We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and convenient”
Review of Hotel Newton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Newton
Ranked #317 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 2 October 2011

Spent 4 days here and found it a great starting point for exploring NY. The elevator wasn't working one of the days, but otherwise a hassle free experience. Room was on the small side but cleaning was great. Only thing I really missed was free wi-fi, which meant quite a few visits to Starbucks. :-)
Location is perfect with Central park close by and subway station just a few metres away. Next door diner was good for breakfast and there are many nice restaurants on nearby Amsterdam ave. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HGR12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MILO928, Manager at Hotel Newton, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2011

Thank you for your recent comments and we look forward to your next stay with us.
Believe me, we are working on the wifi rates.

Emilio Morales Jr.
Director of Reservations and Revenue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,551)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Newton
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

610 - 616 of 1,551 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2011

The hotel staff was great - I left a valuable set of notes, they found them, and scanned those pages I needed urgently and sent the rest by FED EX. While the rooms are a little warn, the hotel was very clean, the location near the subway was great, the rooms were quiet, the microwave and fridge were convenient, and it was close enough to riverside park and central park for jogging. If they upgraded the furniture and decor this would go from a really good to a really great choice.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank lawyerx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MILO928, Manager at Hotel Newton, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2011

I thank you for your recent comments regarding your stay with us! I am so happy that we were able to get those papers back to you! I will pass on your message regarding the furniture to the General Manager as we normally do a sweep of all rooms every 6 months and replace any furniture that is beginning to look worn with brand new pieces. We look forward to your future stay with us.

Emilio Morales Jr.
Director of Reservations and Revenue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Well, where to start? We booked a king room at the Newton Hotel on 96th Street. The room was really small, you couldn't rest your suitcases on the floor, we had to leave them standing up. There was no space for a closet.

The rooms are really dark, the walls are brownish and really old. An average dorm room has more space. Guess because it's NY they can charge you lots of money for internet, parking etc. The bathroom was the best thing about the room, it was clean and we had enough space in there.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank BojanLo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MILO928, Manager at Hotel Newton, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2011

I thank you for your recent comments regarding your stay and I am sorry if your stay with us did not meet expectations. I worry about part of it because I feel you came expecting a King room but the Hotel Newton has never carried King rooms. We never advertise to carry them and hence I feel you may have booked through a third party that guaranteed you something that was impossible for us to deliver to you. Regarding the actual rooms, all rooms are brand new and the wall paper is brown not dirty. It is meant to go with the cherry oak and dark brown furniture and all rooms come with closets so I didn't quite understand that comment. We certainly wish you well in your travels and if you ever decide to try the Newton again, I would probably suggest a Deluxe room as it is much larger.

Emilio Morales Jr.
Director of Reservations and Revenue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

What a neat little place-- on Labor Day weekend, a single room happened to pop open and I snagged it, and wasn't let down. The room was pretty spacious with a desk and the remodeling was really nice, although I am not a fan of hideous bedspreads, but the bathroom is indeed gorgeous. Nice front desk service, but paid wifi was a bummer (albeit cheap). Would definitely return.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank wandersmuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MILO928, Manager at Hotel Newton, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2011

We thank you for deciding on the Hotel Newton! I am happy that your stay is a good one even though you don't like our bedspreads! I have to admit, I'm not such a fan of them either! They are very warm however! We look forward to your next stay with us.

Emilio Morales Jr.
Director of Reservations and Revenue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

I stayed here last month with my teenaged son. It was an excellent, quiet retreat where we could rest up between bouts of experiencing this wonderful, overwhelming city. We went everywhere on the subway, and it was a huge plus to have it deliver us virtually to our front door. The rooms are not fancy but the beds were very comfortable, it was very clean, and it was quiet. What more do you really need? Front desk staff were polite but not exceptional.

Room Tip: rooms at the back of the hotel are extremely quiet
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank DrMiriam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MILO928, Manager at Hotel Newton, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2011

Thank you for your comments and for pointing out our accessibility to Metro stations! We are definitely working on making our front desk exceptional.

Emilio Morales Jr.
Director of Reservations and Revenue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Very nice for 4 ladies traveling to the US Open tennis tournament. We had a deluxe junior suite and enjoyed having the 2nd sink in the kitchenette area. Very safe and quiet.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank willtravel2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2011

This may have been the smallest hotel room I've ever stayed in, but it was as expected for a building of this vintage. The bathroom was nicely and recently renovated. The location was great for my purposes, (near Columbia University) with the subway station right outside the door. There are good restaurants nearby (the Manhattan Diner was great!) I would stay here again, and would recommend it to friends who are looking for a less expensive alternative to hotels further downtown.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Shawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Belnord Hotel
Belnord Hotel
#303 of 468 in New York City
1,321 reviews
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#382 of 468 in New York City
642 reviews
Upper West Side
Astor on the Park
Astor on the Park
#393 of 468 in New York City
1,519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#219 of 468 in New York City
1,559 reviews
Upper West Side
Days Inn Hotel New York City-Broadway
Days Inn Hotel New York City-Bro...
#430 of 468 in New York City
1,973 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#188 of 468 in New York City
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Newton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Newton

Address: 2528 Broadway, Upper West Side of Manhattan, New York City, NY 10025-6946
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #317 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £74 - £232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Newton 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive Nine-story Hotel located on the Upper West Side, convenient to Columbia University, theaters, museums & shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Newton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing