We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place”
Review of Hotel Newton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Newton
Ranked #320 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Staff is very friendly, hotel manager,Emilio, was great. He upgraded us to a double queen corner room with windows. The room was clean, good value for the money, and quiet. The hotel is near the subway and twenty minutes from the Yankees games, so we loved it. It is located in Upper West side, with good food near. We ate at "Smoke" the last night which is a dinner and blues club. It was wonderful. We will recommend The Hotel Newton to all our friends and family.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlaskaGirl14cc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MILO928, Manager at Hotel Newton, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2012

Thank you for your kind review. I always say that the best part of staying in this area are the great local restaurants! no tourist traps with mediocre food, but good local New York Cuisine. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Emilio Morales Jr.
Director of Reservations and Revenue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,586)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

537 - 543 of 1,586 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2012

The staff very friendly and could answer some of the questions I had about the city, I liked my room, it felt newly renovated and was clean, a bit small but considering the price nice rooms in a good neighborhood. I can really recommend it!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3son
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

It was more than ten years ago that we last stayed at the Hotel Newton. It was nice to see that the bathroom was renovated. Although the furniture is not great quality, the room was very clean, extremely quiet and had all that was needed. The room was very small, but in NYC most of our time is spent out of the room. The front desk staff was helpful and pleasant. Hotel prices in NYC are high and this is good value for a convenient location. The elevator is a bit slow, but if you don't mind walking, take the stairs. With a small room, one hears the a/c if you are not accustomed to using a/c. It was nice to be able to open both the bathroom and bedroom window. There is a charge for the internet, but we were able to pick up another signal nearby.

Room Tip: Get a room with a renovated bathroom at the back of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coast_to_coast_250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

What an amazing hotel. This is a limited amenities hotel, but you forget all about that the moment you step into the hotel. From the door man (who was always there to greet and hold the door), to front desk staff and cleaning staff - everybody was very nice and service minded.
The room was newly renovated and VERY clean. We stayed in a Deluxe Queen room and it was HUGE for a New York hotel room. It was facing the street but we did not hear the noise.
The hotel is surrounded by coffee shops and restaurants as well as a fitness center across the street and just outside the hotel you have the nearest Subway Station. Taking Line 2 or 3 it took us 5 minutes to get to Times Square.
Walk a few blocks east of the hotel and you are in Central Park. We walked through the park to 5th Avenue, a perfect start to the day.
Before we came we were a bit worried that the hotel was located so far north, but the area it is located in is a nice quiet area with everything you need and with the alternative of walking through Central Park or a 5 minute ride on the Subway to get to Midtown it became the perfect location.
The only bad thing I can think of saying about our stay was that we had to leave too soon, staying only 3 nights. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BetinaMiami_Florida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Great hotel. Smaller than I expected but very clean and extremely friendly and helpful staff.

Only had one problem. We asked the front desk to make a reservation at LIPS for us for Saturday. The front desk confirmed the reservation but when we got to lips there was no reservations. We called the hotel and they said the reservation was for Wednesday. So just double check your reservations. It was pretty embarrassing considering we traveled the whole way there. They made room for us but still just an FYI to confirm. :)

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Les101001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

This has always been a well located, comfortable, value hotel, but that reputation has apparently caused a price spike -- paid $957.21 including tax for three nights (Sept. 27-29, 2012) and that was the lowest available advance booking rate for a room with bath. You can pay a lot more in New York, but, still, I think this level takes it out of the especially-good-value category.

Room Tip: The single elevator sometimes is slow, so you might want a lower floor room you could walk up the st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GenieSuffolkVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

This is in a great location next to the 96th subway for zipping up and down the west side of Manhattan. There was no meaningful view and the A/C was too loud but the price was right and the people friendly. They allow restaurants to deliver right to the room - not a plus for me, but for me night it was fine. My superior double queen suite was quite large with a little sitting room and two tvs. It was clean and the staff friendly.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
3  Thank Corbygirl261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#221 of 470 in New York City
1,593 reviews
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#383 of 470 in New York City
652 reviews
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#414 of 470 in New York City
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Days Inn Hotel New York City-Broadway
Days Inn Hotel New York City-Bro...
#436 of 470 in New York City
2,026 reviews
Upper West Side
Belnord Hotel
Belnord Hotel
#300 of 470 in New York City
1,362 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#233 of 470 in New York City
5,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Newton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Newton

Address: 2528 Broadway, Upper West Side of Manhattan, New York City, NY 10025-6946
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #320 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £74 - £255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Newton 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive Nine-story Hotel located on the Upper West Side, convenient to Columbia University, theaters, museums & shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Newton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing