We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Architectural Treasure and Unique Collection which should not be missed”

The Morgan Library & Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$35.00*
and up
Lower Manhattan Tour: Wall Street and 911 Memorial
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Just a short walk from Grand Central and Penn Station, the Morgan is a major exhibition venue for fine art, literature, and music, one of New York's great historic sites, and a wonderful place to dine, shop, and attend a concert or film.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“An Architectural Treasure and Unique Collection which should not be missed”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We have been lucky enough to visit New York on a number of occasions, but we did not discover the Morgan Library until this May. Quite how this should happen, I know not, for the building is of great architectural interest, and the library collection absorbing. Above all, perhaps, a visit here admirably complements a visit to the Frick Collection: both bring together an eclectic collection of unique treasures in exceptional surroundings for those with an interest in antiquary and artistic matters. The collection needs patience and some exhibits need time to discover their full description. Admission is not unreasonable, (free Friday evenings), and interesting exhibitions are held throughout the year. If you use public transport, it means a walk from the subway, (where you might use Bryan Park Station and take in the New York Public Library as well?), unless you use a bus on Madison Avenue. Strongly recommended as an addition to an itinerary with a cultural bias

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank scliff68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,367 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    939
    367
    48
    11
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“amazed at the contents”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

decided to go here after my partner wanted to - I did not think it would be of interest, but I was amazed at this place. The amount of religious books he has is amazing. prayer books, bibles and a crazy amount of other signed first editions was so overwhelming. The book collection was another interesting feature. The fact that he has in his collections articles from the 10th century kind of left me with my jaw dropped One of my favorites was the Elizabeth the 1st prayer book, letter and a signed document from her and her chief advisor left me speechless.
The fact that Thomas Moore's utopia was there, an article that is from the 15th hand written - original - what can I say! also visited the ny historical society which has a grat civil war quilt collection at the moment

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank JMBmelbaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
545 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
“Morgan Library - free admission Friday evenings”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Our friends told us about the Morgan Library and Museum so we went along with them on a Friday evening, when admission was free. It's a small museum, very interesting modern design, with the highlight being the well preserved original library and office, tucked away in the back corner of the museum. The collection's impressive, so's the interior design and decor of the rooms, the elaborate murals on the vaulted ceilings, it's like a small palace for books. Not sure if I'd spend $18 (adult admission) to see the rooms and exhibits however. But definitely worth a visit if you can get there for the free admission on Friday evenings (7-9 pm).

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank paxa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
435 reviews
225 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“A Great Small Museum with History: A Gem!!”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

As a long term New Yorker, I highly recommend that visitors spend a couple of hours at the Morgan Library in Murray Hill. It is a small scale museum and can easy be viewed in a morning or afternoon. There is a Guttenberg bible here, one of the most influential works in history. Mr. Morgan's library is among the most stunning and visually pleasing rooms in the city. In addition, this room has tremendous significance in the financial history of our country. In this room at the turn of the 20th century, Morgan forced his fellow rich folks to back the failing banks and thus save the US economy. If only the walls could talk!! The new wing has a pretty cafe that is bathed in natural light so visitors can relax after their tour. A gem!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank seanworc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Jewel-box museum and window to Golden Age”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

The library itself is a grand cube with furnishings and stacks that are quietly opulent, and some stunning books and musical scores on display. The library manager's office is now home to a spectacular display of cylindrical scrolls.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank ReiseGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Morgan Library & Museum also viewed

 

Been to The Morgan Library & Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing