We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Newton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Newton
Ranked #303 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Bombay
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Decent hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

The hotel is far away from the center of Manhattan but the subway is very close. The staff is very helpful. The room was nice but the airconditioning needs updating. They have old window airconditioners which sound like a lawnmower.

Room Tip: Ask for the superior rooms when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MikeSolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MILO928, Manager at Hotel Newton, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
Thank you for your recent review and let me apologize if our A/C units were at all uncomfortable for you. All units are brand new and if you ever have an issue while staying with us, please feel free to contact our desk right away and if we can't fix it, we will replace it immediately. Your comfort is paramount to us.

Emilio Morales Jr.
Director of Reservations and Revenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,486 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    382
    739
    250
    67
    48
See reviews for
385
447
119
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

After a long trip from Australia, it was wonderful to have such a warm greeting when we checked in. Thank you!! We were lucky enough to stay in the Newton for 10 days in a junior suite which was roomy, comfortable and clean( These things for me and my family are important when travelling)As this was our second stay in this hotel, you would think that there would be some glitches. Err no. Everyday our room was cleaned by wonderful, professional staff, the desk staff (Landry, Jan and co) were happy and talkative-not just to us i noticed but to all and the doorman was always polite and helpful.
Yes, Mr Morales, you have exceptional, hard working staff and they have our praise and thankyous.
As for the hotel itself, it is tucked far enough away from the touristy trappings of Times Square et al, yet close enough to the subway and Downtown. The local nieghbourhood is full of free wifi via hotspots and Starbucks (if you dont want to pay at the hotel), local street vendors for fresh fruit, Europan( a deli/diner across the road), ice cream shop, pet shop and movie theatre (think rainy day)etc that you feel a part of the Upper west side community. We walked easily to Central Park where we did the things we missed out last time (Bethesda fountain, John Lennon/Imagine and came upon a great giant bubble maker man).Getting around is easy with the convenience of the 96th st subway, which took us safely to our destinations. I have an 11 year old who never felt scared travelling beyond 9 pm on the subway with us as security seems paramount in this amazing city
But back to the Newton- if you want to be in the mix of things, with flash as movie star up to the minute appointments-then choose elsewhere. if you would like to stay away from tourist crowds, where you can really "feel' the genuine hospitality of staff, where time is self paced(you don't care if the elevator is "too slow") you appreciate clean rooms and great beds then this, my friend IS IT!!

Room Tip: if staying for more than a week, the junior suite is well worth it. The extra space makes a big diff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank happyhearthome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MILO928, Manager at Hotel Newton, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
Thank you for that solid gold review!!! We expect every stay to be better than the last and we are happy that we didn't disappoint you! we hope to have many more with you

Emilio Morales Jr.
Director of Reservations and Revenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
83 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012

We stayed here overnight in July 2011 and had a very nice room with a clean bath. Since there is so much to do in the city, we weren't in the room much, but it was comfortable when we were. The staff was helpful with parking recommendations and such. Good nights stay and as affordable as we could find in NYC. The little restaurant next door was so convenient and a had a great breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amw4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MILO928, Manager at Hotel Newton, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
Thank you for your recent comments and we look forward to your next stay with us.

Emilio Morales Jr.
Director of Reservations and Revenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cordoba, Argentina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

This hotel is really wonderful, I stayed a week here. The room was very clean, comfortable. Also added that the hotel workers were very nice people, especially Landry. Thank you very much Newton Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cala56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012 via mobile

This hotel was great! We had the top floor room that shared a bathroom. I thought this would be some what annoying at times but it was honestly no problem whatsoever! Im pretty sure it's just the 2 rooms that share the one bathroom anyway? No big deal. The room was fine, flatscreen TV with cable, comfortable double bed, microwave and refrigerator, chair & desk, bedside table- all you really need in a hotel that you don't spend all day, every day in right? Yes the AC is a little noisier than most would probably like (my boyfriend didn't sleep too well due to this), however considering your in NYC, this room had NO street noise AT ALL so the AC didn't bother me the slightest! Location is great, 2 min walk to subway that will take you downtown and into all the hustle and bustle.
The only negative I have is that wifi is not included in room rate, we paid $5 each for wifi and BE AWARE it is only valid from noon-noon! We weren't told this and both my boyfriend and I purchased wifi at 7pm(thinking it was atleast 24hrs), went to use it at 12:15pm the next day and it wouldn't connect- asked reception what was going on, they then told us its only valid until noon-no matter what time you pay for it! Grrr!
Overall though, this hotel met my expectations and would stay here in the future.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Krisstylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alameda, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

I can't believe I forgot to post a review of this hotel, where we stayed in July of 2010 for a week-long visit.

The hotel was perfect for our needs. Actually, there was a little glitch when we checked in - they put us in a much smaller room than what we had reserved. Since we had plans that evening, we basically tossed our stuff in the room, noticed that, wow, rooms ARE small in New York, and headed out. By the time we got back, there were no rooms available of the type we had reserved. The desk staff was very apologetic, and resolved the problem the next day. It was no big deal.

The location of this hotel is ideal: the Upper West Side is a great place to be, with all of the great restaurants, close to Central Park, etc., plus, there's a subway station right down the block. Throughout our stay, the staff was very friendly, and the property was spotless.

Next time we visit New York, I will be checking the Newton for availability first!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BowlderMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MILO928, Manager at Hotel Newton, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
Thank you for your review of our property and we look forward to your next stay. One suggestion is to sign on for our mailing list for any specials we run in the future. I apologize for any reservation issue and thank you for taking it in stride. Please contact me when you are ready to book your next stay as I would like to extend a complimentary upgrade if possible.

Emilio Morales Jr.
Director of Reservations and Revenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Temecula
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

Our family of 4 (with 12 & 14 year old) really enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Newton! We had a very clean and updated smallish room, but I've heard it is large for a NY room. This hotel feels like you are staying in a home, as it is very comfortable and the staff is nice & very accomodating. There is a mini fridge & a microwave in the room and plenty of towels.

Even though it is a far walk from downtown, it is very close to the 96th street subway which is quite convenient. The Manhattan restaurant next door is excellent food that is reasonably priced & very fast service! Down the street is a cool quick pizza place that has much more & there are 2 Starbucks within 2 blocks. Don't forget a stop at one of the local fruit carts- one is up two streets & across the street. Central Park is within walking distance, but it is a bit far to the Met- although we walked there on a hot day.

For the price, we felt like we could not beat this place. The neighborhood is peaceful (for NY) & very nonthreatening, the hotel was very quiet & clean, and we hope to return.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1nelson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MILO928, Manager at Hotel Newton, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
Thank you for your review and posting of the picture of the room! The Manhattan cafe indeed is a great spot for a great meal while staying with us and they do room service for our property from 5am to 1am in the morning. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Emilio Morales Jr.
Director of Reservations and Revenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Belnord Hotel
Belnord Hotel
#302 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
Upper West Side
Days Inn Hotel New York City-Broadway
Days Inn Hotel New York City-Bro...
#424 of 467 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,891 reviews
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#386 of 467 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Marrakech Hotel
Marrakech Hotel
#384 of 467 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,565 reviews
Upper West Side
Astor on the Park
Astor on the Park
#394 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,480 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#200 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Newton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Newton

Property: Hotel Newton
Address: 2528 Broadway, Upper West Side of Manhattan, New York City, NY 10025-6946
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #303 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Newton 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive Nine-story Hotel located on the Upper West Side, convenient to Columbia University, theaters, museums & shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Superbreak UK, Agoda, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Newton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing