We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Hotel for the $” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Broadway at Times Square Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
Ranked #176 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Lawrence KS
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Hotel for the $”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2011

First location...1/2 block from Time Square. Can't get any better than this! This place is within walking distance to nearly every Broadway Musical, many sights, etc. And if it is beyond walking distance, City Sights pickup locations are nearby.

Secondly, the hotel was spotless. Very clean and presentable. Rooms were immaculate and hallways and commons area were always clean. The staff was very friendly and eager to help. The rooms are small, but comfortable. After all, you aren't in NYC to spend the entire time in your room. The bed was very comfortable and the outside noise was non-existent. They served a continental breakfast which we didn't partake in so I'm not certain how that was. Although if you have a chance, eat dinner at Rosie O'Grady's which is just a door or 2 down from this hotel. It was a great place for dinner. Lunch was OK, but dinner was excellent...go for the petit filet. Great value! Speaking of value, the cost of the hotel is in line with what you receive in NYC. We were there to watch the Ball drop so the night before and the night after New Years Eve were economical, but NYE night was double the normal price. I'm sure this was typical of all hotels in NYC that night.

We always felt safe at and around our hotel. Never a concern with any issues. My wife and I walked everywhere during our 3 day stay in NYC. Coming in from LaGuardia Airport (LGA), a taxi charged us right at $40 for the tolls/fare. On our return trip to LGA, we asked the front desk to order us a taxi for the morning of departure and they actually have a private car service they recommended. It was a nice, clean vehicle, w/ a nice, clean driver. They charged $45, which included tolls as well. A shade more expensive, but a less stressful trip compared to the taxi ride.

You can't go wrong with this hotel. You will love it all!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Run4more
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,004 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    820
    895
    209
    44
    36
See reviews for
377
813
148
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moorhead, Minnesota
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2011

I stayed 4 nights in this hotel with a group of high school students. I would stay here again in a New York minute. The best example of the helpfulness of the staff was during breakfast when the attendant looked as me and asked how long we were staying. He said he wanted to make sure he got enough donuts for the kids because they seemed to like them. The hotel has a European feel to it. The rooms are small BUT they are immaculately clean. All this an a block from Times Square! Stay here.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seoultous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2011

Loved hotel/staff/location.... BUT would NOT stay again and NEVER recommend due to "OWNERS" unfair 24hr No Show /Cancellation policy with "NO EXCEPTIONS". So if you have a medical emergency, death, weather problems, etc. you will be charged a fee regardless...basically no reason is good enough. I was charged $307.56 and i know the hotel was not even at Full capacity. I was suppose to stay 12/27 till 12/31 but due to NYC freak snowstorm airports were closed so i was detoured unable to get into NYC to check into hotel till 12/28. I even called twice on 12/27 to update hotel about my status but to them it was already past 24hr notice so it didnt matter and i was still charged. It is so disappointing that this hotel would make money that way off their customers.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chel76c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applecorehotelsstaff, Operations Associate at Broadway at Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, 28 January 2011
Dear chel76c,
Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the hotel’s central location and outstanding staff. We sincerely apologize if you were unhappy in any way. Like most reputable hotels, we adhere to clearly stated rules about cancellations. Our cancellation policy states that you must cancel your reservation by 3PM EST, 24 hours prior to your scheduled check-in date. We apologize if you find this policy to be unfair. We hope that, despite the incident, we will have the pleasure to welcome you again. Thank you.
Liz from Apple Core Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macae, RJ
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2011

The rooms are not big, but are very clean and with confortable beds/sheets and shower. Good complimetary breakfast (coffee, corn flakes, fresh bananas and apples, orange juice, pastry and toasts).Free wireless internet in the rooms and free business center at the lobby.Free phone calls within USA. Free newspaper. Most of the attractions located at walking distances. If you are looking for a confortable place to crash between city-tours, shoppings, museums and theaters, you might consider staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CZS-Brazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2011

The only things that I might change about this hotel was the size of the breakfast area. It was so crowded that there were no tables. I would also change the location of the ice machine...being a femaie and going to the basement to get ice, doesn't seem safe.

Check in was easy, really friendly front desk staff. Great business center and nice exercise facility. Loved the IHome Ipod system and flat screen tvs. Although there was no view from our room (view of brick building), it really was conducive to a great night sleep in a very comfortable bed.

We will definitely stay in this hotel again and recommend to other travels staying in NYC who want a great hotel in an even better location.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kymmie36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applecorehotelsstaff, Operations Associate at Broadway at Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2011
Dear kymmie36,
Thank you for sharing your experience with other Tripadvisor users and recommending our hotel! We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and had a comfortable night's sleep. Please accept our deepest apologies if you couldn't find a table in the breakfast room. Most guests tend to eat breakfast around the same time so it might be difficult. We appreciate your concern about the safety of the ice machine in the basement, but we can assure you that the hotel is very safe and we have staff on duty 24 hours a day.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon!
Liz from Apple Core Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2010

I arrived late for check-in (although I did advise hotel when I booked my room) and everything seemed fine and dandy until I entered "my room". TV is on, garbage bins full of trash. Bed wasn't made. Dirty towels. It was as if somebody else was actually staying in that room. So I immediately went down the front desk and asked for a room change since there seemed to be a mistake. The front desk guy was very helpful and immediately switched me over to one of the upper floor rooms. This time it was clean and good. Room is very small, but it's just fine with me since I'm alone anyhow. Wide screen TV, ironing board, safety deposit box and nice mattress bed. I wasn't really able to enjoy the continental breakfast because not much variety with the bread available so I ate at Applebies. Still, nothing can beat the value + location combined, just a few paces away from Times Square. So all in all still a good experience.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kailuwowie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applecorehotelsstaff, Operations Associate at Broadway at Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2011
Dear kailuwowie,
Thank you for your feedback! Please accept our sincerest apologies on the room mix-up, as this is not something that happens often. However, we are glad that everything was resolved right away and that you found the room and amenities suitable for your needs. We are sorry you did not get to enjoy our complimentary continental breakfast. Our continental breakfast consists of breads, bagels, cereal, fruit, coffee and more as a healthy way to start your day! We hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again soon!
Liz from Apple Core Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canastota, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2010

The location is fantastic! You can walk, take the subway, bus or taxi anywhere. You can be in Times Square in seconds. We can't say enough about the location. The breakfast was very good (plenty for us!!) The rooms may be small but served our purpose and closet was huge!! I felt very safe staying here. Will def. stay again!!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank csgroi110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applecorehotelsstaff, E-Commerce Specialist at Broadway at Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, 17 December 2010
Dear csgroi110:
Thank you very much for your feedback and Happy Anniversary! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our guests indeed love our location: our hotel is located near Rockefeller Center, Times Square, the Theater District, the Museum of Modern Art, Grand Central Station and Fifth Avenue shopping. You can visit museums, go shopping or attend a Broadway show, everything on the same day! Our free breakfast is a good way to start a healthy day: you can choose from fruits, yogurts, several kinds of bread, pastries, cereals, oatmeal, orange and apple juice, and more! Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you soon again!
Myriam from Apple Core Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#81 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
Midtown
The Hotel at Times Square
The Hotel at Times Square
#287 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,364 reviews
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#61 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square Central
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York - Times Square Central
Hilton Garden Inn New York - Tim...
#159 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Mela
Hotel Mela
#258 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broadway at Times Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broadway at Times Square Hotel

Property: Broadway at Times Square Hotel
Address: 129 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036-8502 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#46 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#148 Family Hotel in New York City
#154 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Broadway at Times Square Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Broadway at Times Square Hotel offers clean and elegant accommodations with free wireless Internet access, flat screen TVs, a fitness center, a 24-hour business center, complimentary continental breakfast, free calls within the US and a lot more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelUp and Superbreak UK so you can book your Broadway at Times Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Midtown Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Times Square
New York City Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Midtown New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing