We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Richland New York
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
The Watson Hotel(New York City)
US$208
US$200
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
YOTEL New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$212
US$188
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$308
US$274
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$347
SmithHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$301
US$232
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$444
US$412
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
NYLO New York City(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$276
US$267
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Edison Times Square(New York City)
US$204
US$171
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness centre
The Westin New York Grand Central(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$310
US$243
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Park Central Hotel New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$226
US$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness centre
Reviews (706)
Filter reviews
706 results
Traveller rating
306
297
79
14
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
306
297
79
14
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshoward johnsoneast broadwayallen streetnew yorkrooms are smallrecommend this hotelfree breakfastlower manhattanbagelssubway stationbreakfast roomshort stayeach morningvery nice hotelbattery parkbed was very comfortablenyc hotels
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
323 - 328 of 706 reviews
Reviewed 21 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 19 May 2014

For the price there aren't probably very many hotels that are as good as this one. Even though it's very small, it still satisfies your basic needs ... the breakfast can get packed and is very modest, but hey, you're in New York so you can step out a get a special breakfast somewhere else...
The area was quite a shock to us (not in a bad sense)...but Chine town really is CHINA town - a lot of asians, chinese signs, shops, restaurants... so maybe you're not as much in New York for the immediate surrounding, you're rather someplace closer to Beijing...

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iva P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

This charming hotel is located in a bustling and up and coming neighbourhood in the Soho/Lower East Side of Manhattan. Only 18 months old, it has all the mod cons that you would need. Convenient for China town/little Italy/ shopping and subway. By far it's best feature though,is its management and staff who are highly professional and friendly and went above and beyond the call of duty to make my stay comfortable and enjoyable. This included a fresh fruit platter and a greeting card which they presented to me on my birthday which I celebrated during my stay there. 10 out of 10. Many thank much credit to all there.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
Thank Moorowman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I am from Croatia, we went to NY for 8 days, and it was amazing. We Are very satisfeid with hotel, food( we had free breakfast every day) and coffe during all day. Staff is really kind, and helpfull!Rooms Are comfortable and clean! If we decide to visit NY again I would stay in Howard Johnson again!!!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank i_jukic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derek l, Front Office Manager at Hotel Richland New York, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience. We are delighted that you enjoyed our accommodations and the service you received. At Howard Johnson, making each of our guests feel at home is a top priority. I am glad that we succeeded in achieving this with you.

We look forward to serving you again in the very near future.

Warm regards,
Brian Chao
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

The best thing is the hotel is new. Everything is clean and in good condition. Compare to other hotel in NY, I like this place because it's in Manhattan and China town is a safe neighborhood. There are various nice Chinese foods to try. The staffs are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brighttening
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derek l, Front Office Manager at Hotel Richland New York, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear Brightenning,

Thank you for sharing your feedback. I am glad that you enjoyed our facilities and accommodations. We are located in close proximity to both the Chinatown and Lower East Side neighborhoods, and both neighborhoods have so much to offer in Chinese and ethnically diverse cuisines. We do provide a coupon discount for Joe's Shanghai in Chinatown and this is a benefit you may use on your next visit with us.

We enjoyed serving you and look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Warm regards,
Brian Chao
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews