We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GREAT BASE GREAT STAFF”
Review of Hotel Newton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Newton
Ranked #307 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Warrington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“GREAT BASE GREAT STAFF”
Reviewed 7 July 2010

With not having been to the Big Apple before, we wanted to make sure that the hotel was going to be O.K. and trawled TRIP ADVISOR 'til The Newton came to our attention.

Well it was a lot more than O.K.

Staff can't do enough to make your stay a good one. Printing maps, finding out opening times etc, etc.
The young lad (Bell hop?) who manned the door and took your luggage to the room had the greatest smile 24/7.

We found out, a little late, that tickets for Broadway shows were obtainable from desk staff at greatly discounted prices, will use on next visit.

Rooms are not huge but comfortable, extremely clean, quiet, having an excellent bathroom, fridge/microwave/flat screen T.V. and excellent Air Con.

We didn't use the next door DINER, but others did and found it superb value with great choice of quality food.

We used the sister CITY DINER about 3 blocks downtown on BROADWAY AVENUE, again could not be faulted.

The subway was within 100yards of the hotel and we bought 7 day tickets for $27 (about £20) unbelievable value and the subway after a couple of trips was easy to use.

Cental park and the site of John Lennon's demise are 20/25 minute walk away.

Don't forget it's not like the UK the price you see, on most products, is not the price you pay, there are taxes added.

The lift was a little slow getting down to reception, but using the stairs on the way down was no great hardship.

We had our own bathroom facilities, as mentioned above, but the shared suite was adjacent to our room and a little more air freshener would have helped in the hot weather, to be honest; only noticed when entering and leaving our room and was only a minor hic-cup.

If our pension lasts we will definitely be returning to The Newton

Many thanks

Matt & Bett
Warrington
UK

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CODGERMATT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MILO928, Manager at Hotel Newton, responded to this review, 15 July 2010
who do I have to talk to and make sure that those pensions last for years to come? I thank you for your review and for pointing out such attributes of our property. In my opinion, one of our biggest attributes is the staff and Eduardo, our doorman is front and center in this aspect. He has been a shining star in our staff and we hope he is with us for years to come.

Emilio Morales Jr.
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,496 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    382
    741
    255
    69
    49
See reviews for
386
451
120
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2010

Our family of 4 stayed in a Junior Suite for 5 nights. The room was big and clean. We had 2 double beds a sofa, and a little kitchen area with a dining table and chairs, fridge and microwave. Our room faced onto Broadway and wasn't too noisy. The lift was very slow and hot but there is allways the stairs. The staff were pleasant although we didn't ask for much.
The metro is 2 mins walk away and gets you to Times Square really quick, we went on the bus once for a change and to see some scenery and it took an hour!
There is a supermarket a few doors up, and lots of diners whci have cheap breakfasts.
It;s a nice walk to Central Park.
We hailed a cab right out front of the hotel on several occasions.
It took just 40 minutes to get from JFK to Hotel Newton on a Sunday evening and cost $45 + $5 toll + tip, same deal on way back on a Friday afternoon and only took 40 minutes again.
Would recommend this hotel especially for familes as could not find anything better or cheaper and for the price we were nicely suprised.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank love2travel2x4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MILO928, Manager at Hotel Newton, responded to this review, 15 July 2010
Thank you so much for your kind words regarding our property and we look forward to your return to our property.

Emilio Morales
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 6 July 2010

I would have to agree with the many reviews on this site. The hotel location is great, right next to the subway and in a good neighborhood. Hotel is very clean. There is only one elevator that is really old and slow and hot, not awful but not great- take the stairs if you can. The room was very small but delivered on what was promised- double bed, flat screen tv, microwave, fridge, dresser, desk and private bath- not much room to walk around. The bed was ridiculously firm. Service was fine, we didn't have much interaction with the staff other than checking in and out. The diner next door is typical but service is lacking- eat somewhere else.
My only issue was on our last day, we called the front desk to get a cab. I was told the ride would be $65 to go to the airport (JFK) even though the ride to the hotel was only $45 plus tolls and tip (tolls were $5.50). The cab the hotel called was a private cab not a NYC yellow cab so the price was higher- I had to ask, the information was not shared with me. We were unsuccessful hailing a cab on our own outside so we just went with it. I asked again about the price and the front desk assured me the cost was $65 flat. We get into the cab and pull away to find out the cab was actually $70 plus tolls and tip. I told the driver what the front desk told me and he got upset stating "This is why I hate picking up from this hotel because they don't tell the truth." He proceeded to tell us this wasn't the first time this had happened and that the hotel actually charges him $10 to pick up people from the hotel (we saw him go in to pay the desk so I don't think this was a lie).
We could've jumped out and hailed a yellow cab but the price of two cabs would've been about the same, so we just dealt with being ripped off. Then I asked to be sure the cab took credit then he informed me it would be an additional 10% fee to use a card. Ugh! The driver was nice enough to pull over at an ATM so I could get cash and avoid the fee. I just wish the hotel was more up front with us. I'm sure the hotel would blame the driver but I really felt like the driver was legit. Anyway- give yourself extra time and walk 5 blocks to hail a yellow NYC cab- save yourself the cash and stress.
I recommend this hotel if you can't really afford anything else. We picked it for the price and the fact we didn't have to share a bathroom. I wouldn't stay there again if I could afford something else (with a private bathroom).

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelNinja2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MILO928, Manager at Hotel Newton, responded to this review, 15 July 2010
hello,

let me begin by apologizing for any misunderstanding at the Desk. The private car is $65 but only after you couldn't find a taxi did we call that private car as there is no way to call yellow taxis in New York. They can only be flagged down. If the staff would have known that you were paying in credit card, they would have immediately informed you of the 10% as all private car companies charge this at this point. I am happy that all other factors were seemingly positive and we will be sure to train our staff a bit better in this aspect of Transportation.

Emilio Morales Jr.
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2010

We can't deny that this hotel presented value for money in New York. The location is pretty good - just seconds to the subway and it's only minutes ride to Times Square. It's nice that its away from the hustle and bustle too and has lots of restaurants in the local area to choose from. Although there did tend to be a lot of noise generally speaking.

The microwave and fridge in the room are great too - providing some more affordable options for eating.

The staff were friendly and accommodating with any questions we had.

Definitely a no frills option.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AussieTravellers75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MILO928, Manager at Hotel Newton, responded to this review, 15 July 2010
Thank you for your Review! We look forward to your next stay with us.

Emilio Morales Jr.
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2010

Stayded at the Newton for 6 nights on June 2010. The location is excellent with lots of restaurants and cafes near by and the subway, really, at the door. With express train (1 or 2) it takes 5 minutes to get to Times Square.

Rooms are nice, not luxurious, but then again, you are not paying luxury prices either :) But the room was very, very clean, had a microwave and fridge so you could keep your drinks cold :)

All in all very nice hotel and would recommed it to everybody.

The only thing I didn't like was the preauthorization, take make a hold to your credit card for the whole amount at the check-in and lift that when you check-out and then make the actual charge. No problem, if we would have known that before, but this came as a suprise. It didn't really cause any real trouble, but it is sort of annoying.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PKa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MILO928, Manager at Hotel Newton, responded to this review, 2 July 2010
I am very happy that you and your family had a great stay with us and we look forward to stay number 2! I totally agree on the annoyance of the credit card hold and we, like all hotels deal with it on a daily basis. If you pay with a debit card, our staff is trained to explain this right at the beginning and if this was not done, I personally apologize. We now charge Debit cards right at the beginning so the guest does not have to see that second temporary hold.

Emilio Morales Jr.
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
Level Contributor
50 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2010

Travelled to the hotel Newton on the 08th June 10 for 1 week to treat my mum.
On entering the hotel the staff at reception was very welcoming, the check in was very quick.
Rooms are of a good size for New York, the room was comfortable which includes a microwave (did not use) a great size fridge and air conditioning with was a must in June. Maid service was every day and could not fault it.
The area we found to be very safe, with plenty of places to eat around the hotel and a few bars in the area.
There was a street vendors cart on the corner in the morning which sold pastries and coffee, all fresh and great value with friendly service.
The hotel is about 30 yards to the 96 street subway (on your door step) it runs trains 1,2,3 the red line which you can access all the city and transfer to other lines. Takes about 15 minutes to Times Square. If stopping for a week get a 7-day unlimited pass priced at 27 dollars. (can be used on the buses as well)
The Newton hotel is only 3 blocks away from Central Park and in the other direction the Hudson river is only a few blocks away, which is a great for a walk by the river.

The only problem we had was the room keys would not open the door on day 3, but with a visit to reception this was sorted out in less than a minute, after that no problem with the keys.

Overall I would definitely recommend this hotel for a great stay in New York and hope to be stopping in this hotel when I visit the states later this year. The staff we found polite and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank seacat123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2010

We were really impressed with the hotel - the room was PERFECT for us - 4 "girls" (Mum, one teenager and two 22 year olds) - roomy and clean.
The guys on the reception were really friendly and helpful.
The diner right next door was perfect for breakfast.
The location was brilliant because it was only 2 stops on the express subway into Times Square (about 10 minutes)and the subway was right opposite the hotel.
Also the hotel was a 5 minutes walk away from Central park.
Loved it!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FamilyHemsted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MILO928, Manager at Hotel Newton, responded to this review, 2 July 2010
Thank you for your kind words and we can't wait for your next visit. We can't stress enough to our guests how accessible the Hotel Newton is to all major attractions! I always say that the best benefits are the fact of the location while not being in Times Square, you are 5 minutes away and on the upper west, you enjoy great local restaurants.

Emilio Morales Jr.
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Belnord Hotel
Belnord Hotel
#301 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,270 reviews
Upper West Side
Days Inn Hotel New York City-Broadway
Days Inn Hotel New York City-Bro...
#429 of 467 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,910 reviews
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#387 of 467 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Marrakech Hotel
Marrakech Hotel
#390 of 467 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,575 reviews
Upper West Side
Astor on the Park
Astor on the Park
#397 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,483 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#198 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Newton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Newton

Property: Hotel Newton
Address: 2528 Broadway, Upper West Side of Manhattan, New York City, NY 10025-6946
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #307 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Newton 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive Nine-story Hotel located on the Upper West Side, convenient to Columbia University, theaters, museums & shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Newton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing