We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”
Review of Hotel Newton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Newton
Ranked #307 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
Reviewed 15 May 2012

We stayed here for nine days in April 2012 and enjoyed it. The Newton provides good value for money, it's clean and the staff were generally very helpful. The only minor drawback is that there's only one lift, which is slow at times. There's a subway station right outside and plenty of places to eat nearby. We'd be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlanW2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MILO928, Manager at Hotel Newton, responded to this review, 18 May 2012
I thank you for your review and look forward to your return to us soon.

Emilio Morales Jr.
Director of Reservations and Revenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,496 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    382
    741
    255
    69
    49
See reviews for
386
451
120
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
74 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

This was our third stay at the Newton, which is our hotel of choice in NYC. Here are my pros/cons/advise:

Pros: Immaculate hotel – they have a great housekeeping staff. This is as clean a hotel as I have ever been in. Friendly front desk (I will single out Charles and Jan). Wonderfully comfortable bed (they are firm). Location, Location, Location. The 96th Street subway has express trains downtown (2 and 3), which are real timesavers. If you don’t like the subway, the M104 or M5 bus will get you just about anywhere you want to go. The M96 crosstown bus makes getting to/from the eastside a breeze. The upper westside is very safe and has a great neighborhood feel.

Cons: Our window unit air conditioner was old and loud. Since it is a window unit, there is no closing the blackout drape. Consequently, our room was flooded with daylight by 6:30am.

Advise: Do NOT buy a ticket from the front desk for a ride to the airport on the Airlink shuttle. I was told by the front desk that the Newton was the last stop before going to the airport. It was the first stop and we spent an hour bouncing around Manhattan in an Econoline van going to 4 or 5 other hotels. I’m sure they get a commission selling tickets for this, but to lie about how the service operates left an unpleasant taste in my mouth after a wonderful stay. The Manhattan diner next door is good, but you can save a few bucks at breakfast by going to the very good Corner Café at the SE corner of 94th/Broadway. Gotham Wines & Liquors is right across the street and has a nice selection at fair prices.

The Newton is not a 5-star hotel and does not pretend to be. You will get a clean, comfortable room in an excellent location. The staff makes every effort to please. If you are courteous and pleasant to the staff, they will go out of their way to help. You get a lot of “bang for your buck” at the Hotel Newton.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rlbintegrity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MILO928, Manager at Hotel Newton, responded to this review, 18 May 2012
I thank you for your recent comments and let me begin by apologizing if it seems that our staff was deceptive in any way. We normally never say whether it is a last stop unless we are specifically told by the company when booking. there is a chance that we were the last stop and after booking, the company added other stops but we never guarantee yes or no and if it seems as we did, again, I offer my sincere apologies. It looks like all else seemed well and we surely look forward to your return to us.

Emilio Morales Jr.
Director of Reservations and Revenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

My daughter and I stayed for 8 nights when visiting one of my other daughters who lives on the upper east side. We booked a double superior queen.The hotel was clean, beds comfortable and bathroom adequate. Plenty of hot water for a bath. Bath towels on the small size. Patience is necessary when waiting for the lift as it's very slow and small, especially in the mornings as the staff use it when cleaning the rooms. TV, microwave, coffee machine, fridge, iron and board all provided. Windows opened which is a bonus in a hotel which is often too warm. Plenty places for breakfast, lunch or dinner. The metro is a 1 minute walk, as is the crosstown bus which goes through Central Park to the East Side. Front of house staff were helpful. No free wifi. Luggage room requires 5 dollars in order to leave your case in the locker. Would stay again.

Room Tip: If you are in and out of the hotel a lot, choose a room on the lower floors as you won't get fru...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brownhog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MILO928, Manager at Hotel Newton, responded to this review, 18 May 2012
I thank you for your recent review and I am happy that all seemed well. We will look into all of your usefull tips in an effort to better your next stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again.

PS We will be looking at the towel comment right away!

Emilio Morales Jr.
Director of Reservations and Revenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

My wife and I stayed here for eight nights last month and loved it. Our room was a Superior Queen. The few complaints I see on this website seem to stem mostly from reserving through hotel-booking sites, which often promise room types the Newton doesn't even have! We booked through the hotel itself, which has a number of packages, and were very pleased. Got our room for less than $200 a night -- not bad for Manhattan, especially for this level of quality. The Newton is right on top of a subway station for the 1, 2 and 3 lines, which put us in Times Square in only 20 minutes -- 5 minutes on an Express train. The room was spotless with no bedbugs, while the big bathroom had good water pressure in the shower. Staff were knowledgeable, helpful and friendly.

The many amenities in the immediate neighborhood including a 24-hour drug store, a performance space, a live blues and jazz club and a couple of good delis. Loved the Lumberjack Breakfast at the Manhattan Diner two doors down (their sausage was the best I've had in years; some sort of spice in it). Central Park and the Hudson River both a short walk away. Beautiful architecture on the buildings in this safe neighborhood.

I can honestly say we'll stay here on future trips to New York and not look elsewhere.

The only complaint -- and this is very minor -- is that the wife felt the bed was a little too soft, but I thought it was fine.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank SiamSamBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MILO928, Manager at Hotel Newton, responded to this review, 11 May 2012
Thank you for your recent review and we look forward to your return to us. I am pleased that all was a success and yes, when you go directly through any hotel website, there is no room for discrepancy as you are booking the exact room type. Great tip for our prospective guests

Emilio Morales Jr.
Director of Reservations and Revenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

The room was a nice size and the beds were large and comfortable. Everything was spotlessly clean. There was a microwave, refrigerator and ironing facilities, and our room was en suite. Reception was very helpful and friendly, especially when we needed to move room at the end of our stay (we went from 3 guests to 2 and we had booked a smaller room for the 2 of us on the last night). Aircon was efficient. Excellent transport links - less than a minute to the subway and only two stops on the express 2&3 to Times Square. Plus there are nearby buses which go across-town. It was just a couple of blocks from Central Park.

On the downside, there was no safe which was surprising for a hotel of this calibre. Also the room was quite noisy as we were west-facing (looking onto the road) and the windows weren't great.

(As an aside, don't bother eating at the nearby Manhattan Diner which is affiliated to the hotel: we were seated right at the back next to the crazy person when there were plenty of available seats near the front with the sane people. The service was poor, the waitress was generally sullen and she wouldn't give me the right password for the allegedly free wifi. Very disappointing. However, DO bother with the little smoothie bar right next to the hotel - yum).

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Heather_Lon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MILO928, Manager at Hotel Newton, responded to this review, 11 May 2012
I thank you for your recent comments and we look forward to your return to us. On your next stay, please come down with your valuables as there is a complimentary safe deposit box in the lobby of the hotel next to the luggage storage room. I am sorry if this was not communicated to you. I will definitely pass on your comments to the restaurant next door. Unfortunately, it is not our restaurant but does provide us with room service and we expect the customer service to be exactly the caliber that you would recieve while staying with us.

Emilio Morales Jr
Director of Reservations and Revenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nyc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

When I booked the room there was no indication I would be given a TINY room with a very small single bed. Old carpets ..smelly and the smallest bed I have sly on since college. When I tried to leave before checking into the room they refused to give me a refund and had major attitude saying well it never actually said a queen sized bed.

Room Tip: Don't get saddled with 307 which is a TINY TINY room ..can touch all four walls...single bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jake S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MILO928, Manager at Hotel Newton, responded to this review, 11 May 2012
Thank you for your recent comments and I am sorry if the room was not up to your expections. However , I would like to point out that the actual room is clearly pictured on our website and this is the only place that we sell this petite single. It runs approximately $40 to $50 below our next room rate and all of the singles are brand new rooms with new carpeting and new furniture. We have not logged any complaints given to our front desk in the month that you arrived to us regarding this room and would never anything other than what the room comes with and is. We have never had any complaints of smelly carpeting and so are a bit surprised by the comments. I would suggest you trying our Superior brand of rooms which is much larger in the future and wish you well in your future travels

Emilio Morales Jr.
Director of Reservations and Revenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Nice hotel with small rooms that have everything we needed (including a microwave and refrig).
Make sure you ask for a room with a private bathroom. If you want a quiet room, please specify that too. The staff was so helpful, we really felt at home.

Room Tip: ask for a private bath and quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Belnord Hotel
Belnord Hotel
#301 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,270 reviews
Upper West Side
Days Inn Hotel New York City-Broadway
Days Inn Hotel New York City-Bro...
#429 of 467 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,910 reviews
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#387 of 467 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Marrakech Hotel
Marrakech Hotel
#390 of 467 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,575 reviews
Upper West Side
Astor on the Park
Astor on the Park
#397 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,483 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#198 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Newton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Newton

Property: Hotel Newton
Address: 2528 Broadway, Upper West Side of Manhattan, New York City, NY 10025-6946
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #307 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Newton 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive Nine-story Hotel located on the Upper West Side, convenient to Columbia University, theaters, museums & shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Newton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing