We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crossroads”
Review of Times Square

Times Square
Book In Advance
More Info
US$40.00*
and up
Crossroads of the World Running Tour
Ranked #26 of 1,093 things to do in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Central area in NYC that has many shops, restaurants, office buildings and flashing billboards around it.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
93 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Crossroads”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

For nothing else, Times Square is a great spot to people watch. In addition of the bleachers and other seating options provide easier access and spaces to walk and sit down. The lights, the music booming from stores and street performers, and the smells create a vortex within the city . . . one that is captivating and a bit discombobulating. At midnight it feels like noon, and in the middle of the day it feels like a well lit party scene. Just be wary, the sellers charge more in the square from everything from water to nuts. Two blocks over and water prices go down. Though, as much as I hate chain stores, I do recommend going into American Eagle and snapping a few pics from the viewing platform. The sight of swarms of people can't be beat!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank nycbookwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33,682 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19,860
    8,102
    3,904
    1,158
    658
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
131 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“The heart of New York”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Times Square is the heart and soul of New York. Loud, brash, noisy: it epitomizes the city itself. I love the glitz and trashiness. You really don't need to do much more than to just stroll this square and let it wind you into broadway and the crossroads. You have not been to New York if you have not experienced Times Square.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank My-name-is-Ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skaneateles, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Greatest Place on Earth...for about two days.”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Love love love Times Square! Can't do it for too long, but for a couple of days there isn't any place better!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank NYAimee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shefford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Busy busy busy. ”
Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I visited nyc for a city break. We did like Times Square we just had a few incidents. The lights are brilliant, good atmosphere too! But on our first day we had people calling us awful names that I wouldn't dream of repeating when we said "no thank you" to buying a cd, people demanding we buy them a phone it was just very odd. After our first day we learnt to just walk fast past everything lol! Lots of Shops around Times Square and places to eat its a fun place with good photo opportunities.

Helpful?
1 Thank Poppyxx67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
238 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“The most electrifying place in the world!”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We went to NYC for Thanksgiving and what a treat! Before leaving to come home we spent the afternoon in Times Square. From the lights on Broadway to the smell of chestnuts and other street fare this place is full of energy and dreams. Check out the M and M store because there are all sorts of fun treats to buy for friends and family. There is Sbarro's and John's for pizza, both are delicious. Don't forget to go to the Broadway ticket booth for half priced shows. There is nothing like a great Broadway show. There are so many to choose from. Times Square-- I'm already planning my next trip!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hollin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Times Square also viewed

 

Been to Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing