We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect place to visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Frick Collection

Frick Collection
Book In Advance
More Info
US$66.00*
and up
New York City Sightseeing Tour by Coach
Ranked #11 of 1,068 things to do in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Henry Frick once resided in this 18th-century French-style mansion; now its the home of his impressive art collection, which includes Titian, Vermeer, Rembrandt, El Greco, Goya, Whistler and more.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
113 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Perfect place to visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

One of my favourite 'museum' of New York. The real impression that there are still living in their home.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Centvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,807
    1,173
    196
    46
    28
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gosford, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice it you like paintings”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

It was lovely, i do not appreciate art a whole lot, so maybe not the best person to ask. The Video was good though.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Bishmel12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
83 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Amazing find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

What a great collection of art and sculptures! Tip - go on Sunday from 11:00 - 1:00. At that time it is "Pay what you wish". Normal admission is $20 but we paid $5 each because we didn't plan to stay long.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank chitowncuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“One of my FAVORITE places”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

I love coming here ... never get tired of it ... a fabulous collection in a very cool house/museum. After you are finished enjoying your morning at the Frick, walk a couple blocks east to the Asia Society Museum on Park Avenue and have an awesome lunch in the garden cafe there.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank tonik322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norman, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Impressive art collection, indifferent staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

Loved seeing so many great works from such a wide variety of artists and genres. Wish the upstairs had been available to see how the family actually lived, but was captivated by the amazing and wide range of art on display. I especially loved the Constable's 'Salisbury Cathedral' and Bronzino's 'Lodovico Capponi.'

This had been on my bucket list of NYC attractions for the past five visits, so we made the Frick the top priority this go-round. However, it did dampen my ardor a bit to find that most, if not all, of the staff were very stand-offish, barely smiling or responding to greetings or questions. One exception was a gentleman in the library area who answered questions politely and gave us a genuine smile. We travel to NYC often, and find most people are extremely friendly and helpful. Not so at the Frick, unfortunately. The young man who helped me with my large purchase in the gift shop was especially frosty. I believe we would have stayed longer but just really were turned off by the rudeness of the staff.

Overall, great assortment of varied artists, time periods and styles in a gorgeous setting that is impeccably presented. Just prepare to be treated with disdain and indifference by the large percentage of the employees there.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Frick Collection also viewed

 

Been to Frick Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing