We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice”

Harlem 144 Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Harlem 144 Guest House
Ranked #51 of 79 New York City B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 May 2012

This is perhaps the nicest guest house I have stayed in when in New York City. It looks pretty new and has really nice facilities, furninture, decoration, bathrooms etc.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amymizkatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (24)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 24 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2008

I stayed at the Harlem 144 Guest House with my mother, and as it was her first trip to New York City I wanted to make it a special one. I knew that the key ingredient in our stay would be accommodations that were comfortable, spacious, and quiet – yet in the middle of Harlem, which was the one thing my mother requested. Of course, once she saw Harlem 144 Guest House, she was in heaven! All of her requests had been honored - the Guest House was all I’d hoped for and more. We had the pleasure of staying for four nights in the suite on the ground floor – my mother is not able to climb lots of stairs and while that meant I had to forego other properties in Harlem, 144 Guest House was tailor made for our needs. The spacious suite was equipped with two large beds, in separate areas, both were very comfortable and luxuriously appointed. The furnishings included a beautiful decorative fireplace, several pieces of art, lots of good books, and a large kitchen. All of the necessities were there – iron and board, coffee maker, refrigerator, television, CD player…everything that we needed to feel at home. The private bathroom was sparkling clean and well decorated, and there was plenty of storage space throughout. [Though there were only two of us, two couples would have plenty of space should anyone be looking for accommodations for 4 or even 5 persons.] I plan on staying in the one bedroom unit on the third floor when I'm traveling solo; there is also a 2 bedroom unit on the third floor if you can handle stairs. I'm not a big breakfast person, but the delicious fresh fruit and yogurt, breads and juices made for a great start each day. If you appreciate original art, floors, and antique furniture you will love Harlem 144 Guest House as much as I did. But...

As lovely as the actual suite was, I have to say that the high point of our stay was a personal tour of Harlem by the proprietor, Ms. Bradley. She is a warm and welcoming spirit, well versed in all aspects of New York City life. She was able to answer all of the questions we had about Harlem, the fabulous neighborhood she calls home, and did so with a smile. Ms. Bradley took the time and made a special effort to ensure that my mother enjoyed her trip, and I will forever be in her debt for doing so. I can’t wait to return to Harlem 144 Guest House, and want to assure anyone who is considering a stay there that you could not find a more welcoming space. The combination of beautiful surroundings, conveniently located in the heart of one of the great neighborhoods of New York City, at a very reasonable rate, and (of course) an amazing hostess can’t be beat in my book. Thank you again, Ms. Bradley, for making our stay a memorable one!

8  Thank LynnTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2016, travelled solo
Thank Inna I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Pepisgomez2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
Thank MikhailSemyonoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bukinski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiegoLaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#138 of 469 in New York City
7,331 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#279 of 469 in New York City
11,701 reviews
Midtown
YOTEL New York
YOTEL New York
#133 of 469 in New York City
11,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#411 of 469 in New York City
555 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#354 of 469 in New York City
19,572 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harlem 144 Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harlem 144 Guest House

Address: 144 W 120th St, New York City, NY 10027-6401
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Harlem
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price Range: £76 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Harlem 144 Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For an authentic Harlem experience, try Harlem 144 Guest House. It's located in an 1888 townhouse that is on the National Register of Historic Places in Harlem's fashionable Mt. Morris Historic District. Each space is tastefully furnished with eclectic antiques, African, African American and Caribbean art and artifacts. There is a single room with twin bed that sleeps one, a room with queen bed that sleeps up to two and a room with two double beds that sleeps two that share a kitchen and bath. The garden apartment has a private entrance, bath and kitchen and can sleep up to five. Access to a lovely landscaped garden with grills is one of the great amenities offered. Its only 15 min. To midtown by subway. All rooms are air conditioned and include TVs with cable service (single room does not have TV. Kitchens are fully equipped and quality bed and bath linens are provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Harlem 144 Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing