We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfectly ok hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chelsea Savoy Hotel
Ranked #263 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Halifax
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfectly ok hotel”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

I stayed at the Chelsea savoy on October, based on its good price and location. It is a great location and now has wi-fi . Breakfast was a disappointment, however - coffee and various huge sticky buns.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ValerieHalifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    331
    106
    27
    21
See reviews for
173
132
51
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Chelsea Savoy is my 'go to' hotel since I lived in the neighborhood for years. It's where I love to stay when I return. Has just what you need in a room (including a mini-frig) which is difficult to find in hotels these days. Quiet, spacious and clean. The big plus is its location - couldn't ask for a more convenient hotel - all subways, buses are within a block's walking distance and close to downtown (Village, Soho, Tribeca and Financial District) as well as Times Square. Unfortunately, too many people have found out about this 'gem' of a hotel and couldn't get a reservation last time I visited! Free European breakfast as well!

Room Tip: Higher floors, of course, are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

One of the few hotels I stay at when visiting NYC. Convenient, overall clean, and reasonably priced. Complimentary bagels/pastry and coffee/tea in the morning. Now they have free WiFi. There are nearby parking garages, and if you're taking the Amtrak, Penn Station is about 12 blocks away up 7th Avenue.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We will certainly stay at Savoy again. We enjoyed a big room on 6ht floor, and as a no-elevator person I can assure that all emergency outfit is in place and in good order as I used the emergency staircase several times every day. Good to know isn't it ? The morning coffe was good, the area it is served in is just screaming to be developed further ! Perfect place for a bar or cafe. In the meantime check out Guilty Goose furherr down 23rd street. The show soccer !
You can actually walk to Times square, Madison Garden and Village in the other direction. Or jum on a bus and visit Union Sq. Use ordinary busses instead of subway and see the city.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sissel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trinidad
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

This is the hotel we stay at when we spend time in Manhattan. It is so conveniently located, in the heart of Chelsea, near to everything needed for a great stay in NYC. The hotel is affordable, comfortable and clean. Staff is a bit "to the point" in their approach but friendly enough. Must also mention that having a Donut Plant a few steps away is a bonus.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Mirrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
74 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

The Savoy was very centrally located for our long weekend trip to NYC and it was a very comfortable, quiet place to stay in the heart of one of the largest cities in the world. The traffic settled down by eleven each night and it was very pleasant sleeping. It was easy to walk everywhere or take the subway or buses from very close by the Savoy. The staff were extremely kind and helpful and when I asked for an extra towel for our daughter, they brought up three. They had a very nice flat screen tv with full cable in case we actually had time to watch tv while visiting the big apple, which we really didn't. The bathroom was clean and well-appointed with very nice soaps and toiletries and perfect lighting. The continental breakfast they offer was wonderful, with wonderful, NY bagels and cream cheese, local european pastries, good coffee and a nice selection of teas and hot cocoa. The only reason I gave it a four instead of a five circle rating was that the beds were a lot firmer than I prefer, and they didn't offer any decaffeinated coffee at breakfast, which is all I drink. I would probably have done 4.5 circles if I could have and I would DEFINITELY stay here again, even with the firm bed and lack of decaf--those were minor inconveniences for an affordable, clean, safe and friendly place to stay. Thank you Chelsea Savoy!!!

Room Tip: If there is a possibility of getting a room OFF the street side, by all means, do this, as you would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CindyFW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 October 2013

My husband & I just stayed here Columbus Day weekend and we had a wonderful experience. Clean,very accommodating staff,continental breakfast was very good. Would definitely stay here again & recommend it to others.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EdisonFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
The GEM Hotel Chelsea
The GEM Hotel Chelsea
#291 of 467 in New York City
1,166 reviews
Chelsea
Riff Chelsea
Riff Chelsea
#435 of 467 in New York City
207 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#201 of 467 in New York City
771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
#161 of 467 in New York City
1,807 reviews
Flatiron District
Chelsea Inn - 17th Street
Chelsea Inn - 17th Street
#427 of 467 in New York City
106 reviews
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#53 of 467 in New York City
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea Savoy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Savoy Hotel

Property: Chelsea Savoy Hotel
Address: 204 West 23rd Street, New York City, NY 10011
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#17 Best Value Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Chelsea Savoy Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Budget hotel in NYC that is located in the vibrant Chelsea neighborhood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chelsea Savoy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Chelsea Savoy
Chelsea Savoy New York City
Chelsea Savoy Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing