We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value and location for a NYC hotel, my family stayed there last November, and I stayed there numerous times over the years.”
Review of Hotel Newton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Newton
Ranked #324 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 26 August 2012

This was always a hidden gem on the Upper West Side steps from Central Park, restaurants, transportation and shopping. We started staying there when we rented out our apartment years ago and had to come back to the city periodically. It was not renovated as it is now, but it was still safe, clean, wonderful concierge, restaurant next door providing room service, and very inexpensive ( we are talking late 1990s early 2000's. )

Then the Hotel Newton was completely renovated. There are huge suite size rooms, actual suites with fridge and I believe micro, very nice furnishings, a small not very fancy lobby but oh, still a gem!

They are frequently very booked. They became so popular that the prices went up considerably, fluctuating by season, but for NYC, Manhattan, the trendy Upper West Side, with a mix of chic residential on Central Park West, townhouses on the side streets, shops and restaurants galore, can't be beat.
My family stays there whenever they come into the city and just love it!

This is a small boutique hotel. It's not big on glitz. There is no razzle dazzle. But you will get a very nice clean room and great service.

Don't expect motel prices from Interstate exits, this is Manhattan, but you get wonderful value, great neighborhood and convenience. If you can get a room, stay here! You won't be be disappointed!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nygoldengirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,578)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

543 - 549 of 1,578 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2012

I stayed here for 6 nights in July with my partner. We booked the hotel late, but I still felt that $200/night for a 3 star hotel was expensive, especially since the hotel was out of times square.

When we arrived however, we had an experience that didn't seem 3 star. The hotel had a doorman, a welcoming lobby and wonderful concierge staff. There were a few we dealt with that were excellent, however unfortunately, the only name I remember is Charles. He was very personable and gave us an upgrade from a superior double room on arrival.

The rooms were nice, although I would say they were a little bit small, which made it difficult to fit two suitcases. I hate to think how small the superior double room would have been. But the room was very clean, as was the bathroom. It had a mini fridge which was useful, and had an air conditioner, which we did NOT find to be noisy.

Another bonus is the location. The hotel is in a decent neighbourhood and is near restaurants, a 24 hour chemist, a Starbucks and a bank. It is also right next to 96th street subway. This was brilliant as it saved us catching cabs everywhere, and was only about 10 minutes to get to times square. The staff were really helpful with directions, and what subway to catch. And they gave us a late checkout.

I only really had two issues with my stay:

1. Do not go to the restaurant next door (I think it is called Longrain Thai) unless you are willing to tip big. We were yelled at for giving a 10% tip, and I have heard other tourists who have left no tip have been physically grabbed by the staff.
2. Think twice before catching the hotels car service to the airport on checkout. We were told the car service was $60 including tolls and tip, and a taxi would cost $50. Turns out the car service was $60, not including a $6.50 toll and not including tip. I think a taxi would have been a lot cheaper.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OliviaG21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We stayed at The Newton at the end of July for 4 nights. Our only gripe would be the air conditioning, which was very noisy. Not that it caused a problem because it kept the room cool during the day we and turned it off at night. It wasn't too hot and because it was quiet we still got a good nights sleep each night.

The room was small but was very clean and had everything we needed. The bed was comfortable. The coffee maker was great and made a very good cup of coffee for first thing in the morning. The bathroom was clean and well equipped.

There is no restaurant but the Manhattan Diner a couple of doors away was perfect for breakfast and for evening meals.

Central Park is within walking distance and the subway station almost directly outside gets you to Times Square, so long as you catch a number 2 or 3, in 2 stops.

The staff were great always cheerful and very helpful. Many thanks to them.

We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank folkjokeopus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MILO928, Manager at Hotel Newton, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2012

Thank you for your review and we look forward to your next stay with us.

Emilio Morales Jr.
Director of reservations and Revenue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

The hotel is far away from the center of Manhattan but the subway is very close. The staff is very helpful. The room was nice but the airconditioning needs updating. They have old window airconditioners which sound like a lawnmower.

Room Tip: Ask for the superior rooms when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank CaptMikeSolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MILO928, Manager at Hotel Newton, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2012

Thank you for your recent review and let me apologize if our A/C units were at all uncomfortable for you. All units are brand new and if you ever have an issue while staying with us, please feel free to contact our desk right away and if we can't fix it, we will replace it immediately. Your comfort is paramount to us.

Emilio Morales Jr.
Director of Reservations and Revenue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

After a long trip from Australia, it was wonderful to have such a warm greeting when we checked in. Thank you!! We were lucky enough to stay in the Newton for 10 days in a junior suite which was roomy, comfortable and clean( These things for me and my family are important when travelling)As this was our second stay in this hotel, you would think that there would be some glitches. Err no. Everyday our room was cleaned by wonderful, professional staff, the desk staff (Landry, Jan and co) were happy and talkative-not just to us i noticed but to all and the doorman was always polite and helpful.
Yes, Mr Morales, you have exceptional, hard working staff and they have our praise and thankyous.
As for the hotel itself, it is tucked far enough away from the touristy trappings of Times Square et al, yet close enough to the subway and Downtown. The local nieghbourhood is full of free wifi via hotspots and Starbucks (if you dont want to pay at the hotel), local street vendors for fresh fruit, Europan( a deli/diner across the road), ice cream shop, pet shop and movie theatre (think rainy day)etc that you feel a part of the Upper west side community. We walked easily to Central Park where we did the things we missed out last time (Bethesda fountain, John Lennon/Imagine and came upon a great giant bubble maker man).Getting around is easy with the convenience of the 96th st subway, which took us safely to our destinations. I have an 11 year old who never felt scared travelling beyond 9 pm on the subway with us as security seems paramount in this amazing city
But back to the Newton- if you want to be in the mix of things, with flash as movie star up to the minute appointments-then choose elsewhere. if you would like to stay away from tourist crowds, where you can really "feel' the genuine hospitality of staff, where time is self paced(you don't care if the elevator is "too slow") you appreciate clean rooms and great beds then this, my friend IS IT!!

Room Tip: if staying for more than a week, the junior suite is well worth it. The extra space makes a big diff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank happyhearthome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MILO928, Manager at Hotel Newton, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2012

Thank you for that solid gold review!!! We expect every stay to be better than the last and we are happy that we didn't disappoint you! we hope to have many more with you

Emilio Morales Jr.
Director of Reservations and Revenue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

We stayed here overnight in July 2011 and had a very nice room with a clean bath. Since there is so much to do in the city, we weren't in the room much, but it was comfortable when we were. The staff was helpful with parking recommendations and such. Good nights stay and as affordable as we could find in NYC. The little restaurant next door was so convenient and a had a great breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amw4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MILO928, Manager at Hotel Newton, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2012

Thank you for your recent comments and we look forward to your next stay with us.

Emilio Morales Jr.
Director of Reservations and Revenue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

This hotel is really wonderful, I stayed a week here. The room was very clean, comfortable. Also added that the hotel workers were very nice people, especially Landry. Thank you very much Newton Hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cala56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#227 of 469 in New York City
1,581 reviews
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#384 of 469 in New York City
652 reviews
Upper West Side
Belnord Hotel
Belnord Hotel
#301 of 469 in New York City
1,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Days Inn Hotel New York City-Broadway
Days Inn Hotel New York City-Bro...
#435 of 469 in New York City
2,015 reviews
Upper West Side
Astor on the Park
Astor on the Park
#393 of 469 in New York City
1,536 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#189 of 469 in New York City
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Newton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Newton

Address: 2528 Broadway, Upper West Side of Manhattan, New York City, NY 10025-6946
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #324 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £87 - £251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Newton 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive Nine-story Hotel located on the Upper West Side, convenient to Columbia University, theaters, museums & shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Superbreak UK, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Newton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing