We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, horrible location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel
Ranked #256 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Repeating many of the other posts, there were positives and negatives
PRO: Very friendly staff, clean, free breakfast, close to a subway stop, comfortable beds, relatively spacious rooms for NYC, room was not ready when we arrived early so they stored our bags while we ventured out into the city.

CON: filthy streets, construction everywhere, no parking (2 out of the three lots nearby were full; the third, luckily had openings for $39/day), very thin walls so you can hear everyone in the halls, the smell of fish from the streets prevents opening the windows, no view/filthy windows from construction outside, no place to pull up in front of the hotel to unpack unless you pull on to the sidewalk.

Typical Chinatown sights, sounds and smells. Fish stalls on the streets from hotel to subway are very interesting but the smell can be overwhelming. We enjoyed our stay but would not stay here again due to the location.

Room Tip: Ask for at the end of a hallway to avoid people walking past your room at night or early morning. Y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank poipoi29494
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwen L, General Manager at Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

We appreciate you taking the time to share your comments on TripAdvisor to assist future guests in planning their travels. We do appreciate your feedback and are pleased to hear that overall you enjoyed our hotel. The location is certainly not for everyone. There is an option to use the Canal Street subway station, that is a few blocks further away, but walks you through SoHo and Little Italy instead of the fish markets by the Grand Street station. This location does lead itself to amazing fresh fruit and fantastic restaurants of many different cultures. We do recommend a parking garage a block and a half from the hotel on Chrystie Street and Hester that offers a discount of $35 for our guests, that our staff is happy to provide directions too. Many guests do unload in front of the hotel, but is does need to be done quickly while there is one lane of traffic due to construction. The construction will be completed in July 2014, which will assist with unloading quite a bit. We do appreciate you staying with us and are sorry to hear that you will not be returning.

Best Wishes,
Gwen Lytle
General Manager
212-925-1177

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,320)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

389 - 395 of 1,320 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2014

I recently stayed at this hotel for 10 days. I was there for a wedding in Little Italy and for site seeing. The hotel was in a great location for all of my activities. I loved being able to walk everywhere. The entire staff of the hotel was incredible. I have never been treated so well. They were informative, funny and very warm. I definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank TandMSantaBarbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwen L, General Manager at Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you for staying with us and taking time to review our hotel. I will certainly share your kind review with my team. They are a wonderful group of people that truly enjoy working in hospitality. Our location is great for walking and seeing so many wonderful neighborhoods that NYC has to offer. Please come stay with us again soon!

All the best!
Gwen Lytle
General Manager
212-925-1177'
Gwen.Lytle@InterstateHotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We just returned from a seven-night stay in NYC. We needed to be near Little Italy for a wedding, and chose this hotel because of the reasonable price and Trip Advisor reviews. The hotel is quiet, for a large hotel, and was very clean. Great shower and beds were comfortable. Breakfast was very good, and there was a very clean patio to eat in. The best part of our experience here was the staff. They were friendly, helpful, and answered all our questions about directions, subways, etc... We want to say "thank you" to Jeffrey, Sean, Hugh, and Melissa, for making us feel at home, and treating us so kindly. We would definitely stay here again, and would highly recommend it to anyone visiting NYC.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toni M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwen L, General Manager at Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

I am so thrilled to hear about your wonderful stay with us. I am so proud of my team and all they do to provide personalized service to our guests. I will certainly celebrate your comments with them. Our location is certainly great to be close to Little Italy. I hope you were able to enjoy the great food and shopping in the area. It is great that you were able to enjoy breakfast on the outdoor patio too. Thank you so much for staying with us and reviewing our hotel on TripAdvisor. We look forward to your next visit.

All the best!
Gwen Lytle
General Manager
212-925-1177
Gwen.Lytle@InterstateHotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone for many reasons. The location was fun, the morning breakfast was convenient, our room was clean and spacious, but what really stood out was the employees. They were so friendly and helpful-especially Jeff! We had a great stay.

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank Hbremen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwen L, General Manager at Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

We appreciate your very kind review of the Best Western Bowery Hanbee hotel. Thank you for staying with us. We are thrilled you enjoyed your time with us and took advantage of our location in the NYC neighborhoods. I will certainly share your review with my team and especially Jeffrey. We look forward to you next stay with us.

All the best,
Gwen Lytle
General Manager
212-925-1177
Gwen.Lytle@InterstateHotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

Hotel is in between Chinatown and Little Italy. If you are a foodie, you will enjoy it coz there is lotsa restaurants, bakeries and deli's around. Hotel is one short block from the subway station. Staff is friendly. The only weak point they have is the small breakfast area given the volume of guests they have and the elevator that was constantly out of order. Otherwise this hotel was of good value. Just check if the road construction is done before you book

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annabanana70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwen L, General Manager at Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

I am so glad to hear you were able to enjoy the amazing restaurants around the hotel. The food is amazing and diverse in this area. I am glad to hear the staff took great care of you. Our patio is open for breakfast currently and really allows a more relaxed breakfast experience. We did have issues with our elevator that has proven to be a bigger issue than originially thought. We are in the process of having it correctly permanently. My sincere apologies for the inconvenience.

Best Wishes,
Gwen Lytle
General Manager
212-925-1177
Gwen.Lytle@InterstateHotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This was my first visit for us as a family with a 5 year old. The rooms were clean, spacious and comfortable. The front desk and all staff were very bright eyed and very helpful no matter what time of day!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Belinda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwen L, General Manager at Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

It is so great to hear that our hotel worked so perfectly for your first family trip to NYC. I am glad the staff took good care of you while you were with us. I will certainly share your comments with them. We hope you will return to visit us again soon.

All the best.

Gwen Lytle
General Manager
212-925-1177
Gwen.Lytle@InterstateHotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Large clean room, wooden floors, modern bathroom, great overall experience, The staff was very helpful and pleasant. Great location if you want to be close to LES and Chinatown. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Elizabeth N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwen L, General Manager at Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

We love to hear that our hotel was a good fit for your travel needs while in NYC and that you want to return. Thank you for staying with us and writing the review about your stay to share with other. We look forward to serving you the next time you are in NYC.

All the Best!
Gwen Lytle
General Manager
212-925-1177
Gwen.Lytle@InterstateHotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Hotel Newton
Hotel Newton
#320 of 470 in New York City
1,586 reviews
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#414 of 470 in New York City
555 reviews
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#261 of 470 in New York City
2,078 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel Mulberry
Hotel Mulberry
#262 of 470 in New York City
601 reviews
Midtown
Pod 39 Hotel
Pod 39 Hotel
#200 of 470 in New York City
3,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel

Address: 231 Grand Street, New York City, NY 10013-4246
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chinatown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#181 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#217 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £101 - £314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel is located in the heart of Chinatown. It is a modern seven story non-smoking hotel with 102 guest rooms. Many of the guest rooms overlook the streets of Chinatown. The property serves a complimentary continental breakfast daily. For the guests convenience all rooms have hairdryers, iron and ironing board, coffeemakers, clock radios, telephones with voice mail and in-room safes. The hotel offers free wireless and hardwired high speed Internet ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western New York City
New York City Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing