We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location and service”
Review of The Mark

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Mark
Ranked #32 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Location and service”
Reviewed 29 August 2011

We stayed in the Mark with our children on the 25th of august.
It is not only beautifull: (the bedrooms are splendid and the bathroom exceptionnals) but the service and kindness of the staff is remarquable. Then, the location is so convenient: 15 m from a Central Park entrance, shopping, trendy restaurants around...
The Mark has a very successfull bar, lots of nice people coming for an apperitif, and the restaurant is elegant and so good.
We hope to go back very soon!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmane1821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    538
    112
    34
    11
    6
See reviews for
135
273
63
133
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

We can be hard to please, but my husband and I were delighted with our first stay at The Mark recently. The room was excellent - a Madison King - with the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. The bathroom was exceptional with the deepest tub which was a complete luxury, plus an excellent seperate shower. We would certainly go back to stay there again, with pleasure!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kirstyj4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

I simply love this hotel. It is like my little apartment in Manhattan. I chose a courtyard room this time because I knew it would be just for a night. As always the staff were very helpful.
Friday night there was a downpour. When the taxi would not take us, the staff provided the house car to get us to the show. Bliss.
Can't wait for my next visit.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrBrother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2011

An excellent option if you need to be on the upper east side. We upgraded to a Manhattan suite with Harper and AmEx. No view but a spacious room with lots of light and a galley kitchen. Staff are efficient, and helpful. Room was clean and well appointed although the bed was too soft for me. Flat screen TV in both rooms and in mirror in bath. Daily continental breakfast was excellent but late night room service was a disappointment. Find another late night dining option in the neighborhood. Neither the pizza nor the burger were worth the calories. The free WiFi worked for about 30 minutes before a reboot was necessary. For the quality of the room, price and location an excellent option.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timetoeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SF
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

The Mark Hotel has always been one of our favorites. It has a wonderful location near Central Park and the Museum Mile; it is near the Lexington Avenue Subway line for access to nearly any spot in NYC. The 1 bedroom suite was sophisticated and comfortable; getting our nightly ice from the built-in subzero was beyond compare. The Mark has an understated elegance that is both upscale and comfortable; one can be at home returning from a Fifth Avenue shopping spree or a run in the park. The staff are friendly and superb. If you are looking for a really special experience, look no more! We will be returning to The Mark during our next visit to NYC.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Stayed at The Mark with my husband and two teenage children and really couldn't fault it. We had booked a suite but were upgraded at arrival to an even bigger suite. So often I have stayed in hotels that are lovely to look at but impractical to live in but the Mark is designed for absolute comfort and convenience. The staff were lovely, the restaurant excellent and the location perfect. We have visited New York at least 8 times but this is the only hotel I will be coming back too. Perfect in every way!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adele44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Greeted with warmth and professionalism, presented with a room that feels like home with all the amenities, fabulous breakfast and wonderful gym all within walking distance to some of my favorite New York destinations for shopping, dining and running in the park. What could be better. The staff is the courtesy, accomodating and professional in every way.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnieSutton807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
The Surrey
The Surrey
#63 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,819 reviews
Upper East Side
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Upper East Side
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
#235 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
#7 of 467 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
Midtown
1 Hotel Central Park
1 Hotel Central Park
#26 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
Upper East Side
Loews Regency New York Hotel
Loews Regency New York Hotel
#28 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mark

Property: The Mark
Address: Madison Avenue at 77th Street, 25 East 77th Street, New York City, NY 10078
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in New York City
#24 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#29 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#31 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Mark 5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mark is housed, as it has always been, in the beautiful, 1927 landmark building at the corner of 77th Street and Madison Avenue. But, inside, the Mark has been completely reimagined, and given new life and identity for the 21st century. Newly reborn, The Mark combines old-world comfort, avant-garde design, up-to-the-minute technology and an unprecedented level of personal service to create the finest five-star hotel of the 21st century. Drawing on the expertise of an extraordinary group of talent – foremost, among them, the designer Jacques Grange, Chef Jean-Georges Vongerichten, hair stylist Frederic Fekkai and the hotel general manager Olivier Lordonnois – The Mark Hotel is now a beacon of high French style, and modern American technology and comfort. The delights of The Mark are both bold and discreet. The graphic lobby is colorful and convivial, situated with unique objects d’art that surprise and intrigue. Studded in one of New York's most exclusive neighborhoods, The Mark is surrounded by the world's premier museums, shops, restaurants and the splendor of Central Park. The Mark not only surrounds you in luxury and style, it places you at the epicenter of Manhattan’s social and cultural riches. The Mark Restaurant by Jean-Georges, set within The Mark Hotel has received a Wine Spectator Award of Excellence by Wine Spectator in 2012. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Preferred Hotels, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Mark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mark Hotel New York City
Mark New York City
Mark Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing