We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hotel, reasonably priced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
Ranked #177 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Comfortable hotel, reasonably priced”
Reviewed 23 November 2012

A good hotel with a great location,convenient to restaurants, the theater and the subway.
Rooms are clean and well-kept. And all of the staff is kind and helpful. The breakfast area is small but food is good and plentiful.
I have my third stay there coming up soon.

Room Tip: If you want a bit of a view you should ask for a room towards the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Auntiejj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,069 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    843
    929
    212
    46
    39
See reviews for
392
841
153
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Geelong
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2012

my husband and my daughter and myself stayed in this hotel and we were all very happy with it, We were a litlle concerned with the lack of room in the bedroom as we had two double beds and fthree large and two small cases but there was a large wardrobe where we stored three of them so it worked out quite well. The staff at reception were great as was the cleaners and breakfast server, the breakfast room was clean at all times although quite small but they are renovating at the moment. This hotel was also very quiet, clean and comfortable, we would certainly stay there again as it is so close to everything and not too expensive compared to some of the other hotels in the area!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellovergeelong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2012

we have stayd at the hotel 5 nights.
Great location - near everyting! time square, 5th eve., broadway, resturants, bars, shopping.
The subway is just 3-4 minutes from the hotel.
The rooms are big and clean.
The staff is very nice and helpful.
The breakfast is a little bit poor and there is not eunogh tables for all the guests.
Although' we defenitly will come back.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medellin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2012

Hi. Good hotel, silence and location. But Be CAREFUL when you give them your credit card in the front desk for the deposit in case of any damage. They create a phisical voucher which of course show all the information of the credit card. I was there since november 1st to 5th. When I checked my credit card statement I was shocked. They charged it with 900 dollars of orders through Internet. This is the moment I´m still trying to get my money back with my Bank. Thanks.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank vorrego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applecorehotelsstaff, E-Commerce Associate at Broadway at Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, 20 November 2012
Dear vorrego,
Thank you for your review. We are sorry that your credit card information was stolen and misused. However, we can assure you that this did not happen at our hotel. Upon check-in, we swipe the guest’s credit card and take an imprint for our records. This information is not shared or given out to anyone. We do not make vouchers. Our employees continually receive praise over their customer service, and many have worked at the hotel for years.
Thank you.
Liz from Apple Core Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arecibo, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2012

After reading some reviews, I was concerned about room size, but both the room and the bathroom were more than adequate, and, yes, spotlessly clean. I was also concerned about street noise, but even being half a block from Time Square, there was none. The hotel is small but well-kept, renovated but maintaining a fifty's look. Hotel staff efficient and amiable. All in all, a very nice stay. Will probably return when in New York. Location is great!

Room Tip: You may ask for a front room when reserving,
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuarYon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Litchfield, Minnesota
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2012

This hotel is spotless clean!!!!! Very friendly front desk staff and bellman were terrific! Yes, rooms are small but the bathroom was large enough to move around in to get ready. Breakfast area clean and a nice perk. I would give $this hotel a 5 star but I can't... The beds we had were well slept in. They need to buy new beds. they are sagging and you can see it when bed is made. But the location was perfect... 2 blocks maybe to Times Square... When I come back to New York I will be staying here!!! Also, it was safe and the bellman made us feel like we were home... Can't remember his name but tall man who always laughed at me and my gal pal I was there with..

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank McCormicks130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2012

Before I begin, let me state that I have stayed in many hotels and have never been anywhere like here before.

I stayed here with my partner, sisters and parents for 8 nights, in 3 different rooms.
We each paid the same and got completely different sizing rooms.
Upon arriving, the front desk said hello and within the first sentence asked us to pay upfront for all rooms. We found it to be a bit rude, but proceeded to pay and then went up to our rooms.

We now knew why....
The extremely small & stuffy room but was clean (which was at least ONE good thing about this hotel). We then decided to unpack and go to bed. Our heating started spitting out gas or something so we called up Maintenance. He 'fixed' the problem and went away. It didnt stop for the next 2 hours. It was SO loud so we called them up AGAIN. We tried to ask the maintenance man what was going on, but he couldn't speak English, so they just moved us to another room.

The breakfast was cereals, stale doughnuts and juice - I wouldn't bother eating there at all. Go across the street to the cafe deli shop which is open 24 hours.

The rooms have paper thin walls, and can hear everything next door. When next door opened their door, our door shook and sounded like someone was trying to come into our room. I even heard someone going to the bathroom one night!!!

One morning we were heading down stairs to go out and put the 'do not disturb' sign on our door. We ran into the maid on the way out, and she asked if we wanted our room serviced. We said no thank you and went out. When we got downstairs I forgot something in my room and my partner went up stairs to get it... He finds the maid at our door with it open?!?!?! I found that disgusting & very rude. Glad he got up there when he did in case she stole anything.

The days we didnt get our room serviced, the maids got VERY angry and rude. They were very pushy. I know that is their job, but Im not letting people in my room who I don't trust.
One day she asked if we we're leaving and then started cheering in the elevator. She was SO rude!!!

The LIFT/ELEVATOR - slowest lift in NYC. There were broken tiles which my sister tripped on. And you would think that it would have a sensor if someone was getting in, the door wouldn't close on them? I started to walk into the elevator and instead of opening back up, it rushed towards me and closed, and have a terrible bruise on my leg.

The staff are very rude and unprofessional, and not friendly at ALL.

On the last day that we were here, we found out they charged us an extra $5000 on our card, on top of what we already paid!!!!!!!! They said the computer automatically charged it and would try and fix it soon. How many other people has this happened too????

The ONE thing I liked about this hotel was the location, but PLEASE pay a little bit extra and go somewhere nice and professional.

I was so excited to stay here from the great reviews, but NEVER, EVER EVER AGAIN.
We have been extremely disappointed with our stay in NYC and cannot wait to go home.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Lauren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applecorehotelsstaff, E-Commerce Associate at Broadway at Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2012
Dear Imemusic,

Thank you for your review. We are sorry you were not pleased with your stay. Upon arriving, guests are asked for their credit card to be swiped, but this is not for payment until checking out. The room types you had were the same, but the size of the rooms does vary slightly. Hotel rooms in Manhattan generally are smaller than in other parts of the country, and ours are about average for Manhattan. Sometimes, when condensation forms, the heating system will hiss, this is because it is an older system.

Our free breakfast consists of cereals, toast, bagels, yogurt, boiled eggs, sausage, fruit, waffles, and more. When guests put a Do Not Disturb sign on the door, the maids cannot enter the room, however, the rooms do have to be cleaned at least every three days. We can assure you that our employees are very trustworthy and that they would not steal guests’ items.

Our staff works very hard to ensure that our guests have an excellent stay and they continually receive very high praises for their friendliness.

When the extra $5000 was accidentally put on your card, the General Manager personally called the bank to have the money released.

We hope you will give us another chance on your next trip to New York City.

Liz from Apple Core Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#74 of 468 in New York City
865 reviews
Midtown
The Premier New York Times Square
The Premier New York Times Squar...
#171 of 468 in New York City
745 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Hotel at Times Square
The Hotel at Times Square
#285 of 468 in New York City
3,467 reviews
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#73 of 468 in New York City
3,961 reviews
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#57 of 468 in New York City
3,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broadway at Times Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broadway at Times Square Hotel

Property: Broadway at Times Square Hotel
Address: 129 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036-8502 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#147 Family Hotel in New York City
#153 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Broadway at Times Square Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Broadway at Times Square Hotel offers clean and elegant accommodations with free wireless Internet access, flat screen TVs, a fitness center, a 24-hour business center, complimentary continental breakfast, free calls within the US and a lot more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, TravelUp, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Broadway at Times Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Midtown Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Times Square
New York City Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Midtown New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing