We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful library and museum”

The Morgan Library & Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$35.00*
and up
Lower Manhattan Tour: Wall Street and 911 Memorial
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Just a short walk from Grand Central and Penn Station, the Morgan is a major exhibition venue for fine art, literature, and music, one of New York's great historic sites, and a wonderful place to dine, shop, and attend a concert or film.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful library and museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

My husband liked the library so much we went back the next day rather than seeing other New York attractions. The library is beautiful and worth the trip, but the temporary exhibit of items from the Bodleian and the small art exhibit were outstanding. We loved our visit there

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hwsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,342 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    922
    360
    47
    11
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
108 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great spot in Mid Town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed touring the Morgan library and museum. Amazing collection of books, Art and sculpture. The library architecture is a must see! Conveniently located in mid town and small enough to see everything in 1 to 2 hours. Highly recommend adding to your places to visit in NYC.

Helpful?
1 Thank GLtripp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“An Architectural Treasure and Unique Collection which should not be missed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

We have been lucky enough to visit New York on a number of occasions, but we did not discover the Morgan Library until this May. Quite how this should happen, I know not, for the building is of great architectural interest, and the library collection absorbing. Above all, perhaps, a visit here admirably complements a visit to the Frick Collection: both bring together an eclectic collection of unique treasures in exceptional surroundings for those with an interest in antiquary and artistic matters. The collection needs patience and some exhibits need time to discover their full description. Admission is not unreasonable, (free Friday evenings), and interesting exhibitions are held throughout the year. If you use public transport, it means a walk from the subway, (where you might use Bryan Park Station and take in the New York Public Library as well?), unless you use a bus on Madison Avenue. Strongly recommended as an addition to an itinerary with a cultural bias

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank scliff68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“amazed at the contents”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

decided to go here after my partner wanted to - I did not think it would be of interest, but I was amazed at this place. The amount of religious books he has is amazing. prayer books, bibles and a crazy amount of other signed first editions was so overwhelming. The book collection was another interesting feature. The fact that he has in his collections articles from the 10th century kind of left me with my jaw dropped One of my favorites was the Elizabeth the 1st prayer book, letter and a signed document from her and her chief advisor left me speechless.
The fact that Thomas Moore's utopia was there, an article that is from the 15th hand written - original - what can I say! also visited the ny historical society which has a grat civil war quilt collection at the moment

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank JMBmelbaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
540 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
“Morgan Library - free admission Friday evenings”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Our friends told us about the Morgan Library and Museum so we went along with them on a Friday evening, when admission was free. It's a small museum, very interesting modern design, with the highlight being the well preserved original library and office, tucked away in the back corner of the museum. The collection's impressive, so's the interior design and decor of the rooms, the elaborate murals on the vaulted ceilings, it's like a small palace for books. Not sure if I'd spend $18 (adult admission) to see the rooms and exhibits however. But definitely worth a visit if you can get there for the free admission on Friday evenings (7-9 pm).

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank paxa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Morgan Library & Museum also viewed

 

Been to The Morgan Library & Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing