy. The hotel room was a good size- what you would expect for a normal hotel, so HUGE for a NYC hotel. They also provided free breakfast and baggage check (for a small fee). Overall, I would stay here again. The price of the room, yes was expensive, but in comparison to other NYC hotels was definitely a value.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KeenieBeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwen L, General Manager at Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you so much for your kind review of our hotel. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your next stay with us!

All the best!
Gwen D Lylte
General Manager
212-925-1177
Gwen.Lytle@InterstateHotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The Hotel accommodations are quite luxurious and unique, I will fondly remember my stay at for a long time to come. very very nice hotel...it is greatful to me...like it and thank to all staff very helpful. amazing rooms...nice stay and comfortable. like it. recommend it.

Room Tip: nice rooms view neat and clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank santoshkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwen L, General Manager at Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you for your wonderful recommendation. We are so excited to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and what our hotel had to offer. We look forward to your next stay with us.

All the best!
Gwen D Lytle
General Manager
212-925-1177
Gwen.Lytle@InterstateHotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Stayed here in May, great location. Close to Metro, walking distance to Chinatown and Little Italy. Reception staff were extremely pleasant and very helpful. Breakfast had a good selection for a continental. Breakfast room was a bit small. Rooms were clean and a decent size. Only issue we had was traffic noise at night. It's NY, I don't know if there's any where quiet in Manhattan. Definitely would stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trippers253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwen L, General Manager at Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

I love hearing great things about the staff. They really do a great job welcoming our guests to NYC. I will certainly share your comments with the team. Our outdoor patio is now open for breakfast, which helps with the small breakfast area and it is so nice to enjoy breakfast outside. If you are sensitive to noise, our high floor rooms and rooms with one queen beds (not on the street side) are the quietest. If you let us know in advanced we will note it on your reservation. We do have double paned windows on the street side and if you close the bathroom door, it helps with noise as well. We appreciate you staying with us and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We hope to see you again the next time you are in NYC.

Best Wishes,
Gwen Lylte
General Manager
212-925-1177
Gwen.Lytle@InterstateHotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

Two female friends visited this hotel both first timers to New York. This hotel was part of a BA hotel and flight deal. It was very cheap! We were not expecting much.
We were concerned about the location in China town and getting about to see the sights. (being 1st timers we wanted to do all the usual stuff). We thought China town wouldn't be very convenient.
We were wrong!
On arrival to the hotel we were greeted warmly by the staff and allowed in the room some time later. We requested and were granted a quiet room high up as we were aware of the construction issues below.
The room was large for a city location and perfectly adequate. Two Queen size beds which were comfortable and a decent bathroom..
Breakfast was a nice freebie. Not the best New York had to offer of course but it was free!
What makes this hotel special is the staff. A special mention to the lovely Hugh who every day was helpful as we presented him with our map and he gave simple instructions on the New York subway system for us to get to our chosen destination. Thanks Hugh!
Whizzing around on subways is really the best way to get around New York and you can arrive in most places within 5_15 mins.
China town itself doesn't have much to offer to offer a tourist really. It is a bit grim. Little Italy which really is about 5 mins walk from the hotel has quite a few nice restaurants and we spent a few nice evenings. Basically though this hotel is just a comfortable base for people to rest and then set out to explore further afield.

So to sum up you can pay more to be in more midtown but if you do you will still have to catch subways to get to places so save some money and stay here. Excellent for subway links. Excellent staff and excellent price! Would stay again!!!!
Thanks all.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank Lizzidripping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwen L, General Manager at Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

It is so wonderful to hear that the Best Western Bowery was such a great fit for your NYC trip. We really appreciate you selecting our hotel and taking the time to write such a detailed review to assist future travelers. I will certainly pass on your kind words to Hugh and my team. They are all truly amazing! We are thrilled that the overnight construction was completed in March. They are doing some daytime re-building of the sidewalks, curbs and roads, but it is not nearly as disruptive. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel the next time you are in NYC.

All the best!
Gwen Lytle
General Manager
212-925-1177
Gwen.Lytle@InterstateHotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Hotel Newton
Hotel Newton
#322 of 470 in New York City
1,585 reviews
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#414 of 470 in New York City
555 reviews
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#260 of 470 in New York City
2,076 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel Mulberry
Hotel Mulberry
#261 of 470 in New York City
601 reviews
Midtown
Pod 39 Hotel
Pod 39 Hotel
#200 of 470 in New York City
3,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel

Address: 231 Grand Street, New York City, NY 10013-4246
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chinatown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#181 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#187 Family Hotel in New York City
#217 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £101 - £329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel is located in the heart of Chinatown. It is a modern seven story non-smoking hotel with 102 guest rooms. Many of the guest rooms overlook the streets of Chinatown. The property serves a complimentary continental breakfast daily. For the guests convenience all rooms have hairdryers, iron and ironing board, coffeemakers, clock radios, telephones with voice mail and in-room safes. The hotel offers free wireless and hardwired high speed Internet ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western New York City
New York City Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing