We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what I expected. ”
Review of Fifth Avenue

Fifth Avenue
Book In Advance
More Info
US$39.99*
and up
Fashion on Fifth Avenue Shopping Tour
Ranked #32 of 1,093 things to do in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Famous street offering some of the most expensive and fashionable shops in the city.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
218 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Not what I expected. ”
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

As a first time visited to NYC, I expected Fifth Avenue to be much like Oxford Street in London. Although it has some similar shops and some more upmarket ones, the shops are very spaced out and there aren't so many of your regular 'high street' shops, meaning there's a lot of walking and map reading to be done.

Additionally, the prices aren't that cheap. Granted, you will find bargains here and there, but on the whole, it's not really that much cheaper than the UK.

I would much rather shop on Oxford Street than Fifth Avenue, but hey, that's my personal choice.

Helpful?
1 Thank 0908267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,793 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,145
    2,022
    554
    54
    18
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
193 reviews
90 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Expensive!”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Well worth a walk along fifth avenue to see all of the great shops in this famous shopping district, although unless you have an unlimited budget, you won't be doing much more than "window shopping."

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Danielle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Carolina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Tiffany's, Saks Fifth, Macy's,...enough said!”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

While the pedestrian traffic was certainly very heavy on the world-renowned shopping Avenue number five, I would say that it was on par with the density of shoppers along the Magnificent Mile in Chicago's shopping district. My girlfriend wanted to make our first stop, of course, at the original Tiffany's. So we did. Even I was amazed by the five-story mega-store, filled with millions upon millions of dollars worth of diamonds, jewels, and even one floor devoted to items for one's home. After finally dragging her out of there- a new charm bracelet on her wrist, of course- we walked down Fifth Avenue, periodically stopping in different stores. I thought it was pretty neat, but way too pricey for me!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Russell C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
810 reviews
209 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 834 helpful votes
“More shops than you can shake a stick at”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

This is the shopping capital of the world. If you have plenty to spend come shopping here. A must do if you are in New York. We didn't actually buy anything but it was still ace.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Docmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fashion Capital”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

A joy to walk this shopping mecca. You feel the wealth and privilege of 5th Avenue.

Great place to see the BEST fashion trends on the PLANET!! New York style is fun to watch.

So many landmarks (Rockefeller, Central Park) radiate from 5th.

5th is my NEW YORK MOMENT.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank slickpoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fifth Avenue also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Fifth Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing